We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely,well located,but rooms and shower are small.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added River Palace Hotel to your Saves list
River Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Flaminia, 33, 00196 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely,well located,but rooms and shower are small.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

As above. Lovely rooms but small..shower opening also small.buffet breakfast very nice. Happy hour in bar each evening very nice. Good location for shopping.tram runs from outside the hotel
Quiet location also

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    384
    101
    20
    17
See reviews for
186
933
34
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NS Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were booked into this hotel for two nights as part of our cruise package so we did not have to directly pay for the hotel. However, I was going to book an extra day and they wanted 170 euros or more for one extra night. Instead we stayed at the River Chateau for 117 euros which was a much nicer and larger room. The hotel was fine and located only a few blocks from the subway which was handy. The room was the tiniest I have ever been in. You had to move your suitcases to get into the closet. Of course upon check-in they offered us a larger room with a full bath for a mear 50 euros extra a night!! Seriously? The room we had was clean, the bed was comfortable and the A/C worked. There was no bathtub and the shower was the size of a phonebooth. It also had raised bumps on the floor of the shower which I found extremely uncomfortable. The bathroom was so small that you could wash your hands in the sink while sitting on the toilet. I guess the hotels in Europe are typically very small but this was something else. Breakfast was included and the food was good and there was a good selection.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I loved the River Palace Hotel. After a long day of sightseeing in Rome, it felt wonderful to step into our air-conditioned hotel room and relax in comfort. The concierge was extremely helpful in advising me where to pickup tours of Rome and last minute dinners in the area. The happy hour was a huge thrill too. I met some interesting travelers from around the world while sipping drinks in the lounge. I was very pleased with the staff of the hotel and I would definitely recommend a stay at Rome's best hotel...the River Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel and found it very charming and centrally located. The staff were especially helpful with directions and with our decisions on how best to get around the beautiful city of Rome. They were friendly and always had a smile for us. The morning breakfasts, included in the price, were a delight, very tasty. We also greatly enjoyed the "happy hour" from 6-10 pm, and the delicious entress and goodies offered free of charge there. We had great talks around the comfortable seating area near the bar. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: You can ask for an upgrade to get a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had taken great care in choosing the hotel to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary in and were not disappointed. Our Rome adventure began with our being collected from the airport by their private driver, Alessandro, who, en route to our hotel, gave us a wonderful guided tour of Rome. On arrival we received an extremely warm welcome, with an anniversary gift of wine waiting for us. Our room (805) was well laid out, very clean and quiet. Our bed was very comfortable (great after all the walking we did) and we felt very relaxed. A delicious and substantial breakfast each morning and we loved the 'Happy Hour' with delicious cocktails and free bar food. Without exception, all the staff were so very kind and wanted us to get the most out of our stay. The hotel is very well located, so we were able to walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain (both very close), Colosseum and Vatican. Very close to great restaurants and shops. As you can tell, we feel that we could not have chosen a better hotel to celebrate in - thank you River Palac

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

what to say so many good points about this hotel. example i came with my grandparents and my granddad got badly ill and the staff tried to do all they can for him the called the docs and even offed a wheel if needed and much more. also they let him stay in the room until the taxi came to take ours to the airport. The staff will do any thinking to make you stay as great as you want and are very accommodating.
The breakfast is the best so much to choose there will be something you like. happy hour is great free food and half priced drunks. i just don't want to go i love the Rome and i love the river place hotel great. i will be back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The best city hotel we have stayed in. Room 102 was very nice. Happy hour 6 to 10 pm 50% off bar bill and free food on the bar! sandwich! sausage rolls and nibbles. All with a smile. The best cocktails we have ever had. The wife wants to go back now. We are retired couple.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Address: Via Flaminia, 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#70 Family Hotel in Rome
#87 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.