We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Rome hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added River Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Flaminia, 33, 00196 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good Rome hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

We booked 3 nights at River Palace. The first night we had stay at a sister property on the outskirts of Rome. Not a big deal because we were pretty jet lagged. Otherwise it would not have acceptable. Once at the River Palace we really enjoyed it. Andrea and Freddy were our favorites on the staff. The happy hour is truly great as stated in other reviews. You can walk to all the sights. Great shopping near by. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Great value for room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    911
    388
    96
    18
    15
See reviews for
166
848
32
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here in November as a Birthday surprise for my fiancee, on Bed and Breakfast basis in a Deluxe room.
First impressions was of a Top Class Hotel. The Bedrooms certainly lived up to that High Standard, Everything was provided incl bath robes and slippers. A free bottle of wine in the room was also a nice touch.
The bar area was large and comfortable very well designed and decorated, The Grand Piano was also a nice touch.
The River Palace hotel is perfectly situated next to the Metro and Tram lines which made commuting to the Airport and to the sights of Rome very easy. If you prefer walking, It is only a short distance to the Spanish Steps and to the Trevi fountain and other attractions.
Walk through the Flaminio Piazza del Popolo and you have a choice of dozens of restaurants/bars
ONLY ONE DOWNSIDE..... They had overbooked the Hotel, Both us and another couple had to spend our first night at another Hotel, The River Chateau, (Read my review it is not good) So beware and make sure you have got a room reserved for you before travelling.

Room Tip: Its worth spending the extra few pounds for the deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

First of all, unless you are a backpacker in college (in which case you probably can't afford to stay here anyway), the "classic" room will be much too small for you. My husband and I were bumping in to each other and the shower stall is about the size of a large coffin.
We upgraded to the "Deluxe" room (there were no "superiors" available), which was more comfortable, but the carpets are old and disgusting throughout the hotel.
The location is very good (right next to the Villa Borghese and the metro), but this place would have to get a major refurb before I would think about returning!

Room Tip: Two people cannot stay comfortably in a "classic" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights, mid November. The staff are ever so friendly, continuously trying to make our stay better. The location is fantastic, it's literally 100 yards from a tram stop, and 200 yards from a metro station. It's walking distance from the Spanish steps and other attractions. Rome is an amazing city, if and when I return ill definitely be heading to this fantastic hotel. Extremely pleased and happy customer

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel went beyond our expectations on perfect room, perfect location, perfect breakfast and above all absolutely the best service from their employees. This is our last night in Rome and we feel so blessed to have found this jewel. The view of illuminated Rome from our penthouse suite balcony is absolutely moon river beautiful. If we can't stay here when in Rome we won't come to Rome. Mmosa's at breakfast bar to the botlle of wine in the suite, etc. You must experience to understand.

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse suite with balcony...Mama Mia!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We took a Key Tours 10 day Mediterranean Fantasy Tour (awesome - will write a separate review) and our last night of the tour was at this hotel. We decided to stay for 2 more nights, but were put off by the $175 euro (over $200 dollar) per night cost for the room. So we moved to a B&B in a different part of Rome for the next 2 nights (much cheaper - not as nice, but much much cheaper).

Upon arrival - the front desk staff was extremely courteous and helpful. We disembarked from our cruise ship at 9am, and arrived at the hotel around 11am. Neither of us really speak Italian, but the front desk staff spoke perfect English and enabled easy communication. They took our luggage and held it until our rooms were ready, and provided us with maps and simple directions to the Piazza del Popolo (1 block away) and how to get from there to the other sights of Rome. When we got back to the hotel that night, we were given our keys and our luggage was waiting in our room.

The room was small but nice. The bed was comfortable, and everything seemed very clean. The water pressure of the shower was low, but acceptable. There was a lot of noise from nearby guest rooms and the hallway (slamming doors, etc) - this is not the fault of the hotel, but they may want to think of adding more sound dampening materials to isolate rooms more from each other.

The breakfast buffet was PHENOMENAL! This was the high point of the hotel. They had everything - smoked salmon, eggs, bacon, sausage, nutella for all sorts of different types of bread, pastries, etc etc etc. They even offered prosecco (sparkling Italian wine) free of charge for the buffet! The breakfast was great. My gf and I joked about sneaking back in the next morning just to eat breakfast there.

Pros: Location is excellent. Very very close to a beatiful Piazza - the metro is even closer, and many of the sights of Rome are within walking distance. The location is surprisingly quiet, however, given it's near to everything (albeit not central) location. The room was clean and nice, although a bit small. The breakfast was amazing, as noted above.

Cons: It was a bit pricy. The elevators are annoyingly small (2 people w/luggage will fit. that's it. period) and there are 2 of them (1 from the ground floor to the "1st floor", and then another one to go higher). We just took the stairs except for when we were moving our luggage around). There is sound leakage from nearby rooms, and doors closing are very loud.

I can't call it average, but I also feel that 4 stars (or circles) is a bit strong. Call it a strong 3.5, or maybe even a 3.75.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The first thing that we were told was that we reserved too small of a room. They upgraded us to a bigger room with, you guessed it, bigger price. The hotel is walking distant from the metro and walking distance from many great attractions. The beds were hard. The TV channels were few. The breakfast buffet was the best we had in Italy. Excellent choices and in abundance.

Room Tip: The hotel is in an excellent spot. Expect the rooms to be tiny. One elevator only fit 3 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Address: Via Flaminia, 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#35 Family Hotel in Rome
#170 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.