We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added River Palace Hotel to your Saves list
River Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Flaminia, 33, 00196 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Too small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The first thing that we were told was that we reserved too small of a room. They upgraded us to a bigger room with, you guessed it, bigger price. The hotel is walking distant from the metro and walking distance from many great attractions. The beds were hard. The TV channels were few. The breakfast buffet was the best we had in Italy. Excellent choices and in abundance.

Room Tip: The hotel is in an excellent spot. Expect the rooms to be tiny. One elevator only fit 3 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    377
    97
    19
    17
See reviews for
184
909
33
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was a great place to stay while in Rome. It's just off the People's Square so it's close to many of Rome's attractions, but quite enough to get a good night's sleep. Be sure to get a deluxe room though, the classic to way to small. The staff were very helpful and very friendly. We will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights around the 10th November as the first leg of a brief tour of Italy. Contact with the hotel pre arrival was first class. They were happy to arrange a transfer from the airport for 55 euros. Alessandro (the driver) took us on a scenic route to the hotel and showed us the main area of rome in order to help with bearings and directions when sightseeing on foot. The hotel is close to a metro station too which is great for sore feet on the way home. The hotel itself had very friendly staff, all could speak English fluently. It was clean and had a very fine breakfast. Happy hour is 6-10pm with a varied range of snacks for free every night, we found the bar staff most friendly and engaging. A very nice hotel indeed within easy reach of the major attractions.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you have the means. Press the I button when watching tv to change the language!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

During a two-week visit to Italy, the River Palace Hotel was truly "home away from home". We were treated with respect and interest by each and every staff member we encountered. Special kudos go out to Tetyana who was always at the front desk, poised and ready to be of assistance. When we were looking for a place to eat that the "locals" frequent, she recommneded a great spot.

The location is great, at the gate of the Piazza de Poppolo, it was easy to move around Rome. The rooms were nicely appointed and comfortable. The bar staff were friendly and accomodating. The breakfast staff was helpful and courteous.

The expereince at the River Palace was the total opposite of the poor customer service we encountered in Florence at the Hotel Brunelleschi. I would highly recommend this hotel, not because it is the newest or fanciest but because they understand customer service and provide it 100% of the time.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are tiny, consider upgrading to a much more comfortable deluxe room for a few more do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Gate, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Had an excellent time at the River Palace Hotel. The service was great and the staff was knowledgeable about the city and the local surroundings. The hotel is walking distant from the metro and walking distance from many great attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The River Palace Hotel for three nights, following a cruise. We stayed in the Suite Villa Borghese, which is on the eighth floor and has a very large furnished balcony. You could host a cocktail party on this balcony! Although the room was small, it was fine for the two of us, with a couch and desk in a separate space from the bedroom. The bathroom was beautiful and large, with a big jetted bathtub. (It was a challenge for my husband, who only takes showers!) The warming towel rack was a lovely touch, as was the welcoming bottle of wine in our room, and the best chocolate cookies on our bed every evening! I was shocked at the inexpensive prices for the mini-bar items! The hotel is located away from the noise, on a very quiet street, yet withing walking distance to most everything. We walked everywhere! (Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Vatican, Pantheon, Collosseum, Trastevere, Borghese Gallery, restaurants, shopping.) The staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved the daily breakfast buffet, with eggs, meats, veggies, cheese, pastries, coffee, juice, even champagne. Every evening, there is an extended happy hour in the lounge/bar with drinks at half price and a wonderful spread of hors doeuvres. Incredible! The atmosphere in the lounge during this time is like a small party with friends. One night, we were sooooo tired at the end of the day, that we just didn't have the energy to venture back out for dinner. So we took plates of appetizers and glasses of wine back up to our room and put our feet up and enjoyed! Another night I had the best chocolate/coffee martini I've ever had! We arranged with the hotel for a private transfer to the airport on our last day. Boy, I wish I had arranged that for our transfer from the ship in Civitavecchia! I'll never do the airport shuttle again! Allesandro was waiting for us in the lobby at 7am and drove us in his Mercedes. He is such a charming man, I wanted to bring him home! He gave us the perfect send-off. It was a lovely "ariva derche" to a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at hotel as part of a city break to Rome. Staff were friendly and efficient. Hotel close to various transport options for visit or if fit most of central Rome within walking distance.
Superior room was adequate for our needs. Breakfast was extensive and well presented with wide range of options. The room did get very busy on Saturday morning and some people had to wait for a table. The bar was an attractive area to sit in the evening and half price drinks and complementary snacks a delightful bonus.

Room Tip: Superior room had greater space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Address: Via Flaminia, 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#35 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Family Hotel in Rome
#130 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.