We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capo d'Africa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Capo d'Africa Hotel to your Saves list
Capo d'Africa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Well what can I say other then this hotel is brilliant. The staff are amazing, the rooms are a nice size and are very clean and well kept. The staff made my birthday a truly amazing experience, nothing was to much trouble and I was very spoilt, a special mention to Gialiono in the restaurant, she always had a smile to greet us in the morning, she actually moaned at me because I wasn't smiling one morning!!! The reception staff are always helpful and honest about getting the best from your stay in Rome and nothing is to much for them. We would 100% stay again, thank you for a great stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    429
    90
    27
    17
See reviews for
217
783
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Capo D'Africa for 3 nights after a recommendation from a relative. It was perfect with modern spacious rooms. Upon check in we were welcomed and provided with two drink vouchers which we used on the rooftop terrace whilst enjoying the view. Breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly and happy to attend to your requests - I did ask for toast as there was no toaster and that was done without a problem. The location is perfect as it is close to the Colosseum, supermarkets, restaurants, metro, ATM and post office. We had a deluxe room and the extra room was great for all our bags. We were so busy we didn't even get to drink the sparkling wine we received on arrival. The only negative was the wifi access which was very weak in areas of our ground floor room. When I asked at reception I was told to move around to get the best spot - well the best spot was in the bathroom! I would highly recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were traveling as foursome with daughter and son-in-law and all of us liked the location, ambiance and service at Capo D’Africa in Rome. The location behind the Colosseum is excellent for an early morning walk around the Pantheon without tourists and also creates an opportunity for an early entry to the Colosseum with an easy walk back to the hotel. The location also encourages a safe evening walk to the Colosseum for beautiful night photos. The service at Capo D’Africa is excellent but a couple tips for first comers. Advance tickets for the Borghese are a must so order them on line & don’t wait for the hotel because we missed it. Getting to the Vatican early (be sure to buy tix in advance) and enjoying one of the many very good restaurant recommendations for a meal nearby the hotel makes for a good use of time. The recommended restaurant we liked the best was Boccacio but there were a number to choose from within walking distance. Another tip – many restaurants close on Wednesday – who knew?! Btw breakfast was very good and pleasant on the rooftop. One big tip - taxis ordered from the hotel add extra time to the ride and charge from the time they receive the hotel call to come. Since taxis are easy to get outside the Colosseum, save money and walk the two blocks from the hotel to catch one. Also, btw, we skipped the Roma Pass….no advantage for a two day visit when a taxi is reasonable and clearly the best way to make the most of a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our first experience in Europe and it was a great start. My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful, always meeting us with a warm greeting no matter the time of the day. We had some difficulty with one of the booked tours, they were so helpful in getting it straightened out and we didn't book through the hotel.
The terrance was very relaxing and welcoming. Eating breakfast on the deck we could see the top of the Coliseum which added to the experience. It is well located, close to the main attractions but far enough away to avoid the high traffic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was our second visit to the beautiful Capo D'Africa Hotel. We like to now think of the hotel as our home away from home in Rome. The location is fabulous, our guest room was amazing and breakfast every morning in the terrace was magnificent. Above all, Front Office Manager Massimo and his knowledgable staff were not only helpful and friendly, but they also made us feel that we were part of their family. We highly recommend this hotel for a first class experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just came back from Rome and a highlight was our stay at this hotel. The property itself is not overwhelming but very nice and classy. Rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was great and the view of the Colleseo was fantastic. At night, cocktails are served on the rooftop as well as dinner and both are excellent. But the overreaching A-factor of this hotel is the staff. Maximo, Alessander and Giovanni to name a few did everything they could to make us comfortable, answer questions, provide advice etc. We loved this hotel and the staff makes it world class!!! We would like to come back to Rome, there is just so much to see and we wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else! Five stars all the way around!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Want to stay in a modern hotel from which you can stroll a few blocks to see the famed Colleseum? Stay at Capo d'Africa! We spent 5 nights here on the first leg of our Italy trip and were very happy with the choice.

We upgraded to the the Premier Double Room which was very spacious with two large windows overlooking the entry of the hotel. The room was beautiful and very will maintained. The staff was always friendly and helpful

Some reviewers have commented that restaurants in this area were sparse, but we did not find this. You can't walk a block without running into a restaurant. We had dinner in the area 3 nights out of the 5 (including one late night dinner at the hotel on the rooftop) and were not disappointed with any. In fact there were a few restaurants we wanted to visit but didn't have time! Breakfasts were lovely with a wide selection -- great coffee (not too strong) -- and a very friendly staff each morning.

The location couldn't be more perfect for a first time visit to Rome -- and cab drivers all knew exactly where it was when getting a ride from other areas of the city -- which was great for non-Italian speaking tourists like us!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room if you can -- it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#48 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,521 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#56 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,683 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Campo De' Fiori
Hotel Campo De' Fiori
#17 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#40 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,321 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#165 of 1,267 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum - Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Address: via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#53 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#58 Family Hotel in Rome
#94 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capo d'Africa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.