We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capo d'Africa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Capo d'Africa Hotel to your Saves list
Capo d'Africa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Capo D'Africa for 3 nights after a recommendation from a relative. It was perfect with modern spacious rooms. Upon check in we were welcomed and provided with two drink vouchers which we used on the rooftop terrace whilst enjoying the view. Breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly and happy to attend to your requests - I did ask for toast as there was no toaster and that was done without a problem. The location is perfect as it is close to the Colosseum, supermarkets, restaurants, metro, ATM and post office. We had a deluxe room and the extra room was great for all our bags. We were so busy we didn't even get to drink the sparkling wine we received on arrival. The only negative was the wifi access which was very weak in areas of our ground floor room. When I asked at reception I was told to move around to get the best spot - well the best spot was in the bathroom! I would highly recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    400
    83
    27
    16
See reviews for
195
729
22
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were traveling as foursome with daughter and son-in-law and all of us liked the location, ambiance and service at Capo D’Africa in Rome. The location behind the Colosseum is excellent for an early morning walk around the Pantheon without tourists and also creates an opportunity for an early entry to the Colosseum with an easy walk back to the hotel. The location also encourages a safe evening walk to the Colosseum for beautiful night photos. The service at Capo D’Africa is excellent but a couple tips for first comers. Advance tickets for the Borghese are a must so order them on line & don’t wait for the hotel because we missed it. Getting to the Vatican early (be sure to buy tix in advance) and enjoying one of the many very good restaurant recommendations for a meal nearby the hotel makes for a good use of time. The recommended restaurant we liked the best was Boccacio but there were a number to choose from within walking distance. Another tip – many restaurants close on Wednesday – who knew?! Btw breakfast was very good and pleasant on the rooftop. One big tip - taxis ordered from the hotel add extra time to the ride and charge from the time they receive the hotel call to come. Since taxis are easy to get outside the Colosseum, save money and walk the two blocks from the hotel to catch one. Also, btw, we skipped the Roma Pass….no advantage for a two day visit when a taxi is reasonable and clearly the best way to make the most of a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our first experience in Europe and it was a great start. My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful, always meeting us with a warm greeting no matter the time of the day. We had some difficulty with one of the booked tours, they were so helpful in getting it straightened out and we didn't book through the hotel.
The terrance was very relaxing and welcoming. Eating breakfast on the deck we could see the top of the Coliseum which added to the experience. It is well located, close to the main attractions but far enough away to avoid the high traffic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was our second visit to the beautiful Capo D'Africa Hotel. We like to now think of the hotel as our home away from home in Rome. The location is fabulous, our guest room was amazing and breakfast every morning in the terrace was magnificent. Above all, Front Office Manager Massimo and his knowledgable staff were not only helpful and friendly, but they also made us feel that we were part of their family. We highly recommend this hotel for a first class experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just came back from Rome and a highlight was our stay at this hotel. The property itself is not overwhelming but very nice and classy. Rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was great and the view of the Colleseo was fantastic. At night, cocktails are served on the rooftop as well as dinner and both are excellent. But the overreaching A-factor of this hotel is the staff. Maximo, Alessander and Giovanni to name a few did everything they could to make us comfortable, answer questions, provide advice etc. We loved this hotel and the staff makes it world class!!! We would like to come back to Rome, there is just so much to see and we wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else! Five stars all the way around!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Want to stay in a modern hotel from which you can stroll a few blocks to see the famed Colleseum? Stay at Capo d'Africa! We spent 5 nights here on the first leg of our Italy trip and were very happy with the choice.

We upgraded to the the Premier Double Room which was very spacious with two large windows overlooking the entry of the hotel. The room was beautiful and very will maintained. The staff was always friendly and helpful

Some reviewers have commented that restaurants in this area were sparse, but we did not find this. You can't walk a block without running into a restaurant. We had dinner in the area 3 nights out of the 5 (including one late night dinner at the hotel on the rooftop) and were not disappointed with any. In fact there were a few restaurants we wanted to visit but didn't have time! Breakfasts were lovely with a wide selection -- great coffee (not too strong) -- and a very friendly staff each morning.

The location couldn't be more perfect for a first time visit to Rome -- and cab drivers all knew exactly where it was when getting a ride from other areas of the city -- which was great for non-Italian speaking tourists like us!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room if you can -- it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoy a small, upscale hotel that is just big enough to offer a quality restaurant. We also really appreciate a room large enough to comfortably accommodate our luggage. Capo d'Africa offers all the features we were seeking. Their location, while close to the Coliseum is on the south end of the tourist attractions and may not suit some travelers seeking a central location. We enjoyed the rooftop restaurant at Capo d'Africa, but were underwhelmed by the other choices in the immediate neighborhood. The benefit to the location is that the rooms are very quiet!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Address: via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#48 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#64 Business Hotel in Rome
#76 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capo d'Africa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.