We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capo d'Africa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Capo d'Africa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #60 of 1,264 hotels in Rome
Wheeling, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just came back from Rome and a highlight was our stay at this hotel. The property itself is not overwhelming but very nice and classy. Rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was great and the view of the Colleseo was fantastic. At night, cocktails are served on the rooftop as well as dinner and both are excellent. But the overreaching A-factor of this hotel is the staff. Maximo, Alessander and Giovanni to name a few did everything they could to make us comfortable, answer questions, provide advice etc. We loved this hotel and the staff makes it world class!!! We would like to come back to Rome, there is just so much to see and we wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else! Five stars all the way around!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    926
    363
    77
    27
    15
See reviews for
173
682
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Want to stay in a modern hotel from which you can stroll a few blocks to see the famed Colleseum? Stay at Capo d'Africa! We spent 5 nights here on the first leg of our Italy trip and were very happy with the choice.

We upgraded to the the Premier Double Room which was very spacious with two large windows overlooking the entry of the hotel. The room was beautiful and very will maintained. The staff was always friendly and helpful

Some reviewers have commented that restaurants in this area were sparse, but we did not find this. You can't walk a block without running into a restaurant. We had dinner in the area 3 nights out of the 5 (including one late night dinner at the hotel on the rooftop) and were not disappointed with any. In fact there were a few restaurants we wanted to visit but didn't have time! Breakfasts were lovely with a wide selection -- great coffee (not too strong) -- and a very friendly staff each morning.

The location couldn't be more perfect for a first time visit to Rome -- and cab drivers all knew exactly where it was when getting a ride from other areas of the city -- which was great for non-Italian speaking tourists like us!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room if you can -- it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoy a small, upscale hotel that is just big enough to offer a quality restaurant. We also really appreciate a room large enough to comfortably accommodate our luggage. Capo d'Africa offers all the features we were seeking. Their location, while close to the Coliseum is on the south end of the tourist attractions and may not suit some travelers seeking a central location. We enjoyed the rooftop restaurant at Capo d'Africa, but were underwhelmed by the other choices in the immediate neighborhood. The benefit to the location is that the rooms are very quiet!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pa.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Loved this hotel in a quiet neighborhood, 3 blocks from the Colloseum and the Roman Forum. Nice restaurants near by. Friendly staff, very clean, beautiful roof top terrace. Rooms are a little small - typical for Europe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in September. The hotel was perfect, the rooms were light and airy and we're cleaned to a high standard every day with a bottle of fresh water every day. The breakfast was good with lots of choice and the crispy bacon was outstanding, a firm favourite with everyone. The roof terrace overlooking the colosseum is a great place to relax and have a drink at the end of the day. The bar was reasonably priced for Rome but the restaurant did have a limited menu. This isn't a problem though as there are many places to eat around the hotel. The area was good and we felt safe walking at night. Would recommend this hotel and will be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in September after reading many excellent reviews. We were not disappointed! A lovely hotel. Rooms very nice and a lovely roof terrace for breakfast. Staff really friendly. A very centrally located hotel within easy reach for sight seeing. If we return to Rome we will definately be booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here with 4 daughters. We liked the quiet, more residential neighborhood with good restaurants within a block or 2 ... the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast tasty. The rooms and beds were extremely comfortable, especially after a hot days tour Rome. We slept fabulously and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Address: via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#48 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#53 Family Hotel in Rome
#65 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 pm to 11.00 pm, from Tuesday to Sunday. The Chef, Davide Lombardi prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capo d'Africa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;