We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brillant hotel & suburb location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capo d'Africa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Capo d'Africa Hotel to your Saves list
Capo d'Africa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #70 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brillant hotel & suburb location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Found this hotel on trip advisor by looking at the overall rating. I stayed for four nights. It lived up to my expectations being in the perfect location only two metro stops from Terminii railway station and five minutes walk to the colleseum. Lots of restaurants in the surrounding streets as well. Hotel staff were very helpful and check in was a breezy. The breakfast was excellent and made even better with the roof location. The room was very comfortable. I will be recommending this hotel to friends and familly and if im lucky enough to holiday in Rome again I will be staying here

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    390
    80
    27
    15
See reviews for
189
715
21
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Found the hotel on trip advisor. Very pleased with the choice. Very good location and we were made to feel very welcome. Breakfast was really goo and went on till 11 which is unusual but much appreciated. Will be recommending this hotel to friends as a very good option when visiting Rome!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The staff were polite enough and the breakfast was good. The location was pretty good also. However, the negatives outweighed the positivies. The desk host geared us toward a green line hop on, hop off bus tour which was dreadful. It was not air conditioned and we stayed at each stop at 20 minutes. We had just arrived and without our bearings didn't feel we could leave the bus. Also they turn off the central a/c in the hotel in the evenings and it got very warm in our room. The sheets were not soft.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Capo d'Africa for five days in April 2013 on our first visit to Rome. The location was perfect, as it was easy walking to everthing, or a short cab ride (which are more fun that any rollercoaster in the world) . Our room was wonderful and over looked the entrance. The breafast was great and the breakfast staff were wonderful and made our morning each and every day. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our last night of our trip before returning home. The hotel was very nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is great for exploring the Coliseum and surrounding sites. It is blocks away. We also found a great restaurant right around the corner. Be sure to check Trip Advisor before eating at any of the restaurants near the coliseum. There are definitely some tourist traps. We made the mistake of sitting down at one without checking TA only to be very disappointed with the food and service. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Really good location near the Colloseo, no other tourists @ night in area, lots of bars & restaurants that are not ripping off. unusual for Rome.. Really helpful & friendly staff. Breathtaking rooftop patio

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmarket suffolk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We recently stayed here for three nights April 27th to 30th, to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, we chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Colosseum ( Highlight of our trip ) but all the other sights were in walking distance. If you want to be slightly away from the manic tourist crowds then this hotel provides a bit of peace and quiet, at the end of a long hot day, however there are several restaurants to choose from in the area.
We had booked a de luxe room, we had a corner room on the second floor, it had a huge comfy bed, with plenty of pillows. The bathroom was re plenished daily with toiletries.
A couple of niggles would be that the shower was not powerful and the lighting in the room area where the mirror and hairdryer were was very dull.
A nice touch was the Prossecco delivered in an ice bucket just after we arrived, the mineral water provided daily was very welcome.
The drinks we had in the bar werer well presented and served with snacks each time and always with a smile.
The breakfast was fresh and had plenty of variety.
To sum up this was a nice small homely hotel with friendly staff, in a great situation we would not hesitate in staying again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Address: via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#53 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#69 Business Hotel in Rome
#72 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 pm to 11.00 pm, from Tuesday to Sunday. The Chef, Davide Lombardi prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capo d'Africa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.