We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good apartment, far from metro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Palazzo Al Velabro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Palazzo Al Velabro to your Saves list
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Velabro 16, 00186 Rome, Italy (Ripa / Aventino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    61
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
56
64
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrabool
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The hotel is situated very conveniently in some ways in the heart of ancient Rome. Outside is an early 4th century Roman arch, and from the front door you can see ruins on the Palatine Hill and some early temples in the other direction. For very noisy Rome, the location is extremely quiet, especially considering there is a busy road nearby.

Our room was actually two rooms, a lounge room with a comfortable couch, table and chairs and a kitchenette; and a separate bedroom. The bed was comfortable and both rooms large. There were two televisions, a good bathroom and plenty of towels.We could open two doors onto a terrace for fresh air. The kitchenette was fairly disappointing as it only consisted of two hotplates and no microwave or oven to heat items in. There was also a small refrigerator and a dishwasher. I don't know what is normal in Italy, but we were expecting there be a small amount of cleaning material there so we could wash the dishes in the sink or the dishwasher, and wipe down the benches etc. However, when we asked at the desk we were told this was not supplied, which meant we had to go out a buy a whole bottle of dishwashing fluid, a scourer and a packet of kitchen wipes. We didn't bother with the dishwashing tablets. If you were only staying there for a night or two, it wouldn't be worth it, in which case you couldn't use the kitchen facilities at all. As this hotel is not a cheap hotel, I think it would cost the hotel very little to put some limited supplies in for guests and this would create a lot of good will.

The location is very close to the ancient heart of Rome and near to bus stops. It is a short walk to the Capotoline Museums. Breakfast is a typical Italian breakfast, but with the addition of boiled eggs. The staff were friendly and helpful.

It is not an area teaming with restaurants and cafes. However, close to the hotel there are two cafes and two restaurants which was fine.

My main gripe was that of all the places we stayed in Italy over five weeks, this was the only hotel that charged for internet use. The rate was 9 euro a day which is fairly expensive in itself. They did have a one hour rate as well.

However, overall we enjoyed staying in this hotel and felt very relaxed and having two large rooms was excellent.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor. I believe that rooms higher up in the hotel have views of the forum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The Palazzo al Velabro provides a range of recently renovated apartments in an unrivalled setting overlooking the Palatine and the Forum Boarium. Some apartments have balconies overlooking the Palatine with magnificent views. So many ancient, early Christian and Jewish monuments can be seen within strolling distance in any direction. The staff are friendly, long-serving and always helpful.

Room Tip: The Royal Palatino Suites have the balconies and are especially good, but cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

From a Time Share purchase that required the usual yearly fee, plus a sur charge of another $250.00 (US), We expected something more than a cloth covered sheet of plywood for a bed. The location was great, however, two nights of backache and numbness, was worth leaving the place! Especially when the night desk, told us to "move out if we don't like the bed!" We are tent campers, not complainers!!!How bad was this?...we lost five Nights and the $$$ with no recourse from the desk... but was well worth moving.. Oh, they tacked on room tax, coffee and phone fee for our complaint to the time share..Add $35 Euros. REALLY??
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY or YOUR DREAM TRIP with these people. I will advise the time share and others of this waste....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

That is the common refrain for this aparthotel. The location is good in terms of convenience for sight-seeing and there is a certain aura about staying so close to the forum et al (walking past the forum every night on your way home!). It's about 10 minutes walk from the nearest metro station (Circus Maximus) but that's as much to do with the city's limited metro system as anything else.

The rooms have mostly been recently renovated and are of a good size. The bathrooms are large and have the biggest sink you will ever find. I was staying on the top floor so got a balcony with a good view of the Forum and Palatine Hill. There was no noise from outside, although being at the top and in the opposite corner from the street it may not mean much. The lobby and corridors are very sleek and a bit lacking in character, which is a bit jarring considering all the ancient landmarks surrounding it.

Breakfast is decent, but not really what you would expect from somewhere for this price. The staff are friendly and helpful, especially the ladies at breakfast.

The only problem is, you will probably encounter various small problems that shouldn't take much to be fixed, but have already been listed by previous reviewers. Breakfast, while decent enough, is inferior compared to other places around Italy that are a lot cheaper. There's no washing up products to clean your dishes from day to day. I wasn't eating in much so it didn't become a big issue but why has such a basic thing been overlooked? Everything is very sleek and modern, but there's a lack of charm to it. Wifi is not free, even though even B&B's these days are sometimes able to offer it, let alone a luxury sort of hotel like this. The key to the room is a massive metal "tube" that not only takes a lot of space in your pocket but also weighs an absurd amount when it's just a key. It's just not sensible or practical. There's a number of little things like this that others have commented on that leave you regularly thinking "this should be better". It's a shame because the rooms are excellent otherwise and they've got good enough staff and an excellent location. It's like management is penny pinching or trying to cut corners when the gains are negligible compared to the downsides.

In terms of value for money, it's ok but not great. The rooms are certainly worth it, but the various nagging issues make it hard to justify spending the extra €40-50 compared to other accomodation in Rome. If they can just focus on the details and get everything up to the same standard as the rooms and staff then it would be an excellent place to stay. As it is, I'm not sure I would choose to stay here again, at least not without giving other places a try first. It's a shame, because with the right approach this could be excellent all around.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

A modernised building several hundred years old which is converted into suites. Walking distance (About 1/2 a mile) from the forum and Collosseum. There are a couple of restaurants within about 150yds. Internet access and Wifi is available for a small fee. Bathrooms look a bit chewed as they have used chipboard which has soaked up the moisture and split soon after installation. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast served till 11 is continental simple but adequate and may not suit the fry-up fans. There are no kettles but a pan of water works fine in the small kitchen area. Some rooms have great views and others look out onto a wall. Traffic noise is very noticeable but not excessive. There is a fitness suite if you have energy left after touring the sights. Taken as a whole, I liked it.

Room Tip: The higher up and the worse the view, the quieter your room will be
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on Tees, uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Just back from 5 days at the hotel. Location could not be better for the ancient attractions. I must admit I was tentative in booking this as some previous 'Trip Advisor' comments were not positive. However I can say that the staff were excellent, nothing was a problem from daily checking the up to date weather, directions to restaurants etc. The breakfasts were good (for a continental style) and everything replenished if needed - this had been highlighted as a problem previously - no absolutely fine.
The size of our room was very good (room 13) with separate bedroom and lounge (with kitchenette behind a folding screen). Our only adverse comment would be that the room needs a refresh (update) as the bathroom unit surfaces were worn/craked and also the kitchenette units/drawers. However this was a minor - cant realy call it a problem, but still not good for a £200 per night 'luxury' apparthotel. All in all we would return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Palazzo Al Velabro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Palazzo Al Velabro

Address: Via del Velabro 16, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#215 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Palazzo Al Velabro 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Palazzo Al Velabro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro Hotel Rome
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Palazzo Al Velabro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.