We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ecstasy of Saint Theresa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria della Vittoria

Santa Maria della Vittoria
Via XX Settembre 17, 00187 Rome, Italy
+39 06 42740571
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #18 of 727 attractions in Rome
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Churches/ Cathedrals
Attraction Details
Beaufort, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ecstasy of Saint Theresa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Visiting this church just for Bernini's Ecstasy of Santa Teresa is well worth the trip. Be aware that church services begin at 6:00 pm on Saturday evenings.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    137
    16
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a relatively small church, but truly a beautiful one. You will want to spend some time admiring the beautiful sculpture of St. Teresa in Ecstasy, as well as the main altar and other beautiful sculptures. We didn't get to this church until our fourth visit to Rome, and I wish we had seen it sooner!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
137 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Beautiful Art, Easy to Access from the Termini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Most tourists visit this church to ponder Bernini's "St. Teresa in Ecstasy," a stunning sculpture. If you go, take the time to look around. I was impressed by the statue that sits directly across from "St. Teresa" and had fun comparing the two. (The other is not Bernini's work.) There's a small gift shop. Check open hours before you go. A huge benefit is that large tourist groups don't come here, so it's usually not crowded.

Santa Maria della Vittoria is located just a short walk (less than 10 minutes) from the Termini, and easy to find with a good map.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ornate and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We came here to see Bernini's "L'Estasi di Santa Teresa" and we weren't disappointed. The only downside was that we had to go twice because it was closed the first time we went (1230-1500). There was no line, no noise, no tour guides or groups, so we were able to sit and look around at the awe-inspiring works around us and take pics (no flash) at our leisure. It's a smaller church, but there's not a blank spot anywhere. Gorgeous.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

After several years I visited this church again to see Bernini's wonderful 'Ecstasy of St. Teresa'. I couldn't believe the amount of dust and grime that had been allowed to collect on this amazing sculpture. Surely it would not be too difficult to dust it regularly, especially as it is such a tourist attraction as well as being an incredible work of art.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Maria della Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria della Vittoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Santa Maria della Vittoria to your Saves list
;