We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Art, Easy to Access from the Termini” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria della Vittoria

Santa Maria della Vittoria
Via XX Settembre 17, 00187 Rome, Italy
+39 06 42740571
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #15 of 722 attractions in Rome
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Churches/ Cathedrals
Attraction Details
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
136 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Beautiful Art, Easy to Access from the Termini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Most tourists visit this church to ponder Bernini's "St. Teresa in Ecstasy," a stunning sculpture. If you go, take the time to look around. I was impressed by the statue that sits directly across from "St. Teresa" and had fun comparing the two. (The other is not Bernini's work.) There's a small gift shop. Check open hours before you go. A huge benefit is that large tourist groups don't come here, so it's usually not crowded.

Santa Maria della Vittoria is located just a short walk (less than 10 minutes) from the Termini, and easy to find with a good map.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    130
    15
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Landstuhl, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ornate and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We came here to see Bernini's "L'Estasi di Santa Teresa" and we weren't disappointed. The only downside was that we had to go twice because it was closed the first time we went (1230-1500). There was no line, no noise, no tour guides or groups, so we were able to sit and look around at the awe-inspiring works around us and take pics (no flash) at our leisure. It's a smaller church, but there's not a blank spot anywhere. Gorgeous.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

After several years I visited this church again to see Bernini's wonderful 'Ecstasy of St. Teresa'. I couldn't believe the amount of dust and grime that had been allowed to collect on this amazing sculpture. Surely it would not be too difficult to dust it regularly, especially as it is such a tourist attraction as well as being an incredible work of art.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small but beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was where one of the scenes in the Dan Brown novel - Angels & Demons was filmed. Seeing the interior in person was better than seeing it in the movie. Every inch of the walls is covered with awesome details and our eyes were in for a treat. The ceiling is really amazing and adorned with angels statues and beautiful paintings. This is a must visit place!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantley
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A little different than most churches because of the frescoes, really enjoyed it's uniqueness and beauty.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Maria della Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria della Vittoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Santa Maria della Vittoria to your Saves list