We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprising and beautiful church” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica S. Maria degli Angeli e dei Martiri

Basilica S. Maria degli Angeli e dei Martiri
Via Cernaia, 9 | Piazza della Repubblica, Rome, Italy (Esquilino)
+39 06488 0812
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$99*
and up
Ranked #23 of 1,501 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spectacular church full of breathtaking statues and paintings. Located near the Termini station in Rome, this church is guaranteed to leave you gasping in admiration.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
674 reviews
595 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Suprising and beautiful church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The exterior of this church looks more than anything but a church, but when you're inside the beauty can surprise anyone. The church is situated in Piazza della Republica and it's easy accesible by Metro.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    786
    289
    25
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dull exterior, impressive interior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The basilica is located within 5 minutes walk, directly opposite Termini Station. The exterior is huge, dull and the entrance is small. But what a surprise when we stepped into it. The interior is beautiful with tall columns, beautiful paintings and sculptures. There is a small museum depicting the history of the basilica and it was free during our visit. Walking out to the backyard, it was a quaint sight with an impressive looking statue. The stained glass dome in the basilica is really beautiful.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
251 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A Surprise behind an unassuming facade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The outside is a crumbllng semicircular facade, and you expect the inside to be unassuming, but WOW 1 this is a spectacular working church, originally ancient Roman Baths that were converted, with a splendid dome designed by Michaelangelo. Near the train station, so go if u are nearby

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Wow Moment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stopped into this church on our way to dinner on our last night in Rome, on the recommendation of some friends who had visited the day before. The church is very unassuming outside but our jaws almost hit the floor when we walked though the doors. I was impressed with the size of the Basilica and he artwork that graced the walls. We had been to the Vatican earlier in the day, and I was equally impressed with this facility, largely because we did not have to fight crowds to get in, and could take our time to walk around and enjoy the structure.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
386 reviews
250 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“No ho-hum...another church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Indeed Rome's churches are like America's Starbucks - one on very corner - but San Maria degli Angeli is splended. Michelangelo designed the vault of this former Roman bath, but there is a awe factor that goes beyond that. We returned to this place because of interesting things like the flooring and the organ. A working church, we happened upon a real Italian wedding and while we were not invited, we were accepted. The rear has a lovely garden with some sculptures. It is so old and yet still alive and well. It is free, although donations are accepted.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica S. Maria degli Angeli e dei Martiri also viewed

 

Been to Basilica S. Maria degli Angeli e dei Martiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica S. Maria degli Angeli e dei Martiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.