We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wow Moment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica S. Maria degli Angeli e dei Martiri

Basilica S. Maria degli Angeli e dei Martiri
Via Cernaia, 9 | Piazza della Repubblica, Rome, Italy (Esquilino)
+39 06488 0812
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 1,444 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spectacular church full of breathtaking statues and paintings. Located near the Termini station in Rome, this church is guaranteed to leave you gasping in admiration.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A Wow Moment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stopped into this church on our way to dinner on our last night in Rome, on the recommendation of some friends who had visited the day before. The church is very unassuming outside but our jaws almost hit the floor when we walked though the doors. I was impressed with the size of the Basilica and he artwork that graced the walls. We had been to the Vatican earlier in the day, and I was equally impressed with this facility, largely because we did not have to fight crowds to get in, and could take our time to walk around and enjoy the structure.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    241
    23
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, California
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
216 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“No ho-hum...another church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Indeed Rome's churches are like America's Starbucks - one on very corner - but San Maria degli Angeli is splended. Michelangelo designed the vault of this former Roman bath, but there is a awe factor that goes beyond that. We returned to this place because of interesting things like the flooring and the organ. A working church, we happened upon a real Italian wedding and while we were not invited, we were accepted. The rear has a lovely garden with some sculptures. It is so old and yet still alive and well. It is free, although donations are accepted.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“beware of pickpockets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A must see.It is usually crowed to the point where you can't get close to the fountain without pushing your way through.The pickpockete are everywhere so be carefull

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Neat church”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A neat place to visit, Michelangelo did the vaulting to convert the former Roman baths into the present day church. They had some interesting exhibits on Galileo and Kepler, though they were littered with logical fallacies in support of god. If you're a church fan, worth a visit. If you're on a time cramp... not so much.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Awesome and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stumbled over this church while walking around Diocletian's Baths ... in my view, it is possibly the most beautiful church in Rome, though not the best known.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica S. Maria degli Angeli e dei Martiri also viewed

 

Been to Basilica S. Maria degli Angeli e dei Martiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica S. Maria degli Angeli e dei Martiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.