We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find the Key Hole!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aventine Hill

Aventine Hill
Via di Santa Sabina, Rome, Italy
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #26 of 727 attractions in Rome
Type: Historic Sites, Historic Walking Areas
Attraction Details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Find the Key Hole!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Attempt to find the key hole! The view is AMAZING! A priest had to help us locate it - so ask around if you are walking alone or without a tour guide!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    119
    24
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“history lesson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

if you enjoy the history of rome this is one place you get the feeling of time gone by, you can almost imgine yourself walking around and being part of it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful and atmospheric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We loved the Aventine. We walked here at the end of the day as the sun began to set, watching the starling gather in their millions over Rome. The ruins are a little easier to interpret than those at the Forum down the hill, mostly the villas of the the powerful and the gardens they laid out. But you don;t need an interpretive tour to appreciate the beauty and - in a crowded, touristy city - the tranquility of the place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Through the keyhole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our second trip to Rome, so we were looking for something a bit different to do, having done the main sites first time round. We started our journey up the hill after checking out the Pyramid and taking a lunch to the Non-Catholic cemetery. We walked up the winding hill, til we reached the famous keyhole. Peep through, enjoy the view! Then, we returned down and stopped to overlook the Circus Maximus for a water break.

I wouldn't go out of your way to visit, but if you have the time and want a stroll around a quieter area of Rome, head up Aventine hill!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“beautiful panoramic views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Really worth a visit, if you want to see the magnificent skyline over rome and enjoy a visit to a 10th century church.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aventine Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aventine Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aventine Hill to your Saves list