We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find the Key Hole!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aventine Hill

Aventine Hill
Via di Santa Sabina, Rome, Italy (Aventine)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$276*
and up
Private Tour: Breathtaking Views of Rome
Ranked #52 of 1,034 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Find the Key Hole!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Attempt to find the key hole! The view is AMAZING! A priest had to help us locate it - so ask around if you are walking alone or without a tour guide!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Storm4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“history lesson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

if you enjoy the history of rome this is one place you get the feeling of time gone by, you can almost imgine yourself walking around and being part of it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank paulap p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful and atmospheric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We loved the Aventine. We walked here at the end of the day as the sun began to set, watching the starling gather in their millions over Rome. The ruins are a little easier to interpret than those at the Forum down the hill, mostly the villas of the the powerful and the gardens they laid out. But you don;t need an interpretive tour to appreciate the beauty and - in a crowded, touristy city - the tranquility of the place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank quozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Through the keyhole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our second trip to Rome, so we were looking for something a bit different to do, having done the main sites first time round. We started our journey up the hill after checking out the Pyramid and taking a lunch to the Non-Catholic cemetery. We walked up the winding hill, til we reached the famous keyhole. Peep through, enjoy the view! Then, we returned down and stopped to overlook the Circus Maximus for a water break.

I wouldn't go out of your way to visit, but if you have the time and want a stroll around a quieter area of Rome, head up Aventine hill!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Orourkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“beautiful panoramic views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Really worth a visit, if you want to see the magnificent skyline over rome and enjoy a visit to a 10th century church.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emmytravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aventine Hill also viewed

 

Been to Aventine Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing