We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful synagogue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jewish Museum of Rome

The Jewish Museum of Rome
Lungotevere Cenci 15, 00186 Rome, Italy (Ghetto)
+39 06 68400661
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 1,447 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris, France
Top Contributor
981 reviews 981 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
483 helpful votes 483 helpful votes
“Beautiful synagogue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Beautiful synagogue, built in early 20th century and, unlike most, having survivied WW 2. Do not miss to take a tour with a guide (usually somebody from small, 16,000 members-strong local jewish) as the history of the place is interesting. The jewish museum located under synagogue is small but moving, with a beautiful collection of over 400 Torah mantles (mapah) made from old tissue and donated over time to the synagogue.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    35
    9
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“It is beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

In our visit to Rome we wanted to visit the Synagogue. Due to Jewish festivities, the Synagogue was closed to visitors, though we could see the façade and it is so beautiful. Next time in Rome we hope to be luckier and be able to admire the interior.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Be sure to take the tour. The pieces that the Jewish families have donated throughout the years are incredible and priceless. The main sanctuary's architecture is quite elaborate, with intricate details (pictures are not allowed).

Kosher restaurants are only a street away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“synagogue tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Wonderful museum and tour of synagogue. Free daily tours are offered with admission. We signed up when we arrived. Afterwards we strolled through the very historic former Jewish ghetto. We had two delicious meals in small restaurants there. This area is close to the Forum.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice tour to a marvelous synagogue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

One of the most beautiful synagogues I have ever visited. You get a complete picture of Roman Jewish, which have a different story from most Jewish communities. Very much recommended, as it you get a lot of information. Also, there are many interesting donated things .

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jewish Museum of Rome also viewed

 

Been to The Jewish Museum of Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jewish Museum of Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.