We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domus RomAntica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Domus RomAntica to your Saves list
Domus RomAntica
Via Belisario, 7, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
tyrone
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good value for Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This has hotel standard rooms but in an apartment/b&b type building. The lady at check in (claudine I think her name was) was very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is in a great location close to the french embassy. safe for walking around at night. close enough to the metro for exploring rome. Breakfast was just a coffee (or tea in our case) and muffin but was perfect for us. Not a single english speaking channel on the tv would be my only slight reservation but overall we were very happy with it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    37
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
68
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Don't get thrown by my 3 star rating. I actually very much liked this place. But it's not a real hotel. If you want to stay somewhere with a person at a front desk for your needs 24/7 this is not the place for you. The rooms are very nice, and everything is perfectly clean. The location is perfect. Walking distance to Via Veneto and Villa Borghese. It's on a lovely quiet street, in a very safe seeming neighborhood. We always felt comfortable walking around at night.
Warnings/tips
Most of the time there isn't a person working at the front desk so you're on your own. The lights in the hallway automatically turn off so it's dark a lot. However there are switches right outside your room so you can turn back on.
For what it was and the amount of time we were there we found this hotel to be acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karpenisi, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

the hotel is a descent one. Very clean and with nice space. the room has a pleasant decoration so you don't feel that you must get out of the room.i liked the colours,brown and warm.
the hotel is not so close to a metro station but it did not worry me,it was quite central. rome is a town ideal for walking so is not needed a stay in the heart of the town.
we liked the breakfast,it was quiet a fun to go to the cafe to the corner.never had a stay in a hotel like this before.
generally i recommend the stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This place was great.
The room is nicely decorated and the bathroom was clean. The air conditioning was nice and ice...it was dark when closing the curtains...and very quiet! Perfect for exhausted travellers. Its about 10 min walk to train stop and there are only a few restaurants around (pretty average the ones we ate at). The breakfast included was nice and we would definitely stay again when in rome.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Overall this is a very good hotel, and I recommend staying there if you don't mind a 15 to 20 minute walk to/from the Metro. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. Marco and Fabrizio (hope I spelled his name correctly) were fantastic. The hotel is updated, clean, well maintained, near the city center, and the price is very good.

On our end we did two things that helped a LOT.
Firstly, we gave them our time of arrival. There's not always someone at reception (especially after hours) so since they knew when we would be arriving, Marco made sure to be there to greet and check us in.
The second thing that helped tremendously was to have the hotel arrange for a taxi to pick us up from the airport. The price was pre-determined and the driver honored the price. We paid $60 euros for 6 people and it was worth every "penny"! It was actually a great deal given the distance from the airport to Rome. Our driver also took us past Vatican city. So...unless you have a mobile gps mapping device or have already been there, I would not advise trying to find the hotel yourself. The roads in Rome are VERY difficult to navigate - there may or may not be a street sign, and the streets change name several times along the same route (i.e. 1 street, multiple names). Also, everything is a lot closer together than we're used to. Again, my advice is to NOT try to find your way from the train station to the hotel, especially at night.

I agree with the other reviews about the signage - very difficult to see unless you know where to look. When we arrived at the hotel, there was no way to tell it was even there. Fortunately the taxi driver pointed out the button we needed to push to contact the reception. This hotel occupies part of the 4th floor of a building - something we were not expecting. Also, there are only 5 or 6 rooms.

We were there in August and the AC worked OK but not great. We slept just fine - partly because we were exhausted at the end of each day, and partly because we had the AC cranking all night long (I believe the setting we used was Maximo).

The breakfast at this hotel consists of coffee, a baked item, and cold drink (juice or soda) from a café next to the hotel. The croissants were absolutely delicious, and the café owner was very nice and helpful.

The best thing about this hotel is that it's just around the corner from Pizzeria Al Forno della Soffitta - simply the best pizza we've ever eaten. We got several kinds and I don't recall their names - but they were all delicious.

Again, overall I would recommend this hotel based on quality of the rooms/bathroom, great staff, price, and the fact that it is close to the city center. Just be aware that it's about a mile or so to get to the metro - doesn't seem far until you try it in 90+ degrees with luggage and small children. Also, the AC in the rooms works but is not great.

p.s. something we learned while traveling in Italy...the Italians are out in the morning, take a break in the early afternoon, and then resume activity in the late afternoon/early evening. This might seem strange to people like me who have never done that before, but we discovered that there's a very good reason for this. The mid-day/early afternoon heat is simply miserable, so they just skip it...makes sense when you think about it. Our days became a lot more enjoyable and productive after we adopted this practice.

Room Tip: I don't know which one has the best AC, but if there is and you will be there in the summer I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Once we arrived at the address we had no clue where to go. There was no signage to direct you where to go. We walked in to a hallway with other doors and used the mailboxes we found near the lift to confirm we were in the correct spot. Being the active couple that we are, and guessing that maybe it was just up one level, and not trusting tiny elevators (which did work fine actually), we grabbed our bags and started climbing up the stairs and realized we were wrong for 3 more levels. I think they hope you will automatically decide to take the lift and see the sign to say which floor it is on.

Once we arrived the door was locked. I had told them what time we would be arriving, and we were actually spot on. We rang the doorbell and no one answered. We continued this a few more times. My husband headed back downstairs to see if he could find someone while I would knock on the door/ring the door ball every so often. This lasted about 10 minutes, when a woman finally came to the door. She was quite pleasant, and from there on out our stay was a breeze and we could come in go as we pleased. There are little to no staff around, which is fine for us.

The room was clean, but nothing terribly spectacular - kind of dark.

The breakfast places that were part of the stay were nearby and a nice way to start the day. I enjoy staying off the beaten path, and we like to walk everywhere, but this was rather far from most of the areas visitors typically see in Rome. Although, not a terribly far walk from the train station, and an amazing gelato place was just a few blocks away.

Overall, my husband and I agreed we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Was a bit confusing at first with no real signage to the hotel. However we checked in fine, the wifi struggled to work in our room, and as we were trying to sort out money over online banking this was frustrating, without any staff there to help we had to sit in the hallway outside reception to use the internet. The rooms were nice, and bathroom clean. Bar Fridge was priced well and plenty of information on things to do in room were situated in the room. Overall a very nice B&B but hard to fix any problems with no staff around a lot of the time. Wifi not working was very frustrating and after travelling so much its not fun sitting in a hallway trying to use your laptop.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domus RomAntica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus RomAntica

Address: Via Belisario, 7, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for a vacation in the historic centre of Rome, RomAntica stands apart is a luxury B&B, close to Veneto street, Trevi’s Fountain and Spanish Steps. We are located in a quiet and elegant area, only ten minutes walk from: Repubblica underground station (line A), Castro Pretorio underground station (line B) and Termini train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Domus RomAntica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domus RomAntica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.