We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Easter 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Paul's Within the Walls

St Paul's Within the Walls
Via Napoli 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
+39 06 4883339
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 687 Attractions in Rome
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Attraction details
Manhattan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Happy Easter 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Here, attending Easter 2013 services at this English-language church, we found an extremely welcoming environment, an inspiring message, and beautiful music. We were pleasantly surprised to have an even better experience than what we had anticipated based on their (already very welcoming) website. Afterward there was an opportunity to chat with fellow English speakers at a post-service gathering in the garden, while kids hunted for Easter eggs. This was a wonderful, full-hearted experience that I would recommend to anyone (especially an English speaker) who seeks to attend church in Rome.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twente, Nederland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Didn't expected this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A church, but when you enter, it looks like a great cathedral. Very, very nice paintings! Visited the mass on Christmas day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breath taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

One of the most amazing buildings I have ever been too. Both my partner and I are not religious but both found this to be breath taking.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Episcopalian Church in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our daughter was married in this amazing Episcopalean church right in the middle of Rome. The church is stunningly beautiful, but the greatest joy was meeting Fr Austin Rios and his staff.

Everything in the church was perfect and the service was very moving.

For Episcopalians who are in Rome on a Sunday, try to find time to attend a service.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Classical music evening!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just in case you find yourself at a loose end towards a sunday or wednesday evening then try and make it to this place for a very special musical evening. It's almost hard to miss this place (it's on the Via national towards the top end heading towards the termini) but the queue of people hanging outside at about 7:45pm does give it away. The evening is a collection of arias performed by a small but perfectly formed orchestra (look out for the double bass player, he's hillarious) and a group of pretty good singers in "authentic" costumes, the music is performed with humour and accomplishment and is in such a lovely setting that its worth the wait and is a perfect end if you've been rushed off your feet all day with sightseeing. Tickets are 30euros and the full set lasts about 1 and half hours.
Be aware that there are two queues... one is to get in, the other is to buy tickets, it is on a first come, first sit basis, so if you don't get in the line quick enough then you could find yourself towards the back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Paul's Within the Walls also viewed

 

Been to St Paul's Within the Walls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Paul's Within the Walls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.