We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place - excellent service - value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Botte

La Botte
Via Laurentina, 735 | Viale Dell'esercito 38, 00143 Rome, Italy
06 5010404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,969 of 8,758 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Hjallerup, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place - excellent service - value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Even the restaurant was very busy, the waiters gave time to Welcome us, felt no hurry at all.
Nice atmosphere. The food was excellent. Would go there again anytime.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    66
    28
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Overpriced. Worst lunch entire visit. ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We are here our second day in Rome and had what we thought was an OK meal in Rome. My husband ordered the lasagna and I ordered the fettuccini Alfredo. He also ordered a birra and I ordered one glass of vino. 60 euros later we left. The fettuccini was small portions and chewy.


After staying in italy for two weeks we realized that La Botte was the most expensive meal we are for lunch and it wasn't even that good. We were able to compare roman meals days after this limchc and realized we has eaten subpar food for an overpriced amount. Don't eat here. Your money would be spent wiser elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“worst pizza we've ever had. period!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was our first meal in Rome - and turned out to be a tourist trap, a disappointing experience.

Let me first share what was great: the decor is super charming, the location is fantastic, the service was superb.

We ordered a vegetarian pizza and as soon as it came I knew it would be awful. The vegetables were carelessly thrown on and were grossly overcooked. The thin crust was too chewy and so was the cheese. I'm not exaggerating when I say it was the worst pizza I've ever tasted. The manager noticed immediately and took it away, without question. This was wonderful, but he didn't even ask why we didn't like it - that should tell you something.

Instead, we ordered gnocchi, which was way too salty and tasted below average. The sauce was runny - again, a disappointment. We've had better gnocchi in India & Dominican Republic on our recent travels!

A green salad is nothing but a small bowl of cut up lettuce (one kind), plain. 5 euros for that?

The side spinach was awesome and so was the smoked cheese plate.

We made the best of the experience, but it DEFINITELY wasn't worth 80 euros ... and I would never go back there again.

This place is always packed with tourists it seems, but we didn't see any locals eating there...

So, do your homework!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best dessert of Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Pizza with nutela or strawberries with lemon are two of the desserts that I tasted and they were heavenly. The lamb chops were fantastic and they have a impeccable service. A restaurant you must visit in Rome.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Trust me if you know food you wont enjoy this place so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

After 30 or more visits to Italy i really cannot say this place was worth the price at all. I had a simple pizza and glass of wine. There are far better places for pizza. My tab was almost 19 Euro or about 23 US dollars. Defo not worth the price. I cannot recommend this place since there are so many other good places to eat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Botte also viewed

 

Been to La Botte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Botte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.