We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diocletian Bath and the Octagonal Hall

Diocletian Bath and the Octagonal Hall
Viale Enrico de Nicola, 79, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)
06 489 035 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #163 of 1,443 things to do in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Real Gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This large building is very close to the Termini Station.
Show you passport if you are an EC citizen and over 65.
Outside are a collection of very interesting stele and statues, set in a pleasant garden with a fountain.
Inside, more stele and statues, but the building itself is the star here. huge as it is, only a small part of this amazing complex survives. There is a reconstructed tomb inside, complete with marble facing blocks and urns.
Also a lovely and complete mosaic floor and an enchanting statue of a young boy riding his pony.
Well worth a look around.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    55
    29
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemet, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not Quite What Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

There was nice artwork at the Baths, but I expected to see a replica of the old Bath houses. My expectations may not have been realistic -- I guess I should have done more research.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A treasure of art and peace near Termini Rome's chaos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Tourist could stay there just 10 minutes to refresh their eyes and hears from the chaos outside.
A visit to learn about the museum and the roman ruins could take 2-3 hours.
Money well spent.
I suggest to take the unified ticket to visit (during the next two days) additional museums and roman ruins.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
842 reviews 842 reviews
385 attraction reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
“The remnants of the baths of Diocletian - partially now a convent cloister, partially a museum.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The Terme Diocleziano are a branch of the Rome National Museum ("MNR") and contain a few choice pieces of statuary in Hall X of the old baths, but otherwise the rest of the museum is in and around the cloister. The content is focused on Rome's prehistory and, to be frank, is somewhat of an acquired taste. I only came because I'd bought the MNR's Archaeologica Pass - which includes entry to the Diocletian baths. If you're not a huge fan of Roman prehistory and the Etruscan period, tennis suggest not coming here. (BTW - the Aula Ottagona (formerly the Rome planetarium) is only open for special events, so you'll be lucky to see inside).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Why no warning?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Unfortunately the Baths of Diocletian were closed when we tried to visit, to our great disappointment, though there was no warning about it on the website of the Rome Archaeology website. There's no option to give a nil rating, which is why I've had to give it a "terrible".

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diocletian Bath and the Octagonal Hall also viewed

 

Been to Diocletian Bath and the Octagonal Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diocletian Bath and the Octagonal Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.