We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chiesa del Gesu

Chiesa del Gesu
Piazza del Gesu | Via degli Astalli, 16, 00186 Rome, Italy
+39 06 69 70 01
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 760 Attractions in Rome
Type: Religious Sites, Churches/ Cathedrals
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

An superb church with a lovely high altar and an amazing ceiling fresco - the grandiose Triumph of the Name of Jesus by Giovanni Battista Gaulli.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    134
    29
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Ceiling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I went to all the top rated in the Michelin guide and this was one. I loved the ceiling and the chapel Sant'Ignazzio. Well worth a special visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aol.com
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Big and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

There are so many beautiful churches in Rome that they can easily run together--but this one stood out--I guess it was the GOLD and the tie to St. Ignatius Loyola that stuck with me. Being inside was very moving.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Better than St. Peters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

After taking the expected St. Peter's tour and being overwhelmed by its size, we stopped off at this church on the way to the Colosseum. The church is tied closely to the Counter Reformation and St. Ignatius. We were not disappointed. The heavy baroque artwork and gilding were wonderful, but what struck me the most was the intimacy of each of the smaller side chapels and a sense of true reverence, with or without the glitz. We liked it so much that after we got back from the Colosseum, my husband went back with his camera to take picts, except for some inexplicable reason the church was closed. This was about 3:30, well before winter closing hours.

I highly recommend a visit to it. Everything is so very close in Rome. On the map the distances look daunting, but these are small blocks by U.S. standards.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Sacred place with secrets...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Wonderfull Roma baroque church sometimes with open entry upstairs to some secret rooms and Chappel. Amasing view down to the church and to fresque paintings. Recomendation!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chiesa del Gesu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiesa del Gesu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.