We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see while in Trastevere, one of the oldest churches in the neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria in Trastevere

Santa Maria in Trastevere
Piazza Santa Maria in Trastevere, Rome, Italy (Trastevere)
+39 06 581 4802
Improve this listing
Visit Santa Maria in Trastevere like an insider
Top Rated
$54*
and up
Panoramic Bike Tour of Rome
Ranked #28 of 1,471 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Dining, Shopping
Attraction details
Hamilton, NJ
Top Contributor
387 reviews 387 reviews
134 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
406 helpful votes 406 helpful votes
“A must see while in Trastevere, one of the oldest churches in the neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

The church is ancient, very ancient, with the initial prayer house established in the area of today's church over 1800 years ago, at the dawn of Christian religion. Very impressive nave featuring 12 bays. The church's campanile dates back to XIIth century. Fascinating ancient mosaic floors.
The square in front of the church, Piazza di Santa Maria, is apparently a hub of the local younger crowds, tourists, artists, but it goes into full swing mode later in the day, from the evening hours on. When we visited - as a part of a self-guided tour in Trastevere - the square was almost empty, around 10:30 AM, on a week day.
Recommended as a part of one's tour in Trastevere, or if you are into a pilgrimage way of exploring Rome.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,123
    487
    76
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Stunning!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

This church is exceptionally beautiful. It is situated in a rather Bohemian square which was exceptionally busy. The mosaics in the church are some of the most impressive I have ever seen. A very peaceful church. We went to Mass and the music was very well rehearsed. It was a very moving Mass. I would recommend this beautiful experience.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great church to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Love this church
Se went to a night mass
Was an incredible experience
You should go
A must visit inTrastevere
Una experiencia religiosa

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cool spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

I am not a big fan of viewing ancient churches, but this one was very impressive. It was not crowded at all when we went, and was very easy to move around and actually take in the ancient architecture.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

After a 3 mile walk in hot conditions we were hoping our mission to cross the Tiber and see the more 'bohemian' quarter of Trastevere would live up to expectations. It did. Tucked away in its own characterful Piazza (with fountain) the beautiful little (by Roman standards) church offered us fine, cool marble and mosaic floors, stunning mosaic murals and interesting religious ornaments. Of all the churches we visted (and there are many!) this church afforded us (as humanists) the best spiritual ambience.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Maria in Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria in Trastevere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.