We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very overated!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria in Trastevere

Santa Maria in Trastevere
Piazza Santa Maria in Trastevere, Rome, Italy (Trastevere)
+39 06 581 4802
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #24 of 727 attractions in Rome
Type: Historic Sites, Religious Sites, Churches/ Cathedrals, Fountains
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Dining, Shopping
Attraction Details
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very overated!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Don't waste your time. The square is very dirty, many strange people, lousy shops and restaurants. We had the worst gelato ever at Blue ice -- do not go here!!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    849
    376
    61
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Church in a awesome district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Getting to this church you'll go through some of the best streets Rome has to offer. Close-knit roads with great restaurants and cafes. Eventually, you'll reach the main square where the church is situated. The gorgeous church was memorable with a striking center alter piece and great religious artworks. Additionally, the atmosphere was very peaceful.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not like all the other churches in Rome...DON'T MISS THIS ONE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I am not particularly interested in churches in Rome, as there are so many and was under the general impression that I had seen enough of them, BUT this one is very special since it is from the Byzantine era and is filled with gorgeous mosaics.

On top of that, there is a very loving and religious atmosphere inside - created in part by music playing in the church.

Be sure to put a coin in the light box to activate the lights so you can see the mosaics.

For me, I love this church because of the images of Mary - they are so queenly and beautiful and not the usual fare.

The outside is also filled with a beautiful mosaic.

I also like the gift shop here - I ended up lighting candles for people I love inside the church, and then in the gift shop I got them each a brochure and a refrigerator magnet of the face of the beautiful Mary and of the nativity mosaic which I think is a masterpiece. As well as ofthe bull. There are also nice bookmarks of Mary. If I had more room in my suitcase I would also have brough home the lovely little candleholders.

I also bought a beautiful advent calendar of St. Peter's for the holidays done by a lovely Canadian artist who lives in Rome (She also does the Metropolitan Museum of Art advent calendars in the U.S.).

But just to sit in the pews here is a very lovely thing to do. One of the few churches in tourist Rome that feels authentic, where you focus on the spiritual feeling.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Liked the feel of the entire neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Good combo here is to have guided tour Church of San Clemente, Colosseum and Roman Forum then thru Trastevere.....one evening we walked thru area and wished we hadn't eaten yet as all the cafes looked yummy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Really beautiful church. Incredible painting on walls. Wonderful seiling, all in gold, and figure of Virgin Mary right above you. Really wonderful.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Maria in Trastevere also viewed

 

Been to Santa Maria in Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria in Trastevere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Santa Maria in Trastevere to your Saves list