We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't miss it if you're in Trastevere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria in Trastevere

Santa Maria in Trastevere
Piazza Santa Maria in Trastevere, Rome, Italy (Trastevere)
+39 06 581 4802
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$56*
and up
Panoramic Bike Tour of Rome
Ranked #31 of 988 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Dining, Shopping
Attraction details
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
700 reviews
619 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“You can't miss it if you're in Trastevere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This church is very old and the mosaics inside are very beautiful, even if it's not promoted like other churches.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,227
    538
    82
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A place I always love to visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Set in a lovely piazza,this church is one of my favourites. It is beautifully decorated and has so much atmosphere. It was Nov. 1 when I visited and the many people there for the holyday made it very special.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent mosaics!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Visiting Santa Maria in Trastevere was THE adventure of our Roman holiday. Located walking distance from Isola Tiberio (Tiber Island), I recommend carrying a GPS. This beautiful cathedral isn't on most bus tours, probably because the ancient streets restrict large vehicles. However, it is well worth the trek. The GPS is for finding your way back out of this quaint neighborhood as we encountered numerous other tourists, who were lost just like us. (We do not recommend the old school method of leaving a trail of breadcrumbs to follow back.)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Oldest church in Rome...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Beautiful area and what I believe is the oldest church in Rome. Sit by the fountain outside the church and watch the people go by. This area is also fantastic to go out in the evening, beautiful trattorias and bars, and more authentic than the ones you might find in the center.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldenbuch, Germany
Level Contributor
255 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Gem of a Church and worth the trek to get there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Tucked in the little streets across the river from the bustle of main city Rome, this church is a GEM OF A FIND and really worth seeing. Not many tourists but still quaint shops lead you to this church. The church is topped with golden paintings and the inside is no let down. Beautiful paintings from ceiling to wall to floors. I am really happy I made the trek to see this place and highly recommend getting there!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Maria in Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria in Trastevere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.