We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Sopra Minerva

Santa Maria Sopra Minerva
Piazza della Minerva 42, Rome, Italy
06 6793926
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 753 Attractions in Rome
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Churches/ Cathedrals
Attraction Details
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Def dont skip out on this church i know you are probably thinking too many churches to see but each church is unique with the art and structure. Dont feel that you have to give the guy opening the door money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    214
    29
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the most ancient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I know in Europe you see tons of churches and castles but don't leave this one out. It is very old and the little old priest was very nice to talk with.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fully Realized”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Of the many great churches I've visited in Rome so far, this had made the best impression. It seems complete. The apses and chaples are all finished and executed in beautiful harmonious style. This ise what an important church should look like.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Make sure that you see the Michaelangelo statue of Christ, and the elephant statue outside is great fun!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“One of my fav finds in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had not planned on this stop... had become 'lost' enjoying the area ..

what a gift to enjoy this place

so very special .. in so many ways

I def recommend you try to visit


:)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Maria Sopra Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Sopra Minerva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.