We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cimitero Acattolico per Stranieri

Cimitero Acattolico per Stranieri
Via Caio Cestio 6, 00153 Rome, Italy (Testaccio)
+39 06 5741900
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Cimitero Acattolico per Stranieri like an insider
Top Rated
$85*
and up
Rome Food Walking Tour
Ranked #65 of 1,442 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Wasn't on our priority list of things to do in Rome but with time we spare we visited this beautiful cemetery, easy to get to as it's just opposite Pyramide Metro station. So glad we went. A peaceful and beautifully kept oasis in an otherwise shabby part of the City. So interesting and informative, we could have spent hours wandering among the gravestones. Even the ones of 'ordinary' people seemed to have a story to tell. Graves dating from 1700s to present day with people from all over the world. A must-do sight.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    87
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I happened upon this cemetery while trying to get a closer view of the nearby Pyramid. This cemetery was beautiful and peaceful. It almost seemed as something out of a dream. I spent a few hours looking at the head stones, statues and monuments. I also thought about the lives these people lived and what things must have been like for them.

I'm actually glad the pyramid was under construction/restoration or I would not have happened upon this place.

*There is no fee, but a donation in requested.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
170 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“surprisingly interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This was on my 'B' list of places to visit but i found it more interesting than I'd expected, maybe because I'd visited the Keats-Shelley museum the day before. Very well kept place and helpful staff in the information centre with plenty of timid cats wandering about. Besides Keats and Shelley, Gramsci and Greg Corso were worth seeing but there's many other sad and moving head stones of those some might consider to be lesser mortals. 3 euros donation worth it to maintain a beautiful little place. The entrance is on Caio Cestio accessed from Via Marmorata, don't make the same mistake i did and walk around the entire perimeter from Piramide metro station as it's a bit seedy down Viale del Camp Boario

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“You must go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I must first admit that I am most fond of cemeteries in general, and always make a point of researching and visiting one in every city that I visit...but this one will capture your heart and soul. Yes, there are the famous, Keats, Goethe, Tennyson...and many others, but there are many, many simple testaments of love lost, regret, and faithful loyalty from the "common heart". Find the tender testament of a parents absolute devotion to a young abandoned bride whose husband refused to give her a proper burial in a foreign land...the beloved son suffering from TB who rests with his faithful dog at his side on the lovely marker and epitaph, the sculptor who carved a grieving angel as his last work of art for his beloved wife's memorial..and then never carved another monument again before joining her in death a few months later..or the homage to the soldiers who went down with their ship....Yes, I know where I would like to spend my eternal rest...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and restful site--with cats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Although we visited many of the majors sites in Rome, this place is one that I still think most about. It has the graves not only of Keats and Shelley, but of many people from around the world who wanted to study art--be it music, painting, literature, or architecture--in the city. They died here and their loved ones erected monuments to their accomplishments or aspirations. In addition there are beautiful cats who reside here and are taken care of by volunteers. It's a wonderful place for reflections and peace.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cimitero Acattolico per Stranieri also viewed

 

Been to Cimitero Acattolico per Stranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cimitero Acattolico per Stranieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.