We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ana Serra at Selected Tours = The best there is.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Selected Tours

Selected Tours
via Corsica 45, 00010 Rome, Italy
0039 3496811940
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 888 Activities in Rome
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: My Name is Ana Serra, I am from Gibraltar, I fell in love with this beautiful city whilst on vacation Over ten years ago. It appears the coins I deposited at the Trevi Fountain worked wonders for me. Having previously worked within the tourism sector both in Gibraltar & Spain, it was easy to be drawn by the opportunity to work in this exciting area given Rome’s fascinating wealth of historical buildings, art and culture.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ana Serra at Selected Tours = The best there is.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Ana came highly recommended by some close friends and we couldn't have been happier with the education and experience Ana gave us during our tour. My wife, mother-in-law and I did a full day, 7 hour (turned in to 8) of Vatican City, The Colosseum and The Roman Forum. A few words to describe Ana; delightful, knowledgeable, fun, kind, energetic and honest....just to name a few.

She made the entire tour very easy for all of us, especially with my 74 year old mother-in-law who doesn't speak English (only Croatian) and had to walk at a pace much slower than the rest of us were capable of. At one point, my wife and I split from Ana and my mom-in-law so we could climb to the top of St. Peters. We worried that they wouldn't be able to communicate with each other, but when we found them they were both laughing like old friends. Neither of them knowing a word of each other's language.

Another example of Ana's extraordinary generosity is when I thought I didn't have the right amount of cash on me to pay her at the end of the tour. We are firm believers in tipping for a job well done and the money I had on me was equal to the fee of the tour. Meaning, no extra for a tip. I had already taken out my limit from the ATM for the day and felt really bad about not being able to tip her. On top of that, we needed to take a taxi back to our hotel and taxi's in Rome don't accept credit cards. With out hesitation Ana gave us back 10 Euros, out of her fee, for our cab ride home. I was beyond embarrassed for not planning this out better, but Ana insisted.

We planned on leaving money for her at the hotel to pay her back, plus tip, but she refused. Later that evening, Ana called our hotel and informed me that I had counted incorrectly and actually gave her 20 Euros extra....which made us feel a LOT better. (Even though she deserved a much larger tip)

Clearly Ana doesn't just do this for a living. She has an obvious passion for meeting new people and teaching them about the amazing history of Rome. Her positive attitude and wholehearted kindness made this tour a true highlight of our Italian vacation. Thank you Ana!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ana, the best thing to happen to Rome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Thanks to Ana from selected tours for making my trip to Rome so great, you have a passion and drive that makes you special, you made history come alive with your amazing knowledge, every minute of the tour was exciting and captivating. You are patient, funny and warm with your clients and made us feel very welcome, i will surely return to Rome and hopefully tour with u again, i just wish you could be my guide in every country i visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Want a tour guide packed with knowledge and the warmest disposition ever? Choose Ana Serra!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My family and I booked a tour with Ana Serra this summer of 2012 to see Vatican City, and have not been able to stop talking about the experience since. Upon meeting with Ana, we could have not expected a warmer and kinder greeting, she is simply the most heart warming guide you could ever hope to have during your visit anywhere in Rome. I'm speaking sincerely for myself and for my entire family when I write this and confirm that Ana's tour was the highlight of our holiday. Her kindness, intelligence, humor, hospitality, patience and compassion made our tour of The Vatican an impossible day to forget. I would not have a single complaint and with pure certainty, I give my sincerest recommendations for Ana Serra as your number one choice to tour your desired area in Rome. You will not regret it. We love you Ana, thank you for a spectacular time, keep inspiring people!!! xxxxx

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
1 review
“A-amazing N-nice A-astounding ROME TOUR GUIDE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you want a tour full of fun, passion, excitement, history, love, jokes, laughter, smiles, enjoyment, humbleness and last but not least an OVERWHELMING experience DONT stop to think about it - contact Ana from Selected Tours.
I have never written a review about anyone or anything but this is a MUST - I owe it to all those people who pay to have an unforgettable experience.....TRUST ME!!
If you have kids, you are disabled, you are an elderly person or you are going with a big group, dont let anything put you off - Choose Ana and she will give you what you need.
Contact her for an amazing tour to an amazing city with an amazing guide.

Thankyou Ana.....A memory we will forever cherish...with love, Moreno xxxx

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
1 review
“Visiting Rome? "Ana Serra" the best tour guide to show you Rome's wonders!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Been to places and used tour guides in all but must talk about the best tour guide that beats all, she goes by the name of Ana Serra and she was our guide in Rome. She is absolutely brilliant, she knows her stuff 150% her knowledge of Rome is impeccable in fact to say she is excellent is an understatement. We had teens in our group who would usually get bored within the first half hour of the tour (like teens usually do) well she was such a jovial person that even the teens were enthralled with the way she explained everything she definitely made it worthwhile. Will definitely book with her when next in Rome. Keep up the good work Ana :)) Rome loves you and so do we <3 :)))) xx

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selected Tours also viewed

 

Been to Selected Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selected Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.