We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly apartments so close to the Colosseum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Apollo Hotel to your Saves list
Apollo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dei Serpenti 109, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #261 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Family friendly apartments so close to the Colosseum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Apartments were a short walk from the hotel itself. We were welcomed by a very friendly host who spoke English well. Clean, two bedroom (with large bathroom) apartment with plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 kids (our were 9 & 11). Really close walk to the colosseum. Also opposite a gorgeous little piazza with a fountain where the locals hang out. Heaps of eating options surround at very reasonable prices (1 euro for a slice of awesome pizza). Free wifi. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    174
    42
    11
    9
See reviews for
133
154
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A good location midway between Quirinale and Colosseo, in walking distance of Stazione Termini, yet out of its seedy surroundings. All the trattorie and pubs of Quartiere Monti are nearby. Metro B is also close.

No real lobby. Nice rooftop for an average breakfast (no real fruit juices; no warm dishes; coffee/cappuccino made at an automatic machine).

Clean room with a too soft bed and a somehow dated furniture. No free electrical outlets whatsoever in the room -- for charging your mobile *or* your laptop, you have to unplug the (very small) TV set. Small bathroom. Silence.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano1963, Owner at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank You very much for your review. We hope you enjoyed Rome, Rione Monti and Hotel Apollo at the end of the day.

Many thanks
Your Hotel Apollo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The apartment we stayed at was actually closer to the Colosseum than the hotel itself. Big apartment in a garden setting. Very clean and has 2 flat screen tvs, 1 in the living room, 1 in the bedroom. The apartment has its own wifi, the password is provided by the door. Real good connection. The breakfast is super good. Lots of good morning item choices.Fabulous coffees, cappuccino, espresso, chocolates. The wide variety of cheese selection, lots of bread and danish choices. The breakfast is on the top floor terrace area of the hotel and very beautiful view. Make sure you get the breakfast deal when you book because I ended up calling the site because the receipt I got after booking did not say that breakfast was included, so the customer service re-generated the receipt to include breakfast. Will save you a lot money since food is very expensive.

Room Tip: The apartment is a good deal for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano1963, Owner at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your nice review, we're happy you were satisfied with our breakfast too :-)

Your Hotel Apollo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the apartment at the end of March. We are a family of six with our oldest being sixteen and the youngest, eight. The location was perfect for us as we like to wander around to see the sites of the city. The Colosseum is just down the road, and other sites like the Pantheon and historic churches are easily within walking distance. Delicious food can be had from next door restaurants, and across the street is a small piazza where we would sit and eat gelato. In the evenings, we had the windows open and enjoyed the sounds of people eating and walking outside on the streets.

The apartment itself was comfortable, with two bedrooms and a pullout couch. There were two washrooms, one with a shower. Everything worked and we had no complaints.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, showing us to the apartment, and even printing out our boarding passes. Staff came twice to clean and change the linen.

Given the location and the price, I would highly recommend staying in the apartments. The next time we are in Rome, we will definitely try and book it again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano1963, Owner at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your beautiful words and... Yes, contact us directly when you come back to Rome and tell us you've already been our guests, we'll reserve for you our best offer and treatment!

Many thanks
Your Hotel Apollo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The apartment room we stayed in was about 150 meters walk from the Apollo Hotel (in the direction of the Colesseum, so actually close to the Colesseum). When my wife and two children (10 and 6 yrs old) checked-in, we were a bit surprised that we were given an apartment and not an actual room in the hotel. The apartment had a bedroom with separate living/dining area. It also had a small kitchen (sink, microwave, fridge) in a large cabinet, but we did not utilize. The apartment was clean and we found ourselves quite satisfied there. The location is excellent as it's only about a 5 minutes walk to the Colesseum and there are plenty of shops and restuarants all around. The breakfast was on the roof of the hotel. It was a decent breakfast the basics. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano1963, Owner at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your beautiful words, hope your children enjoyed the apartment and Rome too.

We hope to have you back in Rome soon
Your Hotel Apollo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Very unfriendly staff!! Apartments are 200 m away from the hotel. We arrived at 10 pm and were informed that the apartments are elsewhere only 200 away. There was no sign or nothing written to help us find the apartments. No one came to ask us if everything was ok during our stay, nobody came to clean up! Very disappointed!!! 3 star hotel... The view was really ugly and no natural light in the whole flat.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano1963, Owner at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Having said that it's impossible to please everyone, we are really sorry to read your words. If we were used to receive such bad reviews, we could somehow understand what happened, but since most reviews on our staff are positive, we are surprised to read "Most unfriendly staff ever". It's difficult for us to understand but, please, accept our apologies if something went wrong with your stay.
As concerns our apartments we always propose various solutions with various views and... various prices.

Best regards
Hotel Apollo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

Good location, quiet place; close to colosseum; they have storage luggage service(not really the "locker" service; just give to staffs; they are friendly to watch over luggages for you); so you can go around freely.

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adriano1963, Owner at Apollo Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank You very much for your review, and for appreciating our luggage storage service.

Your Hotel Apollo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: Via Dei Serpenti 109, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#189 Family Hotel in Rome
#317 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Apollo in Rome is a 3 star hotel close to the Colosseum, Imperial Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps. Thanks to its strategic position near Termini main Train Station and close to the Underground Station of "Cavour", Hotel Apollo is your ideal and comfortable solution in downtown Rome. Hotel Apollo Rome provides comfortable and tastefully designed accommodation with modern facilities and services. We offer 24 elegant rooms, guests can choose among single rooms, double rooms, triple rooms and large family rooms. All rooms have been recently renovated and include clean private bathrooms with bath or shower. Rooms are carpeted and furnished with wooden fittings creating a warm homely atmosphere. One Hotel Apollo's plus is undoubtedly its Roof Garden, providing the ideal spot to enjoy a complimentary Italian breakfast on Roman roofs by the Colosseum, before going out to enjoy the city. Another appreciated plus is our Bar opened from 6 pm where you can enjoy a drink and relax after a whole day spent in the eternal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.