We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but internet issues.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Apollo Hotel to your Saves list
Apollo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dei Serpenti 109, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #258 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location but internet issues.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in one of the apartments that is down the street from the actual hotel. It has one separate bedroom and a pull out bed in the living room area which our two teenagers slept in. There is a kitchenette area with small stovetop, refrigerator, and dishes. The location is great - very close to the Colosseum, other ruins, and many good restaurants. You feel like a local because the rest of the building is regular apartments where normal people live. The only problem was that the internet connection never worked correctly (even after the router was replaced) which was an issue for us because my husband and son had work to complete.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    156
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
116
145
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Excellant service. Clean, great location and awesome breakfast provided. Stayed in an apartment down the road from the hotel. Spacious and even closer to the Colosseum than the hotel. Great restaurants and gelato shops on the same road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I looked for a hotel close to Termini - the part of the Eternal City that I know best - and one where I could come and go with ease, with room enough to work, and with reliable WiFi. It was in early September and the temperature seemed constantly at 32 degrees.
The Apollo was recommended and matched all points really well. WiFi was a slight disappointment as it didn't work in the room. However, downstairs it was quick and reliable - though the username and password combination was unnecessarily complicated. That was the fault of the server, not the hotel's.
Rooms are small in Rome hotels, but this was adequate and kept very clean. The hotel staff members were exceptional. 99% of them were extraordinarily helpful, and particularly the room maid people.
A very comfortable stay and grateful thanks to the hotel workers, smiling and obliging, for keeping up their cheery welcome.

Room Tip: I booked through an agent, but they have good offers on their website with photos that reveal the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed there for 6 nights in april.
Good position of the hotel close to Colosseum, metro station and not very far for the Central Station. In the neighborhood there are some restaurants were you can have your meal.
We had a beautiful apartment with a huge terrace in the same building with the hotel, but with a separate entrance.
The suite (one bedroom and a living/dining room) was nice furnished, except the cooking facilities (no coffee maker, kettle or micro vawe; the minibar to small considering the selfcaterig for the breakfast). The WiFi was pretty good, but we had problems with the TV set that didn’t work and they were not able to fix that during our entire stay, althought we asked this two times.
Room was kept very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
To sum up, the hotel (and especially the apartment we stayed in) is not bad and we may consider to come back someday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Glad to find the Apollo Hotel and apartments so that we did not have to book two hotel rooms for our family of five which includes three teenage boys. We were placed in an apartment a few blocks from the main hotel. There was a spacious bath with a very small cylindrical shower situated in the bathtub, a queen bedroom with a single as well and a pull out sofa in the living room. The furnishings were standard mid century modern, adequate and comfortable but overall the apartment itself was not charming although the building and interior courtyard you traverse to arrive at your apartment were old and charming. Did the job in that it was clean and comfortable, had wi fi and ac and was incredibly close to the Coliseum. In addition, the neighborhood features several restaurants and gelato shops frequented by locals and a city square where locals gather by the fountain every evening which adds vibrancy and entertainment to the locale. Very close to metro as well.

Room Tip: Breakfast on the rooftop at the main hotel is a great value and, although not included when staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This review is for an apartment rented out by the hotel rather than for the main part of the hotel.

Our experience was generally very good.  Our apartment was 3 blocks from the main part of the Hotel Apollo (3 blocks closer to the Coloseum--nice windows, but no view).  It comprised 4 modern rooms, including 2 large bedrooms, 1 multipurpose room (kitchen/sitting room/dining room), and 1 marble-tiled bathroom.  The multipurpose room had a pull out couch.Everything was spotless.  It is a very nice place to stay, especially if no one has to sleep in the multipurpose room so it can be a true common area.

Downsides:

1. Distance from hotel.
We had a few minor issues that needed to be taken care of.   Eg, the previous renters reset the router and we couldn't get on the internet at first. The hotel staff resolved the issues quickly, but it took several trips to the front desk, which in our case was 3 blocks away. Having the hotel staff closer is much more convenient if something goes wrong.

2. One key.
There was only one key, making coming and going really difficult unless everyone stays together. To complicate things, the apartment was in a building that has a locked outer door and no way to ring the inner apartment.  If everyone in your party has a phone, it is slightly easier because you can call your friends inside and tell them to let you in. If no one is in the apartment and you don't have the key?? If people thought about it before they all went out, they could have left the key at the hotel desk, but that is 3 blocks away. It just makes it hard.

3. The apartment building is like a maze inside. The hotel should have a diagram prepared for guests, but they just draw a little diagram for you and it is not easy to find the apartment.

Once you get these downsides ironed out, the Hotel Apollo apartment is a fantastic place to stay. I would stay there again in a heart beat. But don't just go for an overnight--stay multiple days. Otherwise you may use up part of your short time in Rome figuring out how to deal with these issues.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Apollo Hotel for two nights while we were touring Rome. I found the accommodation to be superb, the staff incredibly friendly and the hotel was perfectly situated. The breakfast was out of this world. I would without a doubt recommend this hotel to friends and family, and when I next visit Rome I already know where I will be staying - the Apollo Hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room on Via Serpenti. With a mere turn of the head to the left, you'll be staring at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: Via Dei Serpenti 109, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#225 Family Hotel in Rome
#258 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Apollo in Rome is a 3 star hotel close to the Colosseum, Imperial Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps. Thanks to its strategic position near Termini main Train Station and close to the Underground Station of "Cavour", Hotel Apollo is your ideal and comfortable solution in downtown Rome. Hotel Apollo Rome provides comfortable and tastefully designed accommodation with modern facilities and services. We offer 24 elegant rooms, guests can choose among single rooms, double rooms, triple rooms and large family rooms. All rooms have been recently renovated and include clean private bathrooms with bath or shower. Rooms are carpeted and furnished with wooden fittings creating a warm homely atmosphere. One Hotel Apollo's plus is undoubtedly its Roof Garden, providing the ideal spot to enjoy a complimentary Italian breakfast on Roman roofs by the Colosseum, before going out to enjoy the city. Another appreciated plus is our Bar opened from 6 pm where you can enjoy a drink and relax after a whole day spent in the eternal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.