We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, very close to everything.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Apollo Hotel to your Saves list
Apollo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dei Serpenti 109, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #258 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel, very close to everything.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Apollo hotel in Rome, on July 19th and 20th. We were very pleased with the service and the hotel. Close to Via Nazionale and Coloseo, walking distance to everything. Very clean and the staff very polite and helpful. The price reasonable for being in Rome. We recommend this hotel to other travelers, don't expect big rooms and big elevator but you need to understand you are in the heart of a 2000 year old city. While in Rome don't leave without visiting The Vatican City. The art is unbelievable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    155
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
115
145
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was disappointed..room was small and AC did not cool very well on a hot June day in Rome. Rooftop terrace for breakfast looks a lot better in the photo than in reality. Fair breakfast. Not a good value for the price,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We are a family with 4 teenagers and stayed in a 2 BR apartment.

The apartment was modern and well appointed, allowing us to eat in as well as eat out at the many restaurants nearby.

It certainly exceeded our expectations and was great value. It was well located next to the train station (but no noise) or a short walk to buses. The proximity to the Colosseum was great and we wandered up there each night which was great viewing, all lit up.

The hotel staff were very pleasant, and the breakfast was great value.

Be aware that the apartment is a few minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had booked an apartment for 3 nights. We arrived very early in the morning and I had lost my purse at the airport. The hotel clerk on duty was extremely helpful and we luckily enough managed to get the purse back! We were also offer free breakfast when waiting for the room and he also lend us money to get to the airport. First class service. When we finally got to check into the apartment it was a fair bit from the main building and there is no mean to contact the reception but walking up there. The apartment was dull, with a very small balcony. It was however functional and the in a superb location, with a fantastic family owned restaurant in the same building. Just a couple of minutes by foot to the Colosseum. Pricey for the standard and if we would probably chose another hotel if returning..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This family-run hotel is a good value and I have no hesitation in recommending it. Yes, it's true that there can be mix-ups and room changes, etc. This is Italy! That stuff happens all the time in Italy and you just have to be able to roll with it. Our room was clean, our bathroom was very nice, the location is great and the price was right. I didn't have any problems with the front desk or the staff, who were all very nice and helpful. Breakfast was sufficient for our needs, no frills, and the coffee was great. When we first arrived we wanted to turn up the A/C because we walked from the Termini train station with our luggage and we were pretty hot. But as the A/C is central, we couldn't change it from our room. No biggie, we opened the window and let some air in, and after we enjoyed the surrounding area for a few hours the room was a comfortable temperature and we slept just fine. Again, this hotel is a great value. You can always spend more if you want to, but Hotel Apollo is perfectly fine for most peoples' needs.

Room Tip: As others have noted, the hotel also uses nearby apartments so you could find yourself staying there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was my first trip to Rome and I selected the Apollo based on TripAdvisor reviews. If everything went smoothly with the Apollo I would rate it OK at best. There is NO reason this hotel should be rated a 4.5 out of 5 on TripAdvisor. Location is great, but there are hundreds of hotels between the Colosseum, the Tiber River and the Spanish that all have great locations. All hotels in this area are within a reasonable walking distance of almost all sites (10 – 15 minute walk).

Pros: reasonably clean, reasonable breakfast, and location.
Cons: interior is dated, beds & bedding are horrible, towels are literally as thin as a table cloth, staff speaks minimal English, no bar (the room is not active used), air conditioning is weak, and wifi is weak.

Above is my review if everything went ok; my stay did not go ok.

My experience:
I booked my hotel directly on the Apollo website months before traveling. When I showed up the desk clerk informed me that we would not be staying in the hotel but at an apartment down the street. He did not speak English well enough for me to fully understand what was going on. We tried to resist our placement in the apartment but the desk clerk spoke minimal English and I do not speak Italian, so he started walking and told us to follow. We dragged our heavy bags a few hundred yards down cobblestone streets to an apartment. The apartment was full of the previous owners stuff (hundreds of books, tool boxes, art work, dishes, etc.). I don’t know if the Apollo was renting this place from the owner, or if the owner had passed away and the old stuff was not cleared out. I questioned the clerk about the stuff, but he handed us the key and walked away.

We eventually got over this very strange situation and settled into the apartment. On the 4th day we went out to sites in the morning and came back to the apartment early afternoon. The maid was in the room and she told us we had to check out. She was a very nice woman but her English was very limited and was clearly confused as to why we were still in the apartment. I walked down to the hotel to ask what was going on. I was told by a different desk clerk that they needed the apartment, so we had to move into the hotel. Once again I tried to resist but the clerk’s limited English and my nonexistent Italian prevented us from having a full conversation. The clerk gave us a half hour to pack up before we had to move back to the hotel. The hotel room was not bad but is NOT a 4.5 out of 5.

This clearly is not a professionally run hotel.

Overall we had a fantastic time in Rome and everything could have been worse. The Hotel Apollo is OK at best, and BAD if you are treated the way we were. My suggestion is to spend the extra 20 – 30 euro a night to upgrade to a nicer hotel, it is definitely worth it. Don’t be fooled by the 4.5 out of 5, this hotel should be rated no higher than 3 out of 5.

Room Tip: Upgrade from a couple extra Euros to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

From the airport, took the Leonardo Express train direct to Roma termini station, and a 10/15 minute walk, mostly downhill with our suitcases to the hotel. Great situation close to the Colosseum and walking distance to main attractions such as Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, via Veneto, Roman Forum. A good area too, with a lively Piazza a few yards away, with bars & restaurants. The hotel itself is OK. very clean and comfortable. Good breakfast on the rooftop. Spent 2 nights here & at over 200 euros a night for a 3 star hotel, seemed a bit pricey, but I suppose that's normal for Rome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: Via Dei Serpenti 109, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#222 Family Hotel in Rome
#257 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Apollo in Rome is a 3 star hotel close to the Colosseum, Imperial Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps. Thanks to its strategic position near Termini main Train Station and close to the Underground Station of "Cavour", Hotel Apollo is your ideal and comfortable solution in downtown Rome. Hotel Apollo Rome provides comfortable and tastefully designed accommodation with modern facilities and services. We offer 24 elegant rooms, guests can choose among single rooms, double rooms, triple rooms and large family rooms. All rooms have been recently renovated and include clean private bathrooms with bath or shower. Rooms are carpeted and furnished with wooden fittings creating a warm homely atmosphere. One Hotel Apollo's plus is undoubtedly its Roof Garden, providing the ideal spot to enjoy a complimentary Italian breakfast on Roman roofs by the Colosseum, before going out to enjoy the city. Another appreciated plus is our Bar opened from 6 pm where you can enjoy a drink and relax after a whole day spent in the eternal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.