We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll stay here again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domus Julia

Domus Julia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Domus Julia to your Saves list
Domus Julia
Via Rasella 32, 00187 Rome, Italy (Trevi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #580 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I'll stay here again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2004

Excellent location. It's a 2 minute walk to the Barbarini Metro stop, less than 5 to the Trevi Fountain. Lots of restaurants nearby.

The room was very spacious and a good bargain. Very private. However, there is definitely some street noise, so closing the windows at night might be helpful.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2004

We (two adults-two girls seven and 11 years old) stayed at Domus Julia three days in June/July this year and it was a very good experience. We had a large triple with an extra bed on the first floor. Wooden beams in the ceiling, beautiful furniture, good aircon, beautiful large bathroom. The hotel reception is in Hotel Julia next door, where you find the always smiling and helpful Rosa. We went over to the hotel for an ok black-coffee-an-croissant-brekafast. The location is also perfect. Just five minutes from Fonatana di Trevi and most of Rome's sights within walking distance. We just had a wonderful stay here, and would recommend it to anyone. And by the way, we used the pickup service to and from the airport that Rosa provided. Reliable and very convenient when you arrive at Ciampino.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2004

My wife and I stayed here for our last night in Italy on a recent trip. Our previous experience in Rome had been hampered by the terrible Hotel King, so we were a little scared going here (if that was a 3 star, what would this look like?). It was great! The room was huge. It was clean (except the bathtub - could've used a little more work), the furniture - although not fancy - was new and kept well. The people were very nice and helpful. They easily arranged for a van to take us to the airport. Breakfast could've been better (even their espresso and cappucino was bad), but all in all it was a very good experience. I would definately recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2004

Stayed in June for 2 nights and loved it. It is actually a converted apartment so there is a shared entry lobby area and three rooms off of it. Our room was very spacious and quite cozy. It felt like an apartment in itself. The hotel next door, Hotel Julia, is related to this one so all the amenities of it are offered to the Domus's guests and the staff were very helpful. They actually have someone come serve you breakfast in your "room" (the lobby is more like a kitchen), although we were unable to try it due to our early start on the day. I think this would be the perfect place for a couple families to come and stay together, renting out the whole apartment. We stayed in our rooms and never saw another guest but it would be great to leave the doors open and have one open apartment and simply retire to the individual rooms at night. Overall we really liked it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2004

The Domus Julia was all that it advertised, quaint, clean, centrally located and with a fabulous ambience. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2004

We stayed at the Domus Julia December 17th-21st, 2003. The price came to about $145/night because the dollar was way down at the time. We had a deluxe room on the front of the building with a view over the street.
This was very large, clean, had a wonderful bed and bathroom. Rosa (the owner or manager) was wonderful and so friendly in welcoming us to the Domus. My brother stayed here for 3 nights and his room was much smaller, but had a balcony on the back. We were served breakfast in bed and felt like we had our own apartment in Rome. It is a 5 minute walk to the Trevi fountain and in a lovely quiet neighborhood. We had a great meal around the corner at the highly recommended Colline Emiliane... Domus Julia is a gem and we would absolutely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2003

We are a group of friends - three couples, who go away twice a year to locations across Europe. We are all well seasoned tourists and spend a lot of time checking out reviews on the Hotels we stay in. Domus Julia didn't have any reviews but their website, gave such a good impression that we threw "caution to the wind".What we needed were three deluxe large bedrooms close to each other, with on suite facilities. We received lots of quotes from other Hotels which, were at least 50% more expensive than the 440 Euros we paid per night for this place.What you get is an apartment with a small fully equipped kitchen. Three separate lockable suites, complete with antique wardrobes and wooden floors lead away from the kitchen. One of the suites has a bath and the other two have showers - each of the bathrooms is equipped with luxury marble fittings. All the suites have double glazed windows and those lovely shutters, which are so efficient at blocking out any noise as well as the sun. The front two suites look out into a typical narrow Roman street and the one at the rear looks over the President of Italy's palace.Hotel Julia is next door but they treat the appartment as completely separate. You have your own front door (Three inches thick with a superb dead locking system) plus a video entry phone.Talk about location! There are three restaurants within 50 yards and an excellent shop for cold meats, fresh bread, ground coffee, fresh blood red orange juice etc....The Spanish Steps are five minutes away and all the famous sites are within walking distance, as is the Metro and transport links....You won't believe the quality of the three ice cream shops within minutes of the appartment!Hotel Julia organised our taxi to Campanino Airport for 70 Euros and Rosa (who spoke excellent english) just couldn't have been more helpful. She made excellent recommendations for restaurants and was a mine of information.All in all, having read the horror stories on various websites about highly priced rooms in poor locations, I can only comment that this place is an absolute delight. I am pretty sure they would rent out the rooms separately but the appartment is ideal for families or small groups...I think they have two floors, with a total of six rooms in Domus Julia..If that's not enough I suppose that you will have to check out Hotel Julia next door.If you do book there, mention to Rosa that MAX FROM ENGLAND had such a great time with his group of friends in October, that he just had to recommend it...I am pretty sure that we might be popping back next year so it would be nice to see if anyone has taken up my recommendation!Good luckMax...Bexhill...Sussex...England

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domus Julia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Julia

Address: Via Rasella 32, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #580 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Domus Julia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Julia Rome
Domus Julia Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domus Julia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.