We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza di Ripetta

Save Saved
You added Residenza di Ripetta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residenza di Ripetta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Ripetta, 231, 00186 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #263 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Mtarfa, null, Malta
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of August. We found the staff to be really really friendly and helpful, especially the ones at reception. Our room was always clean and it was spacious too. We stayed here for 120 euros a night for two people - there was a special offer back then, the hotel is dead central. We really enjoyed our stay there. The breakfast was ok - cakes were a bit dry and scrambled eggs a bit runny but ok on the whole. Lovely peaceful gardens made having breakfast in Rome quite special. Would love to come back here one day. :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
we wish to thank you for the time spent writing this nice comment on the Tripadvisor website; we are really pleased to learn that our staff has gone above and beyond, offering you such a pleasant experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Residenza di Ripetta.
Truly Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    125
    49
    21
    18
See reviews for
86
148
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just back from stay in the Via de Ripetta Hotel. My two daughters, and two sister-in-laws stayed in three rooms at this fine Hotel. Had a great time staying in Hotel. Great location, upgraded on arrival to bigger room, facilities were fantastic. Breakfast superb. Staff first class. In a fabulous location, near to all the great sites in Rome, also beside the best shopping areas in Rome. Could not fault this Hotel. Will definitely be back. Marie.

Room Tip: Booked through e-bookers. Great price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you again for having chosen our Residenza di Ripetta for your holiday in Rome.
We have been very pleased to learn that you have appreciated the professionality and the dedication of our staff, as well as our location and the facilities we offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Rome.

Truly Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed for a week in 2 big and nice rooms, very clean and quite. Enjoyed the breakfast in the beautiful garden. Our granddaughter on 11/2 year had a lot of fun with the nice staf - and
the rest of the family got a great service from all the staf, incl. the very nice people in the reception - so helpful !!. Very nice area, 100m. from "Piazza d. Popolo", and a short walk up to
"The Borghese Park" - beautiful and a great view over Rome - and for the children a nice ZOO.
Max. 20 minutes walk to "P. Navona" and "Pantheon"
- Fam. Sonne Soerensen, Denmark

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you for having shared your pleasant experience at our Residenza di Ripetta. Your nice comments encourage us to continue this way, with professionality, kindness, and paying attention to our younger Guests.
We hope to have the fortune to welcome you back to Rome.

Truly Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Gianfranco the Manager was terrible. We booked a Duplex Apartment from Melbourne which we paid a premium for given it was supposed to have a fully equiped kitchen and extra room for my two toddlers and elderly parents but we were duped by Gianfranco the Manager, not sure what his title is based upon. He tried to move us to a Royal Junior Suite which was clearly a lower grade and tell us the room was worth more. I was forced to stay in the lounge room on a roll out bed with my two girls crammed in the same room. The kitchenette in the room was not normally used so they "gave us special permission to use it" but honestly it was disgusting from a cleanliness point
of view so we didn't. I understand in Italy being able to cook in a room is a luxury so we opted to pay for that option by paying more to be able to do that. But for the hotel to try and put us in a room which was $300 to $400 cheaper a night and then when I asked to be refunded the difference for the night we were not in the room we booked, be told in actual fact we should pay more, I was disgusted. Warning, just make sure the room you pay for is what you are given.
It is a pity as the location of the hotel is amazing, and when we finally got the room we booked it was fine. But the first night was terrible to say the least and the manager could have easily fixed this but decided to put us through the ringer first. Needless to say I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here in June for a family trip to Rome and could not have been more pleased. The staff was incredibly helpful and attentive to our needs. The rooms were big, comfortable and clean. The hotel is beautiful, especially the outside restaurant and terrace. It is located on what I would consider the perfect Rome street.....nearby to the Piazza del Poppolo, metro, great restaurants within walking distance as well as shops. We even walked to the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps one day. We could not have asked for a better place to stay in Rome. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guests,
we wish to thank you for having chosen our Residenza di Ripetta for your holiday in Rome. Thank you for the nice words you have written about our staff, our central location and the services we offer.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Rome.
Sincerely Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel is a great place with well appointed rooms and the upgrade was appreciated. The staff were attentive and friendly. Further the restaurant has some of the best steaks in Rome. Sadly we had some cash stolen from a bag within a bag at the back of the wardrobe. The hotel were supportive and we reported it to the police. A real shame because the hotel, staff and location are great. Having just read of another theft in the room, I think they need to find the culprit.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you for the preference given to our Residenza di Ripetta for your stay in Rome. We are glad to learn that you have appreciated the services features, as well as the dedication and the professionality of our staff, even in critical circumstances; unfortunately our hotel can not be considered responsible for valuables not locked in the safes, which are installed in every suite.
We invite you to return to Rome, as our Valued Guests.
Truly Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our 4 night stay at this hotel was such a treat. Like many other reviewers, we were given a room upgrade which provided more space than our previous two hotel rooms combined, and then some. The location is fantastic, as it is within walking distance of many sights but also close to the bus stop (#117 straight to the Colosseum) and metro (to Ottavio for Vatican City), both of which are quick and convenient trips. Breakfast in the courtyard was fantastic and quite a spread, including hot items (eggs, bacon, sausages) in addition to the standard but delicious cold items. Wait staff was very friendly and the fresh cappuccinos were a delight each morning. Front desk staff members were all very friendly and helpful and provided directions, taxi reservations, and advice (we saved quite a bit of money by not purchasing a Roma Pass because of sage advice from the front desk). My only recommendations: make the TV easier to operate for basic tv-watching; provide free wifi from the rooms and not just in the public courtyard/lobby. We hope to be able to stay here again one day!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Annibali-GM, Direttore at Residenza di Ripetta, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having shared your experience on the Tripadvisor website. We are very pleased to read that you appreciated our centrally, but silent location and all features offered by our Residenza di Ripetta.
Our staff has a huge knowledge of Rome and what it offers to the foreigners and is well trained to assist our Guests and suggest the best way to enjoy the Eternal City.
We are glad to inform you that we are planning an upgrade of the TV and wi-fi systems.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Truly Yours,
Samuele Annibali
General Manager
Residenza di Ripetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residenza di Ripetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza di Ripetta

Address: Via di Ripetta, 231, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
#109 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#244 Family Hotel in Rome
#283 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza di Ripetta 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right around the corner from Piazza del Popolo and the Spanish Steps is one of Rome’s most charming secret hideaways: Residenza di Ripetta. This oasis of peace and tranquility is nestled in one of the capital’s most famous former convents, a stunning 17th century structure that embraces a verdant inner courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Escapio, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Residenza di Ripetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Di Ripetta Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza di Ripetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.