We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Neighborhood/Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Maria to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Maria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy (Trastevere)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #4 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique Neighborhood/Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

Good people, if you're looking for a great hotel and you are overwhelmed by the sheer number in Rome you are reading your last review because you have found your place.

My wife and I stayed at this quaint hotel, a former cloister in early January 2009. It is located in the Trastevere area of Rome which is across the Tiber River (Trastevere actually mean 'across the Tiber) from most of the major sites (Colisseum, Forum, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Piazza Navonna, etc.) It is an easy walk to any of these sites. You may have to walk a little further to some of these sites than if you stayed in central Rome but you would miss out on great views of the Tiber River and an authentic Roman neighborhood experience. Also, Hotel Santa Maria is an EASY busride on the #23 to The Vatican. The walk to the Colisseum is about 30 minutes and the walk to the The Vatican is also about 30 minutes in the other direction.

Hotel Santa Maria is an oasis in the middle of Trastevere. This part of Rome is less commercial and has been described as crusty or gritty but don't be scared off by these descriptions. If we had stayed in any of the other hotels we passed along a more beaten path, we would have missed this experience. The area around the hotel has narrow, cobbled stone streets and at night is very well lit. At NO POINT did we ever feel unsafe which is a concern for some people when they go to a foreign city and don't know the area where they are staying.

Once you enter the green gate from the street and walk down past the ivy-covered wall that leads to the front door, you feel like you are in a different world. It is secluded, quiet, inviting and comfortable. If we had been there with warmer weather we would have spent more time hanging out in the courtyard after a long day of sightseeing. Mid January isn't prime hanging out weather in Rome.

The rooms are comfortable and clean. They are not huge but how big a room does a monk or a tourist need? The bathrooms are modern and clean and the water pressure in the shower is hard and relaxing. They give you fresh towels everyday and make up the room. There is also a safe in the room.

The hotel provides breakfast in the morning from 7:30 until 10am. Everything from pastries, yogurt, cereal and fruit to eggs and breads. There is also a choice of juice.

The hotel has a computer with internet access but the time it is available is limited. I think you can't use it until noon. Not sure why.

Trastevere is also a good place to find food. The hotel staff is good at recommending restaurants in Trastevere. You must try either Taverna Trilussa or ai Fionaroli. (I'm going from memory here on the names but I know I'm close on the spelling)

It seems like I should put some detracting qualities about this because no hotel ever gets it exactly right. For us, however, it was a perfect little place with helpful, courteous staff and no problems.

I highly recommend this place to anyone heading to Rome and wanting a quiet, clean place to stay.

Also, you'll love hearing the church bells in the neighborhood ring. A nice touch.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,548
    430
    42
    15
    12
See reviews for
422
756
49
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Santa Maria for two nights after Christmas. We enjoy walking, and the hotel's location was perfect: 15 minutes to the Vatican, 20 minutes to the Collosseum, 20 minutes to the Spanish steps, etc. We loved the Trestavere neighborhood and ate dinner there both nights, and the hotel itself is very comfortable and welcoming. Our only regret was not being able to stay longer.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — ??
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Great location in Travestere. Away from the crowds but close enough to walk to main attractions.

Nice courtyards open to the sky. Well done breakfast every morning.

Beds and showers were very comfortable. Our selection of room was the smallest of those offered. Would choose larger room next time.

Staff very nice and helpful

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

We've had a really great time in Rome, starting every day with a fantastic breakfast at the hotel.
The location of the hotel Santa Maria is ideal: peacefull, at walking distance of the most interesting places to visit, and surrounded by bars & restaurants for a perfect evening.

  • Liked — breakfast, peace, location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

We stayed at the hotel based on TA reviews. We found prices much less in Trastevere (food, drink, souvenirs, lodging) than we experienced in Piazza Navono, Veneto, and Spagna. We would definitely return.

Pros's:
For 170 Euros/night for a double room including a fairly substantial breakfast and evening snacks (pay for drinks,) this hotel was a good value. I e-mailed the hotel to obtain reservations for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day dinners, since I was concerned that not many places would be open) and the hotel graciously made arrangements which they confirmed back to me by e-mail. The rooms are cozy, but very clean, with good towels (no washcloths, as usual in Italy.) Many, many resto's, pizzerias, and trattorias within blocks. Reception and breakfast servers all spoke good English. We arrived around 10:30 am, and were allowed to check into our room early and were offered coffee and snacks from the breakfast table. We felt safe, as the streets were full of people at all hours, and there were also mounted police.

Con's:
Thin walls, floors meant that we could hear the guest in the room above us typing late at night. When our neighbors staggered in after midnight, we heard every word--take earplugs if you sleep lightly. The rooms have flat-screen televisions, but no clocks. We asked the hotel to reconfirm the arrangements I had made with Rome Cabs (by e-mail from the US,) but the receptionist refused, saying he "could only call his own taxi service" (which at 55E to FCO is much more expensive than Rome Cabs at 45E or the flat/fixed Rome Taxi rate of 40E.) I was stunned by the attitude, since his colleague had been so helpful with resto reservations! The graffitti in this area is overwhelming, and the locals seem happy to throw trash anywhere.

  • Liked — Hotel ambience, location, breakfast/happy hour
  • Disliked — receptionist would not confirm cab arrangements with Rome cabs
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

Our travel agent reccommended the Hotel Santa Maria using his personal experience of the hotel and the area of Trastevere. There could not be a better Rome experience! The hotel is in a perfect location allowing guests to walk out the door and be on cobbled streets dripping with atmosphere yet walking distance to all of Rome's major tourist sights. Guest become part of the neighbourhood almost instantly. If you want more than just seeing the sights of Rome and are looking to feel Rome this is the area to be in. The hotel itself could use a little updating, mainly some paint. The staff are excellent. accommodating and helpful. Thank you to our experienced agent, www.lovetotravel.ca, for directing us to the Hotel Santa Maria, it made our Christmas holiday in Rome perfect!

Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

The Santa Maria was highly recommended by a friend, and she was so right! We loved the location, from which we walked almost everywhere, and had great access to restaurants and evening activities. But the Hotel itself is secuded and peaceful, a great haven in the midst of the city. The staff was amazing and very helpful with all of our questions and needs. And the atmosphere is authentically Roman, which was why we were there! It was a completely delightful experience and WELL worth the cost.

  • Liked — An authentic Roman setting, staff was very helpful, room was very comfortable, location perfect.
  • Disliked — we liked everything, it set the perfect tone to enjoy our stay in Rome.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#5 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere.A true oasis of tranquillity immersed in an intricate labyrinth of colourful and brigth narrow streets.From the hotel, guests can easily walk to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with parking available in the courtyard, or in a garage next to the entrance of the hotel.Internet (free access) The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan.You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room.If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposalin the Lounge Bar.Bicycles (free of charge) The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome.The Staff You may refer to them regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Antonio, Arianna, Tiziana, Chiara, Pasquale, will always be ready and avaliable to assist you to the best of their ability.Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile.Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.