We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Finale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Maria to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Maria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy (Trastevere)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #4 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great Finale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our family of six stayed in one room with a loft (room 21) for one night at the end of our 10 trip to Europe. I decided to spend a little more since it was our last night and we could all fit in one room. I was thoroughly pleased with out choice. The check in process was very easy. The courtyard of the hotel was very quaint. Our room was spacious and clean. The bathroom came with complementary toiletries, a bidet, and a large shower/tub and a large "farmhouse" type sink. The loft, up a small spiral staircase, was a perfect retreat for two of our teenage girls. The beds were arranged appropriately for our party and the room was nicely decorated. After exploring the Trastevere neighborhood (which is fantastic by the way) we returned to the happy hour. And happy we were, there was free antipasta: olives, artichoke hearts, pasta salad, and bruschetta. We were introduced to refreshing Spritzes (Amperol, Prosecco, and club soda) served at the attractive little lobby bar and enjoyed them in the courtyard under the orange trees (which were laden with oranges). Perfect! My only regret was that I could not pay for these with my credit card as we had settled our room rate early since we were leaving early the next morning. This seemed unusual and was inconvenient in that I had to spend some of our last Euros on the drinks which I was saving for a cash only restaurant (Da Lucia) where I had wanted to eat dinner. The desk receptionist said that she did not care for the restaurant due to some poorly cooked pasta she had there and sent us to La Fruschetta instead, calling them and confirming that they took credit cards. Well, this turned out to be a great recommendation. It was filled with locals, oozed with character, and our food was fabulous. Problem solved. Our stay was easy and enjoyable. We had no problem with the reservation process and the staff was helpful in arranging for our early morning airport transportation. As we missed our included breakfast they packed a breakfast-to-go for us which carried us over until our inflight snack. We were extremely satisfied with our stay and my only regret was that we did not have another night to spend there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,547
    429
    42
    15
    12
See reviews for
421
755
49
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the end May in this enchanting little hotel. With its unique setting in the middle of a typical City block, set around the cool shade of its own orange grove, once you step thorugh the gates you really do enter a small, sheltered oasis. Rooms and the hotel are all clean and tidy with first class house keeping and service. The atmosphere is efficent but relaxed. Breakfast offers a good array of fare with the local pastries, bread and of course the coffee not to be missed. There are some fanstastic restaurants and bars right on the door step - don't miss Augusto in the next street for home cooked, authentic Roman cuisine at very reasonable prices, but do get there early to avoid the line of locals that builds up from 8pm! Within easy walking distance of all the main sights this really is a perfect choice as a base for exploring all that Rome has to offer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Junior Mansard suite which is great but its sloping ceilings would make it awkward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Paris
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The best thing is the location in the middle of the trastavere area, lots to do on foot around the small streets. The hotel has a marvellous atmosphere and the courtyards are very pretty.The staff were very helpful and friendly. I had a problem with my iphone charger and they went out of their way to find a way to help me keep my iphone charged. I had a suite as originally we were two people then I was by myself in the end so I offered, myself, to downgrade to a simple room in case someone could make better use of the room but the staff said not to worry. The breakfast was good with a nice choice of croissants, fruit, meats/cheeses, juices etc and the staff were nice and friendly. The coffee was excellent!-Even the receptionist turned into a part time Barista :-) The air conditioning worked well and didn't get switched off when you were not in the room, in the hot summer heat in Rome this was greatly appreciated. The beds were comfortable. I am already telling all my friends to go to this hotel. Other reviews talk about the charm of this hotel and that is so true, its really pretty and the courtyards are atmospheric under the orange trees, in the much needed shade. I wish I could have stayed longer but had things to do around Rome! The photos you see on the site really reflect the nice place.

A small note is that the suite is under the eaves, so for many people maybe they would have to pay attention to not hit their head. In the bathroom the access into the shower/bath was a little difficult due to a screen being 2/3 across the bath with 1/3 open to give access, as the bath was high it was difficult for someone with joint problems to get in.

Room Tip: Be careful about the suite under the eaves if you are tall or you have a lot of people make sure som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed with our two adult daughters in the fabulous hotel. Location perfect, breakfast perfect and welcoming staff. The room quality is excellent , comfy beds and no issues with cleanliness. Every afternoon after a big day in the city we would say let's get back to the hotel for afternoon drinks on the garden area. It's always a nice thought whilst on the travel track to look forward to returning to great accommodation . Thanks for the stay and your hospitality.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We arrived early, after a harried cab ride from Termini, and left our bags as our room was not yet ready. The person checking us in was very helpful regarding the surrounding area (and Rome in general) and had our room ready when promised.
The property is well kept, (with a large gate which is locked at night) with a lovely courtyard area with tables for dining and cocktails, which we used to eat the delicious breakfast the hotel provides each morning. (Do not leave without partaking of the breakfast!)
We had a very quiet, upstairs room, which was comfortable and plenty of space for 2 people.
The WiFi access was complementary and FAST! (As it should be)
The hotel is ideally situated on the south west side of the city and was an easy walk to the Vatican, the Pantheon and many other attractions, cabs were pretty each to find and not terribly expensive and there are tons of great dining options within short distances.
From check-in to check-out, the staff were very friendly and helpful! (And all were able to communicate in English)

Room Tip: As most ground floor rooms were around the central courtyard/outdoor dining area, our 2nd floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Santa Maria Trastavere is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in, dont be put off by the 3 star rating. I was recommended to it by an friend and am so grateful to have discovered this little hidden gem. The hotel is quiet, spotlessly clean with such lovely homely touches, like the snacks with drinks at 5.30 every day. The breakfast was great to and wonderful to sit under the orange trees in a very hot Rome, it reached 43 deg when we were there. Also enjoyed lying upstairs on the terrace reading a book in the shade and having an outdoor shower to cool off when required.
Loved everything about it very easy to reach all the high spots of Rome but lovely to escape to from a hectic Rome. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay in this charming hotel hidden behind a gate on a winding cobblestoned street of lovely Trastevere, a trendy neighborhood across the river from Rome's city center. Our room (actually a 2-bedroom suite) was clean, quiet and comfortable and opened up onto a small orange tree-lined courtyard patio which was connected to a larger one. We discovered a solarium on the roof. We enjoyed breakfast outside every morning, and cocktails from the bar in the late afternoon. And you can borrow bicycles to ride for free. This hotel is walking distance to several shops and restaurants in Trastevere, and crossing the nearby bridges will take you directly to the City Center and all the great sights of Rome. The Vatican is a 20-minute walk away. Hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. This was truly a very cute and charming place, and we are so happy that we didn't select a generic hotel.

Room Tip: Our suite room was #12, which had a king bed in one room connected to two bunk-bed type beds in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#4 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere.A true oasis of tranquillity immersed in an intricate labyrinth of colourful and brigth narrow streets.From the hotel, guests can easily walk to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with parking available in the courtyard, or in a garage next to the entrance of the hotel.Internet (free access) The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan.You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room.If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposalin the Lounge Bar.Bicycles (free of charge) The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome.The Staff You may refer to them regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Antonio, Arianna, Tiziana, Chiara, Pasquale, will always be ready and avaliable to assist you to the best of their ability.Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile.Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.