We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Santa Maria in Trastevere: perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Maria to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Maria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy (Trastevere)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #5 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Santa Maria in Trastevere: perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The staff at this charming and comfortable small hotel is terrific. Every person at the desk and in the cafe/bar is friendly and helpful. They provide directions, call for reservations at restaurants and museums, arrange taxi service to the airport. Depending on the weather, bicycles or umbrellas are offered free of charge. Trastevere is a wonderful place to begin your exploration of Rome and this hotel is at its heart.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,656
    443
    44
    15
    12
See reviews for
469
809
50
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very friendly staff, great suroundings and inviting restaurants in the very center of Trastevere
Beautiful hotel, nice rooms and a quiet garden for relaxing.
Great area to live in and free bikes for enjoying Rome

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We just spent a few nights in November and were very pleased. The price was great. The room was no frills, but very quiant, neat and clean. The complimentary breakfast was a bonus. There was an abundance of local cafes nearby with reasonable prices and good authentic Italian cuisine. The best part was the location. We were able to stroll along the river to the Vatican.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Yes it was the most expensive room stay on our trip but we decided to indulge. The surrounding walkable streets in an area of Rome we hadn't seen, the University district - so delightful. But so close to everything, completely walkable and we felt safe there.
The enclosed gardens with private seating under orange trees as someone else has commented was indeed a bonus. The livingroom style hospitality area was perfect for breakfast each morning and getting a liquor in the evening at the bar. Time for sitting outside with our glass of wine and snacks, meeting other guests from around the world under the orange trees.
All the sounds of the city were blocked by the gardens. Quaint ground floor rooms that were clean and the most comfortable bed on our entire trip. If you'd like to feel l ike a local, this is a place for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in #4 around the corner from the check in office. Air conditioning and large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you can afford it, it's perfect.
Very professional service, quiet rooms despite being in a lively area full of (cheap) restaurants, romantic setting inside and outside of the hotel, comfortable rooms... Just great.

The only drawback is being far from metro stations and historical monuments (but the hotel provides bikes if you have the courage !).
Other than that, perfect service, and Trastevere is an area you don't want to miss.
This hotel even has a great breakfast, rather rare in hotels !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holte, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A total taste of Italy in the narrow and charming streets. Perfect! Very friendly and funny staff.
Walking distance to many sightseeings. Enclosed garden with tables/chairs under the orange trees, safe for kids.

Room Tip: Avoid room no. 2, as other quests pass closely by, and may awaken you. This was the very tiny little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here during our second visit to Rome. We came to like the neighborhood during our first visit, but stayed at this hotel during our second. The staff at the hotel were very nice and accommodating. The location is great and the setting- with a courtyard just off the street is a nice break from the bustle of the city.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Artemide Hotel
Artemide Hotel
#7 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 4,508 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Campo De' Fiori
Hotel Campo De' Fiori
#17 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,750 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#9 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 2,691 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#3 of 1,269 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Relais 6
#19 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#5 Business Hotel in Rome
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere. Our guests can easily walk from the Hotel to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with the parking available at the private Garage next to the Hotel. The Hotel rooms, connected by a monastic portico, face onto an ample and silent garden of orange-trees, flowers and Mediterranean plants, or onto our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines... perfect settings to enjoy your breakfast in the warm and sunny roman days , or just for relaxing after a day of sightseeing The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome. The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan. You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room. If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposal in the Living Room. You can relax in the romantic atmosphere of our bar or our garden with a glass of excellent wine, chosen from the selection of refined Italian wines stocked in our Cellar (from Vermentino di Gallura to Brunello di Montalcino), before you venture out into the narrow streets of Trastevere in search of a good trattoria or restaurant. After site-seeing in the ' Eternal City ' , our rooftop garden, framed by evergreen vines, with lounge chairs facing the sun, awaits you for relaxation in an ambience of refined comfort. You may refer to our Staff regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Tiziana, Arianna, Chiara, Paola, Malina, Pasquale and Alessandro will always be ready and available to assist you to the best of their ability. Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile. Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.