We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem, just across the river” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Maria to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Maria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A real gem, just across the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were completely pleased with our stay at The Hotel Santa Maria, a real gem amidst the activity of Rome. The Trestavere neighborhood provides a glimpse into life in Rome, away from all the tourists. It is a relatively short walk to the sites and provides a clean, comfortable room, a beautiful orange tree garden to start the day with an ample and delicious breakfast. The staff was friendly and most helpful, recommending restaurants in the neighborhood for great food where the locals eat. The afternoon light snack buffet was a bonus. Be sure to take time to get lost wandering the streets of the neighborhood. (We also appreciated the car service for our ride from the airport that didn't cost much more than a cab ride.) This is the place for anyone who wants a delightful, genuine experience in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,437
    410
    42
    16
    13
See reviews for
393
684
42
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in january, and its a peaceful place in Trastevere.
Nice room and very good breakfast with friendly staff.
And a good location, nearby everything.
People told us that is was the wrong side of Tiber, but it was just to pass over the bridge, and then you had Rome in front of you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had two requirements when searching for a hotel in Rome this time; a car park nearby and I wanted to stay in Trastevere. Bingo. Hotel Santa Maria had a car park on site for only 20euro for 24 hours and it was in a small lane way directly accessible to piazza Santa Maria, one of the most beautiful piazza's in Rome (big statement as there are so many) and the heart of Trastevere. It was an intimate hotel with all rooms overlooking a courtyard. Breakfast was one of the best I've had in Italy as the selection was varied. Trastevere can seem quite touristy as most of the restaurants cater with tourist menus, something I find really off putting. But with a bit of walking around it was possible to find some treasures. A bit later in the evenings the number of people flowing from bars into the streets gave the area a really fun atmosphere. I'd stay here again if I was in Trastevere. Good for families as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel santa maria,during our visit in Rome.
The Hotel is in a peaceful location and it is a great starting point to visit the town.
Our room was quiet and clean, the staff was really kind.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed as a family of six, taking two rooms, numbers 20 and 22, both of which worked very well for us. Nice, clean, spacious rooms, quite simply furnished but with everything we needed. Earlier positive reviews say it all, really. Very nice, friendly staff, lovely breakfasts and late afternoon canapés in the courtyard underneath orange trees. The hotel is walking distance of major sites although the staff are happy to arrange taxis for you if walking is a problem. If you want large screen tvs, power showers and a swimming pool then this is not for you but you'd be missing out on a real treat. Our children, aged between 17 and 10, all positively commented on the food, the rooms and, for them, the all-important wi-fi! We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper perhaps ask for a room a little away from the courtyard as you may h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The taxi from Termini couldn't find the hotel but after asking around the Piazza di Santa Maria, we found our way to it quite easily. Other reviews have used the term "oasis" and that is quite accurate. The breakfast was a cut above the typical pastries and coffee and I really appreciated the fact that, unlike most everywhere else in Rome, the staff gave us the option of speaking Italian rather than just assuming we wanted to speak English. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 delightful nights in this beautiful oasis. We got off to a terrible start in that the airline lost our luggage but the staff at the hotel made every effort to ensure that it was eventually located and delivered to us.
I would strongly recommend staying here and would love to return.The location is excellent and I support the positive comments of previous reviewers.Try it and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Address: Vicolo del Piede 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#8 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is an Hotel de Charme located in a 16th century cloister completely renovated in the year 2000 maintaining the flavour of the original construction. It makes a very pleasant base in a romantic and relaxing ambience. The hotel is located in an historical area of central Rome in the heart of one of the most ancient and characteristic neighbourhoods of the city, Trastevere.A true oasis of tranquillity immersed in an intricate labyrinth of colourful and brigth narrow streets.From the hotel, guests can easily walk to the historical and archaeological beauties of the city. It is also possible to drive to the hotel with parking available in the courtyard, or in a garage next to the entrance of the hotel.Internet (free access) The Hotel is Internet connected by secured Wireless Lan.You can comfortably use your PC where you like: at the lounge Bar, in the garden or in your room.If you are travelling without your PC, a computer with free Internet connection is at your disposalin the Lounge Bar.Bicycles (free of charge) The Hotel has a number of bicycles should you wish to cycle through the alleys of ancient Rome.The Staff You may refer to them regarding any problems, desires, or needs you may have. Antonio, Arianna, Tiziana, Chiara, Pasquale, will always be ready and avaliable to assist you to the best of their ability.Their responses will be accompanied voluntarily by a friendly smile.Kind guest, you will be our welcome friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel
Santa Maria Rome
Hotel Santa Maria Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.