We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"When in Rome" this is a great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B La Duchessa A Roma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B&B La Duchessa A Roma to your Saves list
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
Via Duchessa di Galliera 14, Rome, Italy (Gianicolense)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3,092 Rome B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“"When in Rome" this is a great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here in July and enjoyed the B&B tremendously. Daniela and Marco are so lovely. They are committed to ensuring their guests are made feel very welcome. Marco even loaned me his camera when I was in desperate need. Imagine going to the Vatican and not having a camera.
Breakfast was great and enough to keep us going for hours.
Daniela spent time giving us a great overview of her city. She is so proud of. Great people.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, and very colourful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
111
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My brother and I were traveling to Rome for a short three days, but we wish we could have stayed longer because our time at Marco and Daniela's B&B was absolutely amazing. It was by far the best accommodation either of us had ever experienced. The rooms were immaculately clean, the view from their balcony was breathtaking, and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious. After a long day of walking through Rome, it was nice to come back and relax in a beautiful place. In addition to all of their wonderful amenities, one of our favorite parts of the B&B experience was getting to meet Marco and Daniela. As soon as we arrived we felt like we were family. They were so friendly and helpful, and they made sure that we had the best experience possible. They booked dinner reservations for us, explained to us exactly how to get to all the major sights (Tram 8 is down the block!), called a car to take us to the airport, and sat and talked with us about our lives. We will be recommending this B&B to all of our family and friends. Our Rome experience was greatly enhanced by choosing to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

It is difficult to capture in an online review just how special Daniela and Marco made our trip to Rome. For my mother and brother, it was their first trip to Europe and their first visit to our grandparents' home country. Although Rome in late July can be quite a bit crowded and complicated, our time at La Duchessa with Daniela and Marco was nothing but easy and wonderful.

There are many reviews that sing the (well-earned) praises of La Duchessa and the excellent hospitality of its owners. So, if I may, I'd like to just highlight the things that really stood out the most for us. Hopefully, they will give you not an accounting of all the lovely details (of which there are many!), but an impression of the kind of people Daniela and Marco are, and the perfect home they offer in Rome. Please be patient, I'm writing for three!

Here it goes:

- The B&B is in an apartment building, so getting a key to both the front door and the apartments themselves is just wonderful. Makes it feel like you are renting a flat in the neighborhood. (But obviously much, much better--keep reading!) Daniela and Marco live right across the way, so they are frequently close if you need assistance. They also offer options to reach out if you need something and they are out.

- La Duchessa is very near the tram #8 into the historic center of Rome. It's almost door-to-door service from La Duchessa in Trastevere to the end of the line right next to the Vittorio Emanuele monument. It definitely helps to have quick access to the center of town, but still be across the river in a quieter neighborhood. Tickets for trams, busses, and trains can also be purchased easily at several of the Tabbachi and shops at the end of the street.

- La Duchessa is SPOTLESS! No, I really mean it. Daniela was kind enough to let us warm up take-out in the kitchen and keep some groceries and leftovers in the refrigerator. They also offer visitors the opportunity to help themselves to the wines and aperitifs on the shelf in the kitchen. We took advantage of these options several nights and were able to save money eating out (Daniela suggested several delicious places in the neighborhood that let us take out the same food we'd otherwise have eaten at table for a higher price) AND enjoy our dinner al fresco on their beautiful balcony overlooking Rome (which I HIGHLY recommend!). During these nights, Daniela insisted we leave everything in the sink and let her do the washing up. I washed up anyway (of course, she's too kind!), but was completely blown away by how perfectly neat, clean, and un-cluttered everything was--from the cabinets to the cleaning products to food storage. Cleanliness and details matter to Daniela, even the small ones, such as where the dish liquid is kept in the cupboard! It all runs like a dream. : )

- The breakfasts were probably some of the most extensive and most delicious you can get at a B&B in Rome. B&Bs in Italy are limited in what they can serve you (a.k.a. they can't cook made to order food--think a bare minimum of packaged muffins, cereal, juice), especially for folks who are used to eating a meal in the morning. But Daniela excels where the structure could limit things. She has a wide assortment of juices, still or sparkling water, milk, yogurts, cereals, granola, fresh fruit, toast and spreads, nuts, cheeses (including cheese with pistachios!), sliced meats and pastry. Oh the pastry! Daniela either bakes or picks up fresh local croissant and other pastry each day. They're filled with fruit jams and/or cream and chocolate and they are divine. Easily our favorite part of breakfast, if you could not tell. She also makes great espresso and cappuccino with a machine right in the kitchen. And she takes care to get your hot drinks they way you like them (American coffee with a double shot of espresso for mom!), and then remembers and brings them to you that way during your entire stay. The thoughtfulness is greatly appreciated!

- The best part of staying at La Duchessa, however, is clearly Marco and Daniela themselves. During this trip we were not able to make it to southern Italy to see our family there, but it honestly felt like we were visiting long lost cousins anyway, so kind and warm are these two! Marco took to my college-age brother immediately and every time they crossed paths he treated him like his own nephew--a smile, a hug, a joke, some teasing each other in an Italian-English amalgamation. Daniela and my mom enjoyed each other's company as well, talking about Italy, the south, travel, family, food, and the Calabrian dialect. Daniela always had good suggestions in case we didn't factor in all the variables of summer in Rome, was super knowledgable, and really so helpful. As soon as she recognized a question she could not immediately answer, she grabbed her iPad and phone and made sure she found out (and sometimes even made reservations) on the spot. What more could you ask for?


I hope you'll find this (long) review helpful and enjoy your time in Rome!

Buona Fortuna!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

From the moment Daniela and Marco welcome you to their beautiful penthouse apartment you feel at home. The rooms are very clean and fresh- just spotless. We had the double room with a small balcony and the private shower room immediately next door. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty drawer and hanging space. The air con was very effective in the Rome heat. There is also a triple room with/without an additional single room for families and a separate bath room with shower over the bath and a bidet as well as toilet and basin.
We were able to have our amazing and tasty breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the rooftops of Monteverde. The breakfasts are generous and plentiful with everything from a selection of fresh fruits, cereals, cold meats and cheese, juices, yoghurts to very naughty pastries and croissants freshly baked. And the coffee is to die for!!! There is a well stocked fridge which is available for your use if you feel peckish.
Daniela and Marco are very happy to offer sage advice about restaurants in the area and further afield and will also make reservations for you.
We were very happy to sometimes sit on their terrace in the evening and share some wine.
The B & B is located 5 minutes from Tram 8 stop. The tram takes 15 minutes to reach Trastevere where their is a wealth of restaurants and bars.
We would not hesitate to recommend this real home from home. Daniela also organised a car to collect us and take us back from the airport- Mercedes I think. €45 from airport and €35 on the way back, as no hanging about waiting for us. Much easier than trains and buses with heavy luggage.
Daniela and Marco are very warm and hospitable people which shows in their excellent B & B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

What an awesome stay we had with Daniela and Marco in their beautifully appointed B & B. My husband and I stayed at La Duchessa A Roma for 4 nights during our 6 week holiday travelling through Europe and this was by far the best accommodation experience we had. Our wonderful hosts went to great lengths to make our stay enjoyable, their assistance with directions around Rome, transportation advice and accommodating our sometimes very early starts to the day went above and beyond what you would normally expect at a B & B. Also the many lovely 'extras' a full fridge with a variety of food and drinks, plus the lovely pastries and coffee machine made it feel as if you were at your 'home away from home'. We even cooked a meal one night in the spotlessly clean kitchen. Our room and bathroom were also both very clean and comfortable and we appreciated the availability of the clever television setup that you could view programs in English. Daniela and Marco are such lovely friendly people who were so welcoming and genuine in their manner, we felt like we were staying with friends. We would definitely recommend La Duchessa A Roma to anyone wanting a special treat while staying in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My family of six stayed at Daniela and Marco's apartment for three nights in late August. The experience was most pleasant. We took up the entire apartment. All the three rooms, two washrooms, dining room and patio deck were comfortably fitted out and nicely decorated. At the end of each tiring day of sightseeing in Rome, we especially the children all keenly looked forward to return to La Duchessa for a good rest. Our 3 kids found the shower with radio amusing, and the dining room proved to be a very popular gathering place where each of us could occupy a comfortable seat to work/play on a laptop, smart phone or iPad or to read a book. We also enjoyed having breakfast at the patio deck, and the tram ride was fairly easy to manage. But what really made this place special, as many other travelers have commented, was the warm hospitality extended to us by Daniela and Marco. They were exceptional hosts who genuinely liked their job and wanted their guests to have a great stay at their place and in Rome. Their friendliness and thoughtfulness made the place very welcoming and certainly made us like Rome more. We also liked the restaurant recommended by the couple that much that we had two dinners (out of the three in Rome) there. We heartily recommend La Duchessa to anyone traveling to Rome.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and comfortable. Just choose based on the number of persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is one of the best B&B accommodations that we have ever stayed in. The rooms are clean, comfortable and it feels like home. Daniela and Marco are wonderful hosts. They truly love what they do. We were there for a sight-seeing trip to Rome. Daniela and Marco offered us some freshly baked goods which tasted just wonderful. Daniele also offered travel advise within Rome which made it a lot easier for us to find our way around. This is for a sure a place we will come back to next time in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B La Duchessa A Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Duchessa A Roma

Address: Via Duchessa di Galliera 14, Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Gianicolense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3,092 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast LA DUCHESSA A ROMA is your penthouse in the Capital, the ideal accommodation to stay in the ‘Citta Eterna’ (The Eternal City). We are located in one of the most beautiful neighborhoods in Rome, Monteverde, very close to the Trastevere Train Station which provides very good connections to Fiumicino Airport, Viterbo, Civitavecchia and the area of the ‘Sabina Romana’. From our Bed & Breakfast – after an excellent and plentiful breakfast – you will easily reach charming and cultural places in Rome. After a day exploring our beautiful city, you will relax on our large and panoramic terrace. To reach the centre of the city, you just need to take the tram number 8, only 200 meters from the flat, which will bring you into Largo Torre Argentina after having crossed Trastevere, the most charming and eventful neighborhood in Rome. Once you get off the tram in Largo Argentina, you can easily walk to the Pantheon, the Navona Square or the Campidoglio. And few steps further, you will find yourself at the Trevi Fountain, the Spagna Square and the Vatican. All rooms are decorated in excellent style and equipped with all comforts: conditioning air, Sky Cinema and Sport TV Channels and Wireless Internet Connection. In addition, you will always get fresh and clean linen. Walls are decorated with the works of art of painter Giuliano Gentile. In few words, LA DUCHESSA A ROMA is the ideal place to stay for those visiting our wonderful city either for work, tourism or to stay closer to your relatives – the B&B is very close to the Hospital San Camillo-Forlanini. We love Rome and for us it is a pleasure to help our guests feel in harmony with our city as well as discover what it can offer. For this reason, we have spent attention to detail in our B&B, with the aim at providing you with a warm and cosy place, where we will exercise the Art of Reception. If you want to stay in a comfortable, friendly and hospitable lodging just a few steps from the historical center of Rome, this is the right place and we are sure you will not forget your holiday with us. You will always be welcome at LA DUCHESSA A ROMA. Marco e Daniela ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your B&B La Duchessa A Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B La Duchessa A Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.