We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Madrid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Madrid to your Saves list
Hotel Madrid
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mario De' Fiori, 93, 00187 Rome, Italy (Colonna)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€100 (EUR)
Ranked #166 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Monument
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

As other reviewers have said, this is a 3-star hotel with a great location. We had a two-room family suite with a queen bed and single bed in one room, and two single beds in the other, with a closing door between them, and separate air conditioning units in each. The professional photos on this site make the rooms look much nicer than they are. However, the simple, older rooms were functional and in a way, added to the charm of being in Rome. We had no problem with water pressure. How can you beat being able to look out your window at a lovely, cobblestone side street every morning and to walk over to the Spanish Steps (and adjacent metro stop) in only 2-3 blocks? The area around Termini is cheaper, but we heard from others that, especially at night, it feels rougher around the edges and less pleasant over there.

We were on the third floor, and with the shutters and double-pane windows closed and the a/c on - our rooms were quiet enough. A big selling point for us was that the Hotel Madrid could accommodate our family of five in one room; that is rare in Rome! If there are 3 or fewer of you, you could pick from a hundred different places. We all loved the breakfast each morning - it was a highlight for us.

The staff at the desk arranged transportation for us from and to FCO which made it easy when we arrived and departed. Even when our flight arrived 3 hours late, the driver was waiting for us with our name on a sign. You have to leave your room key at the front desk when you exit the hotel for the day, but you can keep your passports in your in-room safe. There is a laundromat about 6 blocks away and restaurants all over. All in all, a nice stay at Hotel Madrid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor so that it is a bit quieter from the street noise. Know that the a...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks for your beautiful review and for choosing the Hotel Madrid
for your stay in the Eternal City.
Yes, we are a short walk from the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain, in the heart of the historical centre of Rome.
We've family suites for 3, 4 and also 5 people.
The reception is open 24h and always available to help you to live Rome in the best way possible.
I hope you come back soon.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    205
    53
    10
    6
See reviews for
222
150
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Madrid last month with our three children. I don't think there are many hotels in Europe that accommodate five in a room/suite and so we were glad to find this hotel. It worked well for us- two kids in one room and the other 3 in the second room. The rooms were clean with comfortable beds. The bathroom was also clean and well stocked with shampoo,etc.. hair dryer, plenty of towels. The hotel is very conveniently located and that is a big plus. It is in a busy area with restaurants below, but when we closed the windows after having fun listening to the street sounds, and put the AC on, we didn't hear a thing. Wifi was spotty. Breakfast was fine- our kids really liked it. Front desk is helpful. I liked the feel of this hotel. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are to happy to know that your stay was good and that you enjoyed our big and beautiful family rooms for 5 people .
We hope to see you again in the future,
for more info and special prices follow us on facebook or twitter !!!
See you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Fork, UTah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We took our 3 children to Rome and stayed at one of the suites of the Hotel Madrid. The location was great-- the Spanish Steps are around the corner (as is the Metro), and the Trevi Fountain is maybe 10 minutes away. We actually walked to Vatican City, the Colosseum, the Borghese museum, and just about every other site in Rome from our Hotel.

The room was very nice-- one room with 2 single beds and one room with a King and a single-- all 5 of us fit in there very nicely. The hotel was clean and had great air conditioning. The wifi never worked in our room, but we could get the signal in the hall and as we were just checking email to make sure we had no emergencies at home, it was just fine.

The breakfast was good-- nice selection of breads, eggs, bacon, juices, yogurt, fruits, and cereals. Mirela was especially sweet to our kids-- even remembered their names and that they liked hot chocolate in the morning.

This was our second stay in the Hotel Madrid and we were definitely not disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Mr KGarr,
thank you so much for your kind review,
We are very proud to read how much you are satisfied for your choice of Hotel Madrid
and for your positive notes about our Family suite , the buffet breakfast, and our staff hospitality
( like Mrs Mirella !!!).
We are pleased to inform you that the wi-fi problem was promptly fixed, please note that booking on our official website wifi is always free !!!
Best regards from me and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by another friend who knows Rome well. The location is just perfect, with most of the ancient beauties of Rome within walking distance. I had a single room, which was only "so-so" in appearance, but perfectly clean and I slept well. Unfortunately, our Alitalia flight from Boston had been cancelled, so we arrived a day late. My friends had booked a double room, and with my single room, they gave us a break and only charged 4 nights on one room and 3 nights on the other to make up for the fact that it wasn't our fault re: the cancelled flight. We appreciated the consideration. The staff were extremely helpful, and they provided us with excellent restaurant recommendations. The hotel is clean and secure, and the location can't be beaten. Be careful when you step out the front door, though -- look left and right before you do, or you could get smushed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Kristin,
we are very pleased that you had a good stay in Rome. Thanks for taking the time to write a nice review.
We sincerely hope to see you again in Rome in the future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The staffs are very much helpful and considerate. The room is clean and quiet with plenty of space for me and husband with 2 big suit cases. Great location and easy access to many of the Rome's Landmarks. Breadfast at the terrace roof with sunshine and great view make us unforgettable. Only downside is the water pressure for the shower is very weak. Anyway we will go back to stay in Hotel Madrid again when visit Rome ^~^

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks so much for your post and for the compliments that make us happy.
Yes, our location sure is the best that you can find in Rome,
From the Hotel you can visit Rome without having to take public transportation, because we are in the heart of Rome.
Via dei Condotti, Via del Corso , the Colosseum, the Vatican Museums, Piazza del Popolo, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, Panthen, via dei Fori Imperiali are reachable from 2 to 20-minute by walk.
The entire staff is always at your disposal to help you to live Rome in the best way possible. We always try to do our best to make feel at home.
I really hope that you can come back to visit us again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We reserved a "family suite" that consisted of two rooms and a bath. First room had two twin beds, the second room had a king bed and twin bed and the hotel added a pack and play for the 3 year old. The rooms are small as is typical for european hotels. The room was clean, this is an older hotel and in no way is fancy, the location is the value. There is a nice breakfast included and served on the roof top patio with a few of all of Rome, this is amazing, Even with a 3 and 5 year old we walked to everything including the Vatican, which includes a nice walk along the river. You are close enough to the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain to be able to visit these large social gathering areas during the day and again at night. There are great restaurants every where around the hotel and a larag grocery store within two blocks for that extra beer, wine and cheese(there is a mini bar refridgerator in the room). By your Roma passes from the front desk and avoid the lines.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Hotel Madrid and thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are glad you had a good stay in Rome and we hope you will come back soon in the future.
For more informations and news follow us on facebook or twitter.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel was 5 minutes from the Spanish steps and the Trevi Fountain. We loved the location. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was good. Great cappuccino. Nice room and bathroom. Great 3 star hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and for your review!
It was a pleasure to assist you during your stay.
Thank you for having appreciated our staff, our location and our selection for the buffet breakfast!
Follow us on facebook and twitter!!!
See you again in the future, we all send you our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madrid

Address: Via Mario De' Fiori, 93, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#120 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#125 Family Hotel in Rome
#177 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madrid 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome is an immense city but there is only one place that represents it like no other - Piazza di Spagna. Here on these authentic Roman streets, 200 meters from the Spanish Steps (Piazza di Spagna) and the Trevi Fountain (Fontana di Trevi), is located the 3-star Hotel Madrid where the staff welcomes you as family and everything is in walking distance.Singles, doubles and family suites with free wi-fi.Panoramic Roof-garden for your buffet breakfast with view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Hotel Rome
Hotel Madrid Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.