We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to central train station, but it stinks!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pavia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pavia to your Saves list
Hotel Pavia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gaeta 83, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,168 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Close to central train station, but it stinks!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were there in the first week of October 2013. The location was excellent, a short walk from the central train station Roma Termini. Also, the area with a neighborhood market in the mornings is fine. But we should have taken the time to find a different place after the first night, because our room just smelled very badly, like the sewage pipes hadn't been cleaned for 50 years or something. On top of that lay heavy tobacco smoke that came up the stairs from the reception and probably other rooms, even though smoking is officially not permitted in Roman hotels. My husband and I were very disappointed, but we stayed because we wanted to spend our few days sightseeing, not hotel searching. That was a mistake, I think now.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    10
    18
    35
See reviews for
10
24
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

If you can afford a better hotel, book it. If you can't, Hotel Pavia will do. When we booked online, it was advertised as a 3 star hotel. Not by a long shot. It is a 1 or 2 star hotel at best. Motel 6 in the USA offers more and better accommodations. No breakfast available. No A/C!!! No elevator. The carpets were old and worn. No room safe. Very, very, very small shower. The hotel staff was indifferent. That being said, the location is excellent. It is a 5 minute walk to the Termini train and subway station. The rooms were clean and the beds were serviceable. It is a cheap place to stay in Rome. It is okay if you don't expect much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to Rome termini without a hotel reservation. After searching a lot this was our only choice for the night. The room was dirty and really small. Next day we booked to another hotel that it was way too better and cheap. Take this hotel only if you have no choice and only for 1 night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had to knock a few times to wake the attendant up- after we waited at the front desk for him to wake up we got to our room, stayed about 2 mins- long enough to take photos and book another hotel... not a proper mattress its about 75mm thick- not on a proper base, its just a fold out, where the carpet isn't ripped its stained- the room stank of air freshener (an entire can)... could go on but its just crap

Room Tip: AVOID, just stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We also booked this hotel on Hotwire, but unfortunately could not afford to move to a different hotel. We booked for 3 nights.
The good - it is very close to the train station and there is wi-fi. The bad - it was extremely dirty and we were surprised we didn't get bed bugs (we were in room 35). The air con was either freezing or off, the shower was over the toilet, there was no breakfast (as advertised on their website), and the room was extremely small. The ugly - the wallpaper was furry (I kid you not) and the decor hasn't been updated since the 70s.
This is not a 3 star hotel - maybe a 1 star.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergeant Bluff, Iowa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Booked thru Hotwire. Checked in at the dirty ran down non polite desk. Walked up two flights of dirt soaked stairs. Opened our door and about gagged. Room light switch hanging on wall, DIRT everywhere and scum on shower floor. Called and fought with Hotwire about complete refund. Checked out as soon as we checked in. Horrible place to stay period. Trip Advisor needs to look into this Hotel because the Web site is nothing like the actual Hotel. I personally DONOT recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Bought this hotel on Hotwire expecting a 3-star hotel. When we arrived, the hotel was filthy dirty. We had to carry our luggage up the stairs to arrive in a dirty room. The bathroom was awful. There was still shower gel on the sink and shower. The bedroom was heavily soiled. The carpet hadn't been vacuumed in months. The walls had visible dirt marks. We didn't stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pavia

Address: Via Gaeta 83, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,168 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pavia 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in historical villa with a small garden; situated near the Terme di Diocleziano Gardens and Termini Rail Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavia Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pavia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.