We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Modigliani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Modigliani to your Saves list
Hotel Modigliani
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Purificazione 42, 00187 Rome, Italy (Colonna)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
County Durham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This hotel is perfect for a stay in Rome. It's near tourist attractions, bars, restaurants and shops. Staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are spotless clean. Breakfast was lovely with great coffee, and on a sunny morning it can be eaten in the small courtyard garden. It's not a big hotel, but is quaint, cosy and comfortable. You get the feeling that the owners have put a lot of their personalities into the place. We would love to go back! The only improvement I can think of is they could do with a few more English channels on the TV. After a hard days sightseeing, it's sometimes good to relax while watching a decent film. Other than that, this place is perfect and is to be recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    351
    71
    27
    11
See reviews for
194
452
39
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a great value for a boutique hotel in Rome. It sits on a quaint street, walking distance to Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and other major attractions. The standard room was basic but extremely clean. The staff was extraordinarily nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

From the moment we arrived our experience was wonderful at Hotel Modigliani. The staff were super warm and friendly, nothing was a problem. In the middle of bustling Rome the hotel is tucked away at the top of a little lane way so you have a feeling of seclusion with a busy city at your doorstep.

The breakfast was above average and the room was accommodating and transformed every evening when we got back from the days adventures with the room keeping well above average. We loved it. Our only complaint, being English speaking was the lack of any English channels on the television. Always good to check in with the BBC news at the end of the day. But really, who needs television when you are in the middle of Rome and this hotel is within walking distance of almost every attraction Rome has to offer.

We really loved this hotel and the very, very warm and friendly staff. Thanks Hotel Modigliani for helping make our holiday so lovely and memorable.

Room Tip: A room on level 6 offers a wonderful view of Roma rooftops and city glimpses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our first trip to Rome earlier this month was made even more special by our stay at Hotel Modigliani. Greeted by Alessandro and Andrea, we looked forward every day to our conversations. They were generous with their time and helpful beyond measure, particularly in their warmth and encouragement of my son being 5 months into an Italian degree - he was practically fluent by the end of the week! Lots of good local tips about timing certain attractions, helping us with cultural insights etc. Our room was the apartimenti, over the road from the main hotel, which worked perfectly for us as it had two rooms, good shower, although no wi-fi. No trouble to walk across the narrow street to use it in reception though. Modigliani is not a big chain with all mod cons, so what it offers instead is a personal, homely and comfortable stay in a fabulously convenient location - just 5 minute walk to Spanish Steps, 3 mins more you're on Via Condotti and another 10 at Trevi. We walked everywhere from the hotel - Villa Borghese, Castel St Angelo, Colosseum. We took transport just twice in 5 days and at night it was perfectly safe walking back late. We'll definitely return to Roma and to see our friends Alessandro and Andrea :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

A spotlessly clean hotel with friendly and very helpful staff, excellent breakfast including hot items and a perfect location very close to the Spanish Steps. What more can you ask for? Please do not hesitate to stay at the Hotel Modigliani. The rooms are ample size. The bathroom was large and modern with the most perfect shower. The common areas on the ground floor are very comfortable and offer free WIFI and a computer for hotel guests. The Hotel Modigliani was a great place to stay for my first trip to Rome. You can walk almost everywhere. Very reasonable for Rome. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champagne Le Sec France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We celebrated my husband's 70th birthday in Rome in early April, this hotel could not have been better for all we wanted to do. Situation ideal for walking to places of interest, very convenient for bus and metro. Staff were so friendly and helpful, even printed out bus routes/ times for us one evening. Superb breakfast selection, public rooms very comfortable as was our bedroom, at the back of the hotel with small balcony, just right for early evening drink in late Roman sunshine. Superb small Osteria Barberini. on the same road for intimate supper. Transport to and from airport was arranged for us. Cannot fault the hotel and especially the staff, so very much better than large impersonal hotels. We threw our coins into the Trevi fountain to return again to Rome and will certainly stay at the Modigliani

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and with small balcony are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel is a mixed experience. When you arrive, no one assists you in bringing in your bags down the steps into the lobby. You receive a voucher for a "welcome drink." This is not a nice glass of wine - it is a so-called Bellini, in a very small glass, made with cheap Prosecco and processed (not fresh) peach juice. The breakfast is pedestrian, and the coffee - in Rome! - is from a press-the-button machine like you see in gyms and car dealerships. They push local restaurants run by friends of the owners. The rooms are exceedingly small and spartan, and the shower in our bathroom was a vinyl installation that was so tight that my husband - an average man - could barely get into it. (Even I found it tight.) They would not provide an iron - even briefly - on the theory that it was a "safety issue." So, don't expect to press that dress after its long flight to Rome in your suitcase - and after all, there is no space in the room for an ironing board anyway. There is free WiFi only in the lobby; you have to pay if you want to use it in your room, so the lobby is always full of people checking their email, rather than relaxing.

What I liked: a good location, an attractively decorated lobby and breakfast room, and one very nice young man who was sometimes at the front desk.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room, garden side, skip the balcony and get a larger room with space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Modigliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modigliani

Address: Via della Purificazione 42, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#104 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#113 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Modigliani 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet old street near the Spanish Steps and the imposing Via Veneto Hotels, this boutique Hotel is the ideal and charming place to have a pleasant holiday in Rome.The delightful inner garden and the large tasteful drawing-room offer the quietness so rare in the Rome Hotels. In this Bed and breakfast Hotels you’ll find the best cappuccino and 23 rooms with air conditioning, minibar, satellite Tv, safe, hairdryer and bath shower. The Superior rooms on the top floor of the Hotel offer a spectacular view on Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Modigliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modigliani Hotel Rome
Hotel Modigliani Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Modigliani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.