We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, civilized and welcoming hotel in Roma” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Modigliani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Modigliani to your Saves list
Hotel Modigliani
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Purificazione 42, 00187 Rome, Italy (Colonna)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, civilized and welcoming hotel in Roma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here after a two week trip to Sicily. After that much time in the very exciting, rough-around the edges but charming island of Sicily, the Hotel Modigliani is a welcoming island of civility and a great launch pad for exploring the northeastern part of Roma. Upon entering the hotel, the staff at the desk are friendly and helpful. The rooms are moderately spacious with great showers. Finally, the breakfast was excellent with a range of items including grilled vegetables, fruit, cereals, eggs, and the usual sweet Italian breakfast pastries.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    351
    71
    27
    11
See reviews for
194
452
39
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Rick Steves recommended. We were only there for a one night stay. Our goal was to see the Trevie fountain and go to our favorite pizza place by the Pantheon so easy walking to both. A little hard top find for the driver but once there nice and quiet. The room was smallish - not unexpected in downtown Rome - but served our needs very nicely. The staff hotel was super clean and beautiful. But the best part was the staff - very helpful with dealing with our extensive amount of luggage and other issues. We had some very stressful bank trouble and Andrea helped calm us and assisted us in resolving the issues. Very creative shower solution for a small space. If you're a little on the large side (as I am) good luck washing your feet. :)

Room Tip: Balcony rooms tend to run smaller than others - so pick what's important. We like balconies so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was our first visit to Rome, and we found the hotel to be perfect for us; within walking distance of Trevi, Spanish Steps, meeting point for a couple of tours we went on, the main railway station (we walked to the hotel from the railway station when we arrived in Rome), lots of eateries and "watering holes" and good shopping. The staff were welcoming, friendly, and very helpful to us during our stay. Breakfast was good, our room was very comfortable,the decor very arty, (which was why Barb chose the hotel in the first place !!) and all-in-all, we were extremely happy with our experience at the Modigliani.
Barb and Grant.
Sept 2013.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

An oasis in a big city. Stayed five days (room 104) which is a charming , quiet room with a patio behind the hotel,s garden . The staff was helpful and ready to answer our many questions . The breakfast is substantial . Lunch wa good. Very good location for bus and metro --two block of the via veneto We loved staying there.
Rosalee Hardin , Sept. 21, 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great 1st place to stay in Rome. Safe walkable area. Front desk very helpful.
Near the Spanish Steps, Piazza di Spagna, Fontana della Barcaccia, and Via Veneto - even walked to Borghese Gallery

As suggested here we put in a special request for a non-smoking room in the back of the hotel overlooking the garden. We ended up on the fifth floor, where the room had a small balcony with a view of the Victory Monument/Monument to Vittorio Emanuele II
Hallway outside room was a little noisy in the morning.
Shower is a bit small
Decent basic breakfast, but ambiance is pleasant. Careful on the stairs.

Room Tip: As suggested here we put in a special request for a non-smoking room, on an upper floor, in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed with Modigliani for four days. We had room 602 which was WONDERFUL! It was on the top floor with a great terrace. Room was large and so was the bathroom and shower. The front desk staff was professional and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was really a nice benefit for a start to a long day of touring. I would highly recommend this hotel. Our room was a big room on the top floor, so I can't really rate the other rooms of this hotel. Our time at Hotel Moddigliani was just great

Room Tip: "Room 602 was fantastic!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Like most reviewers on this website stated before me, the location of this hotel is excellent: very close to the metro and at walking distance from most things tourists want to see in Rome. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I had a quiet and clean room and the bed was okay. The shower was a bit on the small side, but not problematically so. I had read some negative remarks on the breakfast, but found that there was a good choice of everything, especially for Italy, where breakfasts in general are not that extensive. The only more or less 'negative' thing I can say about this hotel is that I really don't like the style of the interior decoration, but who cares?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Modigliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modigliani

Address: Via della Purificazione 42, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#102 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#121 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Modigliani 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet old street near the Spanish Steps and the imposing Via Veneto Hotels, this boutique Hotel is the ideal and charming place to have a pleasant holiday in Rome.The delightful inner garden and the large tasteful drawing-room offer the quietness so rare in the Rome Hotels. In this Bed and breakfast Hotels you’ll find the best cappuccino and 23 rooms with air conditioning, minibar, satellite Tv, safe, hairdryer and bath shower. The Superior rooms on the top floor of the Hotel offer a spectacular view on Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Modigliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modigliani Hotel Rome
Hotel Modigliani Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Modigliani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.