We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Modigliani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Modigliani to your Saves list
Hotel Modigliani
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Purificazione 42, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€3 off room rate
Ranked #127 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An excellent choice!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very beautiful hotel,next to metro station and 5-10 minutes walk from piazza di spagna, fontana di trevi and piazza navona!the staff is very friendly and ready to help you!!the rooms are very clean!it has everything you need!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    341
    71
    26
    11
See reviews for
192
439
38
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a very enjoyable long weekend in Rome, staying at the Modigliani. The staff members were friendly and helpful and the hotel was beautifully clean and well decorated. Our room was small but compact, with plenty of drawer space, adequate wardrobe space and hangers, and room underneath the beds for storing our suitcases. In previous hotels we've stayed in in Rome, rooms have been small and storage space has been a big problem! The shower was tiny but there was plenty of hot water and the air conditioning in the room was fairly quiet. We had a small balcony which was over the garden and very peaceful. Breakfast was good - all types of coffee and teas, cereals, fruit juice, bread (and a toaster), jams, croissants, meats and cheese, cooked vegetables, pots of yogurts, hard boiled eggs. There was also melon on a couple of occasions. Personally, I'd have liked more fruit rather than the vegetables. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: It's worth having a balcony - especially in very hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were one of two couples (young at heart middle aged!) who stayed at Hotel Modigliani at the end of July 2013 for two nights. We were really pleased with everything. OK the room wasn't huge and neither was the shower. However, the room was nicely decorated, clean, big enough and had room for clothes etc. and the shower cubicle was big enough, spotlessly clean and the shower was powerful. We stayed in a double room which had a lovely little balcony overlooking the courtyard and the room had good air conditioning. The staff were very helpful. The breakfast room was light and spacious and the continental breakfast was varied and good - lovely coffee too. We were able to leave our cases when we checked out and pick them up later in the day. The hotel was in a small quiet back street, just a few minutes walk from the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. We did all our sightseeing on foot. No complaints at all. We would most definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent several days here the beginning of July and found it to be a wonderful place to stay in Rome. The staff was so friendly and helpful, we couldn't ask for more, even though the hotel was quite busy at the time. Breakfasts were fabulous, the room and bath were spotless and most of all, the bed was very comfortable. We liked the location, finding it much more inviting than other places in Rome where we have stayed. We will definitely stay here again and we've already recommended it to good friends who will be traveling in Italy in September.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We read all the reviews about this hotel and booked due to the location and reviews about friendly advice and service. I think the hotel was full when we stayed so reception was always busy but the times we asked for advice and help the staff behind the desk really weren't that helpful or enlightened. Maybe we caught them on a bad week. The hotel is in a great location with means we spent 2 days being able to walk everywhere in Rome despite it being August. But we weren't that impressed with the hotel. The room was tiny - big enough just for a double bed. And the bathroom even smaller with a very old fashioned coffin like shower cubicle. Breakfast at the hotel was poor particularly for Italy where there is an abundance of amazing ingredients. So much so we opted out after the first day and went and found real coffee and a croissant in a nearby square.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruisyard
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Hotel Modigliani did everything it said on the box. It was perfect for our whistle stop stay in Rome. So much so that I when I return to Rome for a longer more relaxed stay I will definitely stay here again. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It is in a fantastic location, close to all the main sites but tucked up a lovely side street so out of the hustle and bustle. A great find.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Hotel Modigliani. I found it as a recommended hotel in the Rick Steve's guide book. It was wonderful. The staff (Andre, Alina and one other male whose name I didn't get) were all wonderful. They really cared and went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. The room we had on the 4th floor wasn't big but we knew that beforehand. It was more than adequate though since we didn't spend much time there. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was great! The driver the hotel arranged picked us up on time and gave us a little history when we asked. The breakfast was great and the attendants there were wonderful. It is in a great location and very walkable to most attractions and very close to the metro. Alina even had coffee and pastries for us at 5:00 a.m. for our trip to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Modigliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modigliani

Address: Via della Purificazione 42, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#98 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#100 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Modigliani 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet old street near the Spanish Steps and the imposing Via Veneto Hotels, this boutique Hotel is the ideal and charming place to have a pleasant holiday in Rome.The delightful inner garden and the large tasteful drawing-room offer the quietness so rare in the Rome Hotels. In this Bed and breakfast Hotels you’ll find the best cappuccino and 23 rooms with air conditioning, minibar, satellite Tv, safe, hairdryer and bath shower. The Superior rooms on the top floor of the Hotel offer a spectacular view on Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Modigliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modigliani Hotel Rome
Hotel Modigliani Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Modigliani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.