We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Celio Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Celio Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Santissimi Quattro 35/c, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #537 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location - charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel over the past weekend and enjoyed it. If you are looking for a great location - you have found it - it is about 2 blocks from the Colosseum and The Palatine Hills. We also walked to the Vatican, it took about an hour but it was worth it to see the local sites/restaurants. It is also walking distance to the Pantheon,and I loved that area as well. It is lively and has a high energy vibe. As you can see, we are walkers so we enjoyed the time it took to get to each site.

We took a cab from the Airport (FCO) for 48 Euros, the legitimate taxis have a set fee so make sure you use them instead of being hit up by random taxi drivers (which we were). Our hotel check in clerk was less then enthusiastic and I was a bit disappointed because there were great reviews of the staff. But later, Roberto and Ramon were great to us! Ramon seemed to be everywhere - from fixing up the stucco on the side of the building, cleaning rooms and even serving us Breakfast.

Breakfast is simple but satisfying with a huge cappuccino. Our room was lovely and although small we did not spend too much time in it. There is a store across the street and that was nice because we could stock some cold drinks in the minibar in the room. There are a couple of restaurants in the area, but we ate elsewhere. We would stay here again, absolutely.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 208 and could see the Colosseum from our window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    50
    12
    11
    22
See reviews for
20
20
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We found Celio Hotel three years ago online - I no longer remember how. We've been there now three times, and we are very happy. This year, we were due to go to Florence right after our flight from the States. I was not feeling very well, and the thought of traveling by train with all our luggage was not very enticing. As our cab headed to the train station from the Rome airport we passed very close to Celio, and my husband said, would you rather go there right now? Roberto, the wonderful owner, welcomed us warmly and took us in immediately. I collapsed in our beautiful room and started to feel much better. The next day, he let us store our excess luggage until our scheduled return from Florence three days later.

Roberto does all he can to make his guests happy. He finds wonderful restaurants - carefully inquiring about what you like and what sort of place suits you - and he makes reservations for you, which helps enormously. He's also happy to reserve tickets for performances or for museums that require reservations, like the Borghese. There's a beautiful rooftop garden - my husband was able to get work done while still enjoying the beautiful weather and sunshine of Rome in April. The tile and decor of the entire place are beautiful: the hotel used to be a private villa, and the elegance of the fittings, the plaster, the mosaics are obvious. The showers are small but ingenious - in many of the rooms you have a stall shower built cleverly right into the bathtub. It goes without saying that the hotel is immaculately maintained.

Breakfast is served by a gracious waiter who brings you the most amazingly delicious cappuccino, hot chocolate, croissants, small rolls, yogurts.

The location of Celio Hotel is excellent as a jumping-off point for some of the major sights in Rome. It's close to the Colosseum but on a quiet street, so you avoid all the craziness of that major attraction. Nearby is the fascinating Church of San Clemente, which if you're at all interested in archaeology you have to see - it has several fascinating levels. There are also beautiful gardens in the vicinity, and other major churches, including a basilica.

We can't wait to come back again - the sooner the better. It's so wonderful to return to a beautiful small hotel with such warm, engaging, and hospitable owners, from which you can happily launch your explorations into Rome.

Room Tip: We love the Ambassador Suite. Absolutely gorgeous large room with a beautiful bathroom. Our son has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the second time we have stayed at this hotel, and don't recognised it from some of the bad reviews. The location is wonderful - very close to the Colosseum and forum, and just round the corner from a metro station. There are also some good restaurants nearby (although you will pay a premium for the ones opposite the Colosseum of course). Yes, the rooms are small (not so much for us as we had a 3 bedded room) but nicely decorated and comfortable. We found the shower and bathroom a reasonable size, but we aren't overweight. The public areas of the hotel are nicely decorated with lovely mozaic floors throughout. However, I agree that the breakfast is very basic - even for a continental one. It was adequate for us (juice, yoghurt, bread rolls, croissants and hot drinks) and there was no problem getting extras if we wanted more. I think the problems some people had with the staff might stem from the fact that most of them spoke little or no English, so were not "chatty". However, we found them all friendly and helpful. We had no problem arranging a taxi, or leaving our cases at the hotel after we checked out. The wi-fi worked fine when we were there. In summary, if you want a big, spacious hotel with a big buffet breakfast and English speaking staff, this is not for you. If you want a small, quaint comfortable hotel close to the ancient areas and Metro and not too worried about breakfast, then this place is great.

Room Tip: The dogs at the side of the room were very noisy and there was quite a lot of noise in the evening d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upernavik, Vestgronland, Greenland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Prior to staying at Celio, I had a number of email conversations with Roberto who was an extremely helpful host prior to and during my delegations stay in Rome.

The room was cozy , not to large but not to small either - my one complaint was the size of the bathroom.

Breakfast was simply a croissant, mini baugette, yogurt, orange juice and a choice of tea/cappucino....for longer stays a variety would have been nice but it sufficed for my stay.

A mere 2 MINUTES walk from the Colliseum, Celio is positioned at the heart of Rome with numerous sidewalk restaurants - must try gelato shops amd even 2 mini marts.

I really enjoyed my stay at celio, the internet was highly functional and it was a mere 5-10 minute walk from my conference center at the UN FAO

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Terrific location. Clean, attractive, very comfortable rooms. Terrific room service. Courteous, helpful staff. There's a lovely courtyard in the middle where a nice breakfast is served in the morning by really nice waiters. It's right by the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, and the Palatine Hill among *many* other incredible sight-seeing destinations. It's also by "gay street" if that's your thing (it certainly is mine!). The decor in the rooms is ever-so-slightly Italian kitsch but this in itself is slightly charming in a way. And the price is right. I highly recommend. And Roberto is the best!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Really beautiful hotel in the perfect location! A short walk to top tourist attractions. Great prices too. Would totally recommend to family and friends. Absolutely stunning design inside! It was the perfect city break away!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Fantastic hotel. Beautiful decor. Staff very friendly quintessential italian hotel. Will only stay here whilst in Rome 10 out of 10 on every front. Two mins from the Collusium, air conditioned rooms at no extra cost. Just amazing.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Celio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celio Hotel

Address: Via dei Santissimi Quattro 35/c, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #537 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Celio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Celio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celio Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.