We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and Substance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dharma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dharma to your Saves list
Hotel Dharma
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Torino 122 | Small Boutique Hotel, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Style and Substance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Dharma Hotel is reminiscent of a stylish city apartment, and operates on a few levels of a heritage building. It's located in the heart of Rome, where a 10 minute walk will get you to the Termini station. The Termini is the hub of all your train and bus journeys, so getting to the hotel without a taxi is easy.

If you plan to spend your time in Rome sight-seeing, then the location of this hotel is suitable. There are many attractions and landmarks within walkable distance, and even getting to the Colosseum is a scenic 20 minute walk.

We booked one of the more reasonably priced rooms, which proved to be spacious and well embellished. It had a balcony overlooking the street, a comfortable double bed, and a funky bathroom. The styling of the room is what grabs you the most, but a lot of the perks remain practical such as the hide-away wardrobes.

As this is not your traditional hotel with a lobby on the ground floor, there are a few limitations. You need to buzz yourself into the building like any city apartment, and reception closes in the early hours. However, the competitive pricing and friendly staff more than make up for this.

It may not have all the amenities of a large hotel, but Dharma Hotel is stylish, clean and affordable. It ticked all the right boxes for our stay in Rome, and did so in such style.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Dharma, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Edward H,

thank you very much for such a great review, we appreciate your effort. We are so glad that you had a stunning experience at Dharma and you wanted to share it on Tripadvisor.
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback..

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    147
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
64
371
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We checked into Hotel Dharma today and were instantly thrilled. We were greeted by Max who was professional and polite. We were immediately taken to a lounge with comfy arm chairs and told to "relax for a moment" while he attended to our check in. Max asked if we were holidaying and then instantly brought us a map and showed us where we were and how to navigate to major attractions, where to eat and have some fun. He then took us to our room and showed us all the features, right down to what channels were in English. The suite is stunning with quirky features we could not fault. We haven't had breakfast yet, but the people who whinged and complained about rolling a door in the room are whingers in my mind. This is a modern, classy and fun hotel that suits contemporary people who appreciate unique finishes. Can't understand why anyone would rate this hotel poorly. We love, love, love it. Only fault would be we can't find a bottle opener. Hotel is close to major streets and grater deli for coffee just up the street :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Dharma, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Carlz208,

thank you very much for sharing your experience at Dharma Hotel, we appreciate your stunning feedback. I am very glad that we have a new supporter from UK! Very, very happy that Dharma concept has been definately your cup of tea. Thank you for posting such a great review, feel free to join us anytime you're in Rome.

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with family for a short stop while in Rome. Overall the hotel was very pleasant but there are a few things you should know. First, it's not a "traditional hotel" it occupies just two floors on a building that also holds another hotel and offices. Because of this it has a few things that are different to your typical hotel. Let's get into the details:

Building
The building is quite old and can seem a bit run down from the outside. Walking in you feel more like you are entering into a somewhat run down apartment building. If you are prepared for this it doesn't bother you but you have to know what to expect. The reception is on the 5th floor and once you walk into the hotel you can see a renovated area with modern furniture. Overall the inside of of the hotel itself is quite nice (as you can see from the pictures), in particular the 5th floor (the 3rd floor is not as nice)

The rooms
The rooms are very good, especially considering the price. They have comfortable beds, free Internet that works reasonably well, a (somewhat under stocked) mini bar - with the essential drinks, a large TV with tons of channels. What you should know is that some of the rooms have what one could call..."creative use of space". In my room I had a moveable wall behind which you have the bathroom. I personally thought it was ingenious and the shower itself is great with a very large shower head and a quite nice bathroom. There was somewhat limited storage space which is a bit of an issue. The only thing that was somewhat annoying (and difficult to fix) was the fact that the walls are somewhat thin so you can hear your neighbors and the outside quite well. Not a huge issue but if you are a light sleeper it might be an issue for you (they provide ear-plugs but that is not really my thing). Overall despite the somewhat loud noise I thought the room was very nice.

Breakfast
The breakfast is served in a small restaurant next to the hotel building. This was probably the low point of the stay. Although the restaurant serves reasonable food (my cousin thought that the Tiramissu was the best she ever had) the breakfast was...let's say, less impressive. The options are quite limited (very few fruit or cereal options) and overall the quality is just ok. I can understand that given that it is a small hotel it is hard to have a very large buffet...but again something you should know.

Service
Overall the service was attentive and helpful. They went out of their way to provide options for tours and to help you out. Having said that remember that this is a very small boutique hotel. When I arrived the remote for the TV was not in my room...and whereas this would have been an easy fix in a large hotel...here the poor receptionist had to run around until he found it. So 5-stars in terms of effort but just know that their could be some hiccups because of the size of the hotel.

Location
Great location, walking distance from Roma Termini which means easy acces to the airport and the rest of the city.

Overall it was a great value for our money and we enjoyed the stay at the Dharma hotel. If you want a hotel with a gym, aspa, a bar other large hotel amenities this is not the place for you. If on the other hand you are looking for a great and reasonably priced room in a great location then the Dharma hotel will not disappoint you.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Dharma, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear cvidela4791,

thank you very much for sharing your experience at Dharma on Tripadvisor, we appreciate your effort. We are very glad that you had such a good time in a "think different" boutique hotel and I am happy that you have been hooked up.
I can see you from your records that you are used to travel in 5 stars hotel and, once again, I want to remak that we are no way a 5 stars hotel and we have never advertised this information.
We offer smart and luxury accomodation at a reasonable price. Professional and Friendly service. Thank you again and feel free to come back anytime you're in Rome.

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the boutique hotel twice whilst travelling around Europe. The rooms are very stylish, funky and spread out across two floors. The hotel is very secure from the street and within the actual building so puts you at ease. We walked to Via Del Corso in about 10mins.

The concierge team were very warm, friendly and very helpful. As we were coming back to the hotel after being in the Amalfi Coast, they allowed me to leave some items there so I didn't have to cart them back and forth.

We had to leave very early in the morning before breakfast so they packed some breakfast bags for us which was fantastic.

We had a little bit of noise from the street some nights which I think may have been garbage trucks or roadworks but it didn't last long and they do give you ear plugs if necessary.

I loved the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We chose to stay here because of its location and the value for money aspect to it -Although it is a hotel, in reality we checked in on the 5th floor, were staying on the 3rd floor and consequently never saw any staff during our stay.

We were given a warm welcome on arrival and shown to our room, which was a superior double. Whilst not expecting a large room we felt it was slightly on the small side and most annoyingly there was nowhere to set anything! That said, it was very modern, clean and had good aircon which was really needed during our stay due to temperatures of 39 deg! The room also had a mini bar which came in handy. There was no balcony and one window which overlooked the back of the building i.e. no view at all!

Breakfast each morning was next door and was standard fayre - it set us up well each day.

The main advantage this accommodation offers is its convenience as a base to explore Rome as all major attractions (Vatican excepted) are all easily reached on foot. Yards from Via Nazionale and Piazza della Repubblica is a huge bonus and it is also a 5 minute walk from the Termini.

So would we stay again? Yes, no reason not to - we would just make sure we had a bigger room with a balcony!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in July. The Hotel is inside a shared building that also has le Petite Hotel and I think some professional offices, but the floor that we were on is very secure and entrance to rooms can only be accessed via card swipe. We had booked a deluxe suite and all I can say is wow!. The room was spacious and ultra clean with marble flooring and behind the bed up a few stairs there was a lovely spa with twinkling lights in the ceiling. The large bathroom was hidden behind a large mural in the hallway and there was also a separate steam shower. We had a lovely balcony to sit and have a glass of wine at the end of the day. The bed was very comfortable and although there was air conditioning we didn't need to use it much as we could get a lovely breeze through the balcony door. The restaurant downstairs 'Cotto' is really nice for breakfast, which is included in the price of the room and they will make your coffee to order. We had dinner there one night and sat outside, the food was very good and reasonably priced. I think the location is great, within walking distance to the termini and lots of shops and restaurants. I would have say that this was a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Dharma, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Donna57Melbourne,

thank you so much for posting a wonderful review about your stay at Dharma Hotel. We are glad to know that you had a great time here and a "memorable" 5 nights visit in Rome.
I am happy that your experience at Dharma ticked all boxes and you loved our Boutique style hotel.
Feel free to come back anytime you're in Rome,

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

A very stylish boutique hotel that is very European in character (a fact that clearly escapes some reviewers) and completely understated from the street - in fact it is almost invisible from the kerb. We were three mature couples in our group and spent five nights at the Hotel Dharma.

All three rooms were quite different in their layout and decoration with considered thought being given to utilise the space available in each room. If you want a "vanilla" big brand hotel room then this may not be for you. We all enjoyed our respective rooms and could not fault the amenities contained in each. Street noise was not an issue but it was holiday season for the locals in Rome so the city had much less traffic than normal.

Staff at reception were helpful at all times and had excellent English language skills.

Breakfast is served in the "Cotta" restaurant below the hotel on the street level and caters for all tastes. Each day of our stay eggs (boiled and omelet), bacon, tomatoes etc were available as a hot selection along with several pastry choices, muesli's, cereals, bread, fruit juices etc. Coffee and teas were made to order by the waitperson of the morning. All in a very satisfactory offering.

Over all this is a good hotel if you want a small hotel experience. If you want grand foyers, doormen etc the look else where.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Dharma, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Lance C,

thank you very much for your stunning feedback, we appreciate your effort.
We are glad to know that you had such a great time at Dharma Hotel and you were amused by our concept and hotel style.
Feel free to visit Dharma anytime you're in Rome.

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dharma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dharma

Address: Via Torino 122 | Small Boutique Hotel, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Dharma 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Boutique Hotel located in City Centre, walking distance to many sightseeings. 17 Design rooms and Suites with excellent customer service, perfect to spend your holiday in Rome with a classy touch and insider tips. Book direct through Official Site and get the Best Available Deal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dharma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dharma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.