We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing modern luxury accommodation in great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dharma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dharma to your Saves list
Hotel Dharma
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Torino 122 | Small Boutique Hotel, 00184 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing modern luxury accommodation in great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If coming back to Rome we would definitely return to this hotel. While not a conventional hotel, being set over 2 floors of a townhouse style building it is well worth choosing above larger hotels. The rooms are modern and luxurious and spacious given the city location. With just 17 rooms in the hotel it only has rooms and a reception but this is all you need and it is a great place to return to after a day exploring Rome. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful and advised us of where to go, where to eat, how to travel around etc. The hotel is in a great location 15 minutes walk from most of the key attractions. On top of this, at the end of the road is the metro station which offers quicker transport to the colosseum and vatican (which is probably the furthest sight away). There is an abundance of shops and restaurants nearby and very nice ice cream at the gelateria de maggiore. The restaurant downstairs is the provider of breakfast and although not a large selection, it is more than sufficient for what you need to set you up for the day. Overall it was a fabulous hotel and one that allowed us to have the wonderfully relaxing holiday we was hoping for in the beautiful city of Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Dharma, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear danielq90,

thank you for sharing your experience at Dharma Hotel, we are very happy that you had such a good time. I know that for someone the hotel's outfit and enviroment might be a little unconventional but we are very glad that you enjoyed Dharma's unique style.

Feel free to post me suggestions in private, they are welcome.

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    169
    24
    2
    2
See reviews for
78
426
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Returned yesterday after 3 nights in Rome. We stopped at the Dharma after reading reviews and we were not disapointed. Great location just off Via Nazionale and within walking distance of all the major tourist attractions. The rooms were suberb and the quality of the bathroom was outstanding. The three different staff we met at reception throughout the stay were extremly helpful and gave us some great information regarding where to eat etc. Breakfast at the Restaurant Cotto was great with a good variety of meat, cheese, bread, fruit, yoghurts and cakes!!! The coffee wasnt too bad either!
Would book here again without doubt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Dharma, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Stephen T,

thank you for sharing your perfect experience at Dharma Hotel, we are glad that you had such a good time in Rome. Thank you for your kind effort, we will take care of your suggestions and I promise we will do our best to improve breakfast (a lot has been made so far... but it's never enough).

Feel free to come back anytime for your citybreak like home!

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A very good experience in this hotel.
Small but very good for a stay in Rome. It's small, located in different floors within a "normal" building very close to Termini Station.
Not the typical hotel with huge lobby and all the possible sevices but rooms. If one looks for a typical hotel this is not the case.
If one looks for a very well designed, attention to details, very nice personnel, stylish rooms, etc., this is the place in the very center of Rome.
Suggested!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Dharma, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Dudygiac,

thank you for sharing your experience at Dharma Hotel. We appreciate your kind feedback.
We are very glad to know that you had such a good time at our hotel and you enjoyed our attitude.

Feel free to come back anytime and check our Wellness Suites for better comfort.

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our stay from April 7th to 9th April 2013

Room:
after spent 13 days in Italy & 3 nights in another Rome's hotel. Dharma Hotel really impressed me and my most comfortable stay for my last 2 nights in Rome. I booked Dharma Hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and surely it didn't disappoint me.
Just a note (especially for Asian), the double room's shower room only comes with glass door and open concept. Incase you are with friends or family members (you can't be too self conscious of your body.. haha).
I like ceiling's shower (Dharma Hotel has it!) and the Keiji brand of aroma bath & shampoo gels really smell good (luv it!)

Safety: I feel safe in this hotel. You are only accessible to many doors through the two different keys gadgets from the hotel.

Breakfast & Food at Cotte Restaurant: they serve standard Itatian breakfast BUT with Creativity. It does brighten up my day!
We had our 2nd night dinner at Cotte. The food was just so marvaleous. I like the roast lamb and the salmon salad (really so yummy!). Highly recommend!
Tip: check the restaurant's Promo Poster. They offered main course 20% and hotel guests entitled 10%. So better take the restaurant offer!

Conclusion : I will definately stay at Hotel Dharma again! Good location & cosy! Great for couple!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Dharma, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Caris_Minky,

thank you for posting your candid feedback on Tripadvisor, we appreciate your kind effort.
We are very happy to know that Dharma gave your last two days in Rome a twist... Glad to know that you loved our bath aromas, this is something that we've been testing for long.

Feel free to come back anytime on your next visit to Rome!

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

my wife and I just spent 3 nights in the wellness suite, 4th-7th April, I was aware of the previous comments, high noise levels, noisy rooms, !!! This is the center of Rome for god sake!! It was not quiet I admit, If you want quiet move to the outskirts and be away from all the sights, simple.
We would recommend the Dharma everytime. It was all and more, convenient, luxurious, friendly.
My only small issue would be breakfast, It was nice but very limited,
The restaurant where breakfast was served do fine evening meals, we ate there every evening, the staff in both the hotel and the restaurant were fantastic..
We would recommend spending that little bit more for the suite, room 501, steam room, huge shower, sunken Jacuzzi bath. these were welcoming after walking around most of the day.

Room Tip: pay a bit extra for room 501. google images.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Dharma, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Terrymcc67,

thank you very much for sharing your experience at Dharma Hotel, we appreciate your effort.
I am very glad that you had such a good time in Rome and your stay in Wellness Suite with balcony was highly appreciated.
You're right, it's a noisy area and we provide earplugs for light sleepers. As soon as possible we are going to strengthen our soundproofing.
About breakfast, feel free to suggest me in private any additional feature to breakfast, It will be very nice from you. Feel free to come back anytime on your next city-break!

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stay in April/13 in Dharma hotel, a family with 2 kids (10 and 13 yo).
Important to understand:
- The hotel is the third and part of the fifth floor of a building, where there are another hotel (Petit Hotel) and other residents. This means you need to do check-in in a room that is used as reception (5th floor);
- The location isn't beautiful but is convenient, very close to metro station Republica (2 min), or the Termine Train Station (10 min);
- The room is refurbished in a modern style, but very close to a busy and noisy road. The window's cealing isn't good, and When we arrive in the room there were some "complementary" ear plug, just to have idea of how noisy is the room.
- The service to clean the room, and replace towels, etc only up to 13h. Because after that the hotel don't have someone to do it.
- The check out isn't possible from 6-8 am, because the reception is closed during this time. If you need to do it this time you need to do it in advance;
- When we arrive in the hotel there were a problem with our reservation, that we did in a room for 4, and when we arrive they suggested 2 separated room. After a very tiring discussion, without reasonable alternatives, the "general manager" suggested us a downgrade in our room with a "discount voucher" to be used in the restaurant from the property. Of course we refuse, and next day, in a less stressed discussion they suggested one bigger room + the original room.
- The worst was reserved to the end... I requested the hotel to keep our luggage stored in the hotel up to 3pm, after the check-out 8am. As the hotel don't have space to this service, so normal in a normal hotel, they proposed to keep our luggage in one room. I kept the room key, and put a "don't distub" sign in the door. When we arrive back 2pm the room was opened, and they put one of our box on trash, including a certificate of a sculpture that we bought in Vatican.

As usual the hotel don't accept any mistake, and start to blame us, as now i can see that is the normal behavior of the answer in this forum... arrogant.

Important to understand that if you choose this hotel this can happens...

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Dharma, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
​Dear JasaoBrasil,

please accept our sincere apologies for the very bad experience that you had at Dharma Hotel.
We have never experienced such a bad situation like this time and we we are very sad about it and kind of surprised.

First of all, let me say that we never met during your stay. Apologies for that. You had a long discussion with my second in charge, Mrs Daniela Fabi, but never had the chance to meet each other and it was clearly my fault (forced to bed because of illness). Daniela tried to explain about the Hotel's good faith and we offered complimentary solutions in order to make your stay more comfortable and bright.

I am very sorry to know that Dharma Hotel did not adhere to your standards and we are very sad about it. First, because you booked through our website, so you should have been taught about the Hotel's nature and aspect. This situation made me think about our online communication and maybe we have to learn from​ this experience and improve our website. ​

Let me quote you:

"When we arrive in the hotel there were a problem with our reservation, that we did in a room for 4, and when we arrive they suggested 2 separated room. After a very tiring discussion, without reasonable alternatives, the "general manager" suggested us a downgrade in our room with a "discount voucher" to be used in the restaurant from the property. Of course we refuse, and next day, in a less stressed discussion they suggested one bigger room + the original room"

The misunderstanding was the following:

- you booked 2 reservations with ​2​ different credit cards;
- 1st resevation for 1 room, 2 adults​ - OK​;
- 2nd reservation for 2 rooms, 4 adults ​- NOT OK; ​

So you had 3 Double rooms. Upon arrival, we upgraded for free two of your three rooms up to Comfort Double rooms. You were assigned to 310 309 and 311. ​

No downgrade.

Thanks to our online reservation system, we are able to show you the booking path​ that lead to your reservation​, which shows your IP address​, ​how you acted on our website​, now many seconds you were on a page, your selections on our Online Booking, etc.

You clearly booked two rooms for 4 adults, knowing to do that. We can send you proof anytime.

When you arrived, you claimed to have just 1 Double room for 4 people. Please double-check our website: there is no Room or Suite available for 4 adults.
If you try to book for 4 adults, you will be asked for Room 1 and Room 2.
Only Executive room has got a sofa bed that can be used for 2 kids - but it is not available online. We would have been very happy to upgrade you to the Executive room, unless it was already taken by other guests.

I am very ​unpleased ​about the misunderstanding, but as I mentioned before, we got in touch with your husband two times prior to arrival and ​we ​asked for confirmation about number of rooms and adults. ​Could we have done more? It looks like you had same problem with the hotel you visited in Florence. They had a Suite to upgrade you... unfortunately it was not a solution available at Dharma.​
I am ​truly​ sorry that you did not have ​a pleasant​ stay because of a ​​misunderstanding that could have been solved the day after your reservation in January. ​We do not gain anything from situation like this, our mission is your happiness. If you are not happy, you can call it a failure. ​

About your​ ​experience on check out:

"The worst was reserved to the end... I requested the hotel to keep our luggage stored in the hotel up to 3pm, after the check-out 8am. As the hotel don't have space to this service, so normal in a normal hotel, they proposed to keep our luggage in one room. I kept the room key, and put a "don't distub" sign in the door. When we arrive back 2pm the room was opened, and they put one of our box on trash, including a certificate of a sculpture that we bought in Vatican"

Again, another misunderstanding.

You asked to keep your​ luggage in your room until the afternoon. ​
Concierge asked you to pack your luggage and keep it together, because no late check out was possible. Room had to be clean (another arrival was expected​ in the evening​) and an empty box left alone down the window was trashed.
What you failed to mention, is that our maid gave your husband the content of your box.
Please double-check with your husband, he should have got all your box's content.

Apologies for making your vacation in Rome a very bad experience. I would be very happy to meet you again and ​look​ for a brand new start.

Dharma Hotel is just a​nother kind of a hotel.​ ​
S​mall hotel, ​1 star category, ​only 17 design rooms, lacking of many features of a 4 or 5 stars hotel (no porterage service, no big lobby, no internal restaurant room, no 24h reception (only two black out hours in the early morning), no swimming pool, no golf club, no car parking, no gym, no shops. ​

If you look for high value for money, we are your place.
If you look for friendly and tailored service, we are your place.
If you look for stylish rooms, good comfort and excellent downtown location, we are your place.

Feel free to contact me in private for any further suggestion.

Thank you again for staying at Dharma Hotel.

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

As per other reviewers, the hotel is ideally located in the heart of Rome. The rooms are stylish, with elegant design. We stayed for 5 nights start of April in a Junior suit, room, 302. The room had a fantastic shower/ steam room, big bathroom and nice jacuzzi bath. The room was cleaned daily to high standard. Slippers provided but no dressing gowns.

Noise - As per other reviewers the noise outside at some points is unbearable... it can get so noisy that you think the windows are open but they are all closed. During the day not a problem, but when the bin men come around at 01:00 for around 45 mins daily your night sleeps are disturbed. I have stayed i many city centre hotels ( for business and pleasure), and afraid to report this was probably the worse for noise... if the hotel could do something about the sound proofing of the Windows this would really help.

Aircon - The room was hot - We wanted to turn down the aircon but it didn't seem to work. Reception informed us that during the winter months its not in aircon mode, but room ambient mode, i.e if it falls below a certain temp the it would heat, but would not cool... suggestion... open the windows... during the day fine, but as per noise note above not a great solution. Everyone has there only preferred temperate, thus seems a bit silly for the units to be looked to seasonal modes.

Staff - Great welcome and staff always willing to help. The only thing i say is that they need to keep consistency in approach to ensure continued high standard service. I.e asking for where we could get an umbrella from only to be told no shops open... however a good tip would be to say people sell them on every street corner. Or a good extra would be to provide Hotel umbrellas.

All in all, great hotel, just needs to tweet a few things to get to that 5 star feel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Dharma, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Andy O,

thank you for sharing your candid feedback on Tripadvisor, we appreciate it.
Thank you very much your tips, we will take advantage of your kind effort.
We can't escape the air con winter mode until the end of March, this is not up to our will and it deals with energy saving rules. I think 99% of hotels in Rome adhere to this standard. Anyway, you should have noticed that we switched from winter to summer during your stay.

Just one thing about umbrellas: we have free umbrellas for our guests, they're in the entrance, you can borrow them anytime. You asked for "where can I buy one umbrella" and I just thought you wanted to buy a stylish umbrella and I started to think about one good shop... You looked very style-attentive and I just missed the point. Apologies for that, it was my fault.

Thank you again for your kind words of encouragement, we are very keen to our customers' point of view.

Feel free to contact me in private for further tips.

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Dharma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dharma

Address: Via Torino 122 | Small Boutique Hotel, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Dharma 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Boutique Hotel located in City Centre, walking distance to many sightseeings. 17 Design rooms and Suites with excellent customer service, perfect to spend your holiday in Rome with a classy touch and insider tips. Book direct through Official Site and get the Best Available Deal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dharma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dharma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.