We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Wonderful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Due Torri

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Due Torri
Save
You added Hotel Due Torri to your Saves list
Vicolo del Leonetto, 23, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location and Wonderful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hotel Due Torri is located in the heart of Rome. An easy walk to most major tourist attractions and terrific restaurants.

The hotel has charm. Our room on the 5th floor was small but if you include the terrace it was a perfect size. Ask for a room on the 4th or 5th floor with a terrace. Nothing like having breakfast or a late afternoon glass of wine looking out over the rooftops of Rome. The continental breakfast was splendid. Each staff member we met was very friendly and helpful. The front desk staff spoke excellent English and each of them were very helpful.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again and I will recommend it to my family and friends.

Room Tip: 4th or 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    83
    30
    2
    5
See reviews for
50
71
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hole Due Torri is situated in a small alley near many tourist sites in Rome. The reception is extremely helpful and will help you organize all of your requests. The rooms are basic and of an average level of cleanliness although they could do with a refurbishment. Nevertheless, the hotel offers fair value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This charming hotel on a quiet side street in the heart of ancient Rome is delightful. It is within walking distance of everything one wants to see in Rome. The rooms are lovely, and the hotel staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. I needed to see a dentist on an emergency basis, and they arranged everything. There are many great restaurants within blocks of the hotel and a bus line close by. They arranged for taxis to and from the airport and train station and helped us with bus tour reservations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I will not even begin to go into much detail about the smallness of room 504 and the other three rooms shown to us. Size of the room is usually irrelevant in European hotels. I don't care about that, as long as it's clean and I have a place to open my suitcase, and sleep.

Well, in this room we could not even open our suitcase and the front door at the same time.. It was so bad it had us laughing uncontrollably as if this nightmarish room was on a skit from Saturday Night Live about small dirty European hotels.
Beside the tiny size of the room with no place to walk only room for the bed, It was the grime and filth evident that we could not tolerate in this room.

I have pretty low standards for moderately priced small hotels in Italy. However, I expect the standerds for cleanliness to be acceptable enough for a hotel that was $230.00 USD.

It was filthy, thick layer of grime on the telephone (see attached photos). The closet had black mold growing and a layer of dust on the wall. The bathroom shower stall had black mold, and the drain was scary dirty with grime and hair in the drain from previous guest.

The ceiling was moldy.
The airconditioning when put on blew out dirt.
The doors were dirty with filthy fingerprints from many previous guests.
It was so overall disgusting I was choking from mold in the air.

I don't except the standerd of cleanness to be as in a corporate chain hotel, but something that looks like the staff is doing their job besides making a bed and replacing the toilet paper between guests needs to be done in this hotel.
There was even hair on the night stand from the last guest.

I was pleasantly shocked at how responsive the front desk person was to our concerns, they were amazingly accommodating, kindly took our concerns very seriously, and apologetic for the filth. They allowed us to look at three other rooms for consideration to transfer to that was available. I was horrifying the condition of the others bathrooms and the rooms where dark and dingy not outside light in these rooms, two of them had no ceiling in the bathroom, Really no ceiling, you can see through to some ugly dirty open gird plastic thing to all the open grimly duct work and open holes into dirty vents. scary.

The front desk gentlemen graciously sugested we look look at the rooms in the owners other hotel Fontanella Borghese only few short streets, he called them and we left our luggage and walked to over to look at rooms they have available.
To our delight it was everything you would want and expected from a small European hotel. Thankfully this made it all better for us and had a lovely couple of nights in this hotel.

We agreed to transfer to that hotel and thrilled to have them physically do the transfer of our luggage for us, so when we checked into the other hotel our luggage was waiting for us in our clean room with a window, and some floor space to walk around and room to breathe, clean clotes and bathroom. The staff there was as wonderful and charming, personable and helpful, that is what makes these types of stays in small hotels in Europe lovely.

Go to the Hotel fontanella Borghese by the same owner if you want a quaint European hotel experience in this same neighborhood and price range.

Room Tip: Rooms are filthy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIACINZIA, Manager at Hotel Due Torri, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Madam,

We had the chance to read your message and we just wish to say that if the hotel was so horrible as you described it, there was no reason to sleep there not even for one night. Furthermore as the owner, as you write, is the same of hotel Fontanella Borghese (our siter hotel)is not possible that she ownes and manages her two hotels in a such different way.
We are glad anyway you had a pleasant stay at our sister hotel.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis, MD
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Due Torri is on a very small side street (in the U.S., it would be an alleyway) near the Piazza Navona. Smallish rooms (and a really tiny shower stall in the bathroom), but clean and comfortable. Staff is extremely helpful - great restaurant recommendations, transit information, etc. It's about a 45 minute walk to the Vatican, and about the same to the Forum - but walk if you can, especially to the Forum/Palatine/Colliseum area, since you'll go through a lot of interesting neighborhoods. Rome isn't cheap (although it's less expensive than Venice) and the Due Torri is a good value.

Room Tip: You might want to step up from the least expensive room - others have nicer views and maybe a terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIACINZIA, Direttore at Hotel Due Torri, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Sirs,

We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us and we really hope to meet you again.
Regarding the smallish room as you write, we have to say that unfortunately as we are very close to the river it can happen that the wind cause us this problem.
We apologise for that but unfortunately it's not under our control and there is nothing we can do.
Wishing you all the best we send you our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

As you may expect, the rooms in Due Torri are fairly small with enough room for your suitcases and you. Due Torri is in good location near the Spanish steps and the Piazza del Popolo which requires a cab ride from the train station (although we saw a rummed out bum sleeping in the archway one night coming back from dinner). Breakfast is included and a there is laptop in the lobby area for internet, which should be sufficient for your basic needs.

The furnishings and bedding seem like that they haven't been updated quite in a while, and noise reverberates throughout the narrow alley, but that is probably common for Rome. Be advised, if you call a cab to Due Torri, they come with their meter running from where they started.

All in all, for the price, you may be able to get more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIACINZIA, Direttore at Hotel Due Torri, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Sirs,

We saw the review youy wrote and we wish to thank you so much.
Regarding the bum unfortunatley as you know they are all over the world. In anyc ase he was very harmless.
We hope to meet you again in the near future and send you our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, oh
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Have stayed here three times and always pleased with our visit. Small hotel in very quiet, but very convenient location. Rooms are small, but efficient and well furnished. Lovely, helpful staff. Breakfast is included and served most of the morning hours. Easy walking to most popular tourist locations and even to Trastevere.

Room Tip: Request larger room, if you require more comfortable space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Due Torri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Due Torri

Address: Vicolo del Leonetto, 23, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#126 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#171 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Due Torri Rome
Due Torri Hotel
Hotel Due Torri Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Due Torri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.