We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B by the Roman Forum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anne&Mary

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Anne&Mary to your Saves list
Anne&Mary
Via Cavour, 325, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,333 of 3,079 Rome B&B and Inns
New York, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B by the Roman Forum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

A great location, and I couldn't find much cheaper for Rome. You get a nice breakfast with the room. Tasteful decoration and a welcoming environment. We stayed here twice on our way to and back to the states, and on the second time we got a much nicer shower and bath in our room.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
14
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2006

My fiance' and I stayed at the Anne&Mary for 2 nites in May 2005. The location was fairly central to most sites--15-20 minute walk to most places. We had a back room so noise was not an issue. But locating the b&b was difficult, as the only marking outside is a very small sign. The room we had was small but clean. Breakfast was very disappointing--yogurt, fruit, and pre-packaged bread--not what I expected for a B&B. Staff was cordial but not friendly and inviting. Overall it was okay but i'd try another place next time.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2004

My wife and I stayed at Anne & Mary Bed & Breakfast for 5 nights in October 2004. Except for a couple of positives, we were severely disappointed, overall. First off, anyone expecting an American type B&B experience should think again. 1) The staff was not particuarly friendly or hospitable. 2) The breakfast is pathetic (e.g. toast came out of a plastic wrapper). After the first morning, we stopped eating the B&B breakfast and started picking up fresh pasteries and croissants at a bakery up the street. I mention this criticism only because the place's name sets an expectation ("Bed & Breakfast") -- normally, I would not hold a small European hotel to American standards ("When in Rome..."). Also, for context, I am not a pampered, spoiled American tourist -- I prefer authentic, European style experiences when traveling in Europe. By contrast, the breakfast at our hotel in Sorrento was positively delicious, by American or European standards. We had a courtyard room at A&M; on the plus side, it was quiet at night (no street traffic noises from busy Via Cavour). On the minus side, it was very dark and kind of depressing to hang out in while resting between site seeing. The location is convenient if you are concerned with being close to the ruins (Collisseum and Forum), but it is located on a busy street with a ton of traffic (the street is not remotely charming, in terms of shops or ambience). 2 metro stops are nearby as well as bus lines, so it's easy to get to other parts of Rome. Now that I know the layout of Rome, I'd stay either near the Spanish steps, near the Pantheon or near Piazza Navona (great night life but not near metro) on a quiet street on a future visit. Finally, A&M accepts only cash and they prefer to be paid up-front, so it is difficult to switch hotels if you decide you are unhappy after a night or two. (To be fair, we didn't try to do this, so I'm not sure what A&M's policy would be.)

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2004

We stayed for 3 nights in June 04. The B&B is clean, comfortable, good location and friendly.

Anne & MAry arranged our transport to and from the airport - a car was waiting for us at arrivals and wisked us straight to the B&B without any problems or hitches.

They also recommended good places to eat.

The only critism would be that breakfast was dissapointing. Fresh Bread would have been much better than the pre-packed version and it would have been nice to have proper glasses rather than disposable plastic cups.

The B&B was above a row of shops and it could be difficult to find as the only sign was the small name plate above the bell.

I'd go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2004

On the Via Cavour, about 300 metres from the Colosseum, this hotel was an easy walk to most of the major Roman sites, and an easy bus ride to Termini Station (Routes 75 or 84 - about 10 minutes).

Our room was on the inside (courtyard) of the hotel, so it was very quiet. The room was a good size, although not large by North American standards. The bathroom was big, and came complete with a bidet! Our bed was really two single beds pushed together, but it was adequate and comfortable.

The room was very clean. The breakfast was good -fruit, yogurt, croissants, and packaged toast, with coffee or tea, and OJ and jam.

The room came with a safe and key, which was also very helpful. The room was cleaned daily, and appeared to have fresh towels each day. There was a small fridge in our room, which was useful for storing water, etc. overnight.

Lots of touristy restaurants on the Via Cavour, but in the back streets, we found a couple of charming wine bars/restaurants. Beware of bread and cover charges at some of the more tourist-oriented restaurants. We had to pay 12 Euros extra for one meal near the Vatican, as we were charged 2 Euros each (3 people) for bread and an additional service charge, which is not usual at most European restaurants. This restaurant was NOT associated with the Anne & Mary.

All in all, a good hotel, with friendly staff. Note that they do not take credit card payments - only cash.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anne&Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne&Mary

Address: Via Cavour, 325, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,333 of 3,079 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Anne&Mary" bed&breakfast is located in an elegant 19th century building, just a few steps from the Colosseum, in the suggestive atmosphere of the Imperial Rome. To make your stay unforgettable, "Anne & Mary" b&b offers you confortable and elegant rooms. Each room is equipped with TV, mini-bar, air conditioning, private bathroom and safe. Rooms are furnished with taste and elegance, available in the shades of green and light blu, tought to assure you a relaxed stay in a charming atmosphere. They are all indipendent, daily cleaned, and are equipped with all the comforts, ideal for a stay respecting privacy and comfortness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Anne&Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anne&Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.