We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abitazione Pigneto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Abitazione Pigneto to your Saves list
Abitazione Pigneto
Via Perugia, 16, 00176 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #789 of 2,884 Rome B&B and Inns
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

I wanted to show my girlfriend the beautiful city of Rome and found this nicely priced B&B on Tripadvisor. All I can do, is giving Giorgio and Fulvio the credits for their wonderful place to stay. Yes, the breakfast is somewhat simple and it´s not located in the city centre. But both bus and tram stops are nearby, so within a quarter of an hour you are downtown. Goirgio drove us from the airport to their place, which is more advisable if your flight arrives late. He provided us with useful info about Rome and the neighbourhood of the Abitazione Pigneto. Nice restaurants, do´s and dont´s etc.
So if you want a nice clean place to stay for a fair price and taking the tram or bus to the centre is not a problem, then Abitazione Pigneto is the place for you.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Although a little far out from the city centre, although there is a tram stop very close by, we loved staying at Giorgio's B&B. We felt very welcomed, Giorgio was very helpful and the place was clean and well kept.
Considering how expensive accommodation in Italy can be I'd definietly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

Georgio and Fulvio are wonderful people. Georgio picked us up from the airport on-time and brought us straight to his B&B. During the drive he was pointing out places where we should visit and explained the bus system (not that difficult to understand). When we arrived, he showed us to our room which was much larger then anticipated. There was a large queen size bed as well as a smaller day bed. The doors to the shared terrace was a treat. Georgio has a very large collection of cacti. The terrace overlooks the neighborhood. The neighborhood is welcoming and very safe.

Breakfast was perfect! Meat, cheese, toast (jam and butter), coffee and juice. We were able to eat at any time we wanted.

The entire time that we stayed at Abitazione Pigneto, we felt as though we were at home.

I recommend this B&B to everyone.

C and M

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawkner, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights in August 2008. The owners, who live on the same floor, were very accommodating but also gave us our space. The room and bathroom were VERY large and decorated according to their local tastes. They also run an antique store next to the apartment. They very generously washed our clothes for us and we could nominate what time we desired breakfast. What hospitality! We were a little confused as to whether we were allowed to use their computer or not but snuck in a short session or two on the internet late at night. We did find one of them in the apartment one day, which was not a problem after the initial shock as we hadn't been introduced to that co-owner. The area is easy to navigate by tram but since we did clearly witness pickpocketing first hand, we would suggest you don't carry your wallet in your back pocket! The area is multicultural and probably safe.

  • Liked — homely feel
  • Disliked — nothing
Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

My husband and I stayed in this B&B for five nights in July while my husband took a mosaic class around the corner. We had alot of fun! Giorgio and Fulvio are great hosts! Once we figured out the bus and subway system(which is easy) we were able to get around Rome with no problem. The room and bathroom were extremly clean. We also were able to use the computer that is in the apartment, which is a nice touch. Breakfast was good. Giorgio has great reccomendations of places to see while in Rome. I would highly reccomend this Bed&Breakfast!

  • Liked — Staying in a real Roman neighborhood
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England/United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

The Abitazione Pigneto is located in an apartment building in a beautiful tree-lined neighbourhood in the suburbs of Rome. It about twenty minutes from the Colosseum by bus, which you can catch at a bus stop just a two minute walk away (a line on that stop also takes you directly to Termini station). The bed and breakfast is run by Giorgio and his business partner Fulvio, who are gracious hosts. We stayed here three nights and had a great experience.

The B&B is actually an apartment with three bedrooms, a shared bath, a kitchen, a dining room, and an entrance hall. Giorgio and Fulvio live across the hall on the same floor, but the B&B was originally Giorgio's home and he still treats it as such. He loves the flat and the dynamic interplay of eclectic and colorful furnishings in each room, especially the artwork and artifacts littered everywhere, reflects it; it truly feels like a home and feels very "Roman."

Our room was large and had an extra day-bed in it. Our bed was low to the ground, but comfortable. There is a shared balcony for some of the rooms, which looks over the street and the neighbourhood. We didn't find it noisy at all, except for a few cars gunning their engines around mid-evening. It's a real neighbourhood, so your view and experience will be of a real neighbourhood, but this is not a drawback. You'll truly believe you're living in Rome instead of just visiting.

One thing: The neighbourhood around the Abitazione Pigneto is fine and very safe, even at night. There are families everywhere, along with nice restaurants, cafes, businesses, etc. tucked into the well kept-up apartment buildings. However, there are large groups of men that hang out at all times of the day around the bus stop area; this may be because there is a mosque or at least a men's meeting center nearby, but it is nothing to be particularly worried about. Cars and motorbikes in this area dart through the streets, too, and aren't very forgiving, so watch out!

We asked Giorgio to pick us up from Ciampino airport, as we would have had no clue how to get to the B&B on our own. While the pick-up price is a bit steep (25 euros for Ciampino, 35 for da Vinci), we've very glad we asked him. We got a very unique tour of greater Rome, including zipping around and through ancient aqueducts, and also gained a lot of insight on touring Rome from Giorgio.

He helps you with figuring out bus tickets, which are your key to the city, and also recommended a fabulous, 'real' Italian restaurant just a block from the B&B. Also, Giorgio insisted we get on the bus (either the 81 or 810) the moment we arrived to go see the Colosseum at sunset; it's a treat and very easy to do, and we're happy he suggested it.

Fulvio is the one who will typically take care of you -- he handles breakfast, cleans the rooms, and probably will deal with check-out or storing your bags for the day. He does not speak English, but does speak some French and Spanish; however, he's nice and the language barrier won't be a problem as long as you learn a few phrases in Italian.

Breakfast is very basic -- cheese, meat, butter, jam, toast, coffee, and juice -- and could be more. You can have it at whatever time you want in the morning, though, which was great. There are also numerous trattorias, cafes, restaurants, and markets in the immediate area, too, if you're ever looking for a quick snack or a late dinner.

We had a lovely time here. Giorgio and Fulvio are very kind, and have a vested interest in aiding travelers because they travel a lot themselves. This is much to their credit in making their us feel comfortable and helping us have a positive experience. Despite the somewhat long distance from the city centre, I don't think we could have had a better experience in Rome. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — service and the rooms
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, CA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2006

I booked this B&B through Venere in August 2006 at 55 euros a night, and was very pleased with it. The room was large and very clean, with a high ceiling, a large TV, two large windows that opened into the center "courtyard" area of the building (though not a pretty view), and it had a large bed plus a twin daybed, two nightstands with lamps and a marble-topped table and chair for writing or eating. The room is decorated in a sort of eclectic artsy antique style with lots of original artwork, and I found the large bed to be very comfortable. The attached bathroom is also very large and clean, tiled completely in lovely porcelain, with high ceilings, a large tub with a hand-held shower attachment, an area for hanging clothes, and a cabinet for storing folded clothes and shoes. The bathroom counter is marble and nice and large for all of us women's stuff! Overall, I didn't find it to be very noisy at night, but I always wear earplugs, so that helps. The owners, Fulvio and Giorgio, are wonderful people, very helpful about helping you find your way around the city, and very conscientious about everything, including a lovely breakfast on MY schedule. Incidentally, Fulvio picked me up at the Fiumicino airport for 35 euros, so it was nice not to have to deal with taxis. Also FYI, Giorgio speaks fluent English but he's not usually there during the day, and Fulvio speaks very little English, so be sure to brush up on the most common phrases! The neighborhood is a bit "dodgy" perhaps, in an ethnic area of the Prenestina neighborhood, but it is still very safe, even for an attractive single woman (I was never molested by anyone), and there are all kinds of markets, farmacia, cafes, a wine bar and other shops within very close walking distance. There is also a bus stop and a tram stop (cable-car) within one block.

  • Liked — Price and cleanliness
  • Disliked — View from the room
  • Tips/Secrets — Learn common Italian phrases, take good walking shoes, learn how to negotiate the tram/bus sytem, don't be afraid to venture out on your own and communicate with the locals!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abitazione Pigneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abitazione Pigneto

Address: Via Perugia, 16, 00176 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #789 of 2,884 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abitazione Pigneto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abitazione Pigneto Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abitazione Pigneto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.