We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value. Great People” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grifo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grifo to your Saves list
Hotel Grifo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Boschetto, 144, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #198 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Good Value. Great People”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I didn't want to write this review until we had spent more time in other Italian hotels to compare as I found some things a little odd about Hotel Grifo.
First let me say that the staff here are absolutely fantastic and really will help you "survive" Rome. Heed their advices and your stay in the city will be enhanced enormously.
Now the hotel. In a great location within easy walking distance of the Forums & Colleseo. Not too far from Pantheon & Piazza Navona. A bit further to Trevi & Spanish steps but only a short distance to the Cavour metro station for easy access to these other attractions or use the hop on/off bus service from the Colleseum to get to Vatican and sites in the north. (Red one is most crowded but travels most often). Rooms are small but not the smallest in Rome and clean. Breakfast is served fresh in the hotel each day with additional selections available for a nominal charge. Beds - they are short. At first we thought this may be an "Italian" thing but we have not encountered elsewhere during our travels. Our feet hung over the edge of the bed which was hard as a rock. This was in the more expensive 'balcony' room so I do not know what the other rooms would be like. If you are looking for a quirky stay with fabulous local insider knowledge, then stay here. If you prefer the standard comforts of a 'regular' hotel - then look elsewhere.

Room Tip: It's not about the room at this hotel. More about the experience of being in a genuine little fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    280
    61
    38
    17
See reviews for
161
359
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We thought we booked a hotel and were very surprised at the low quality for the 150 euros per night we paid for a double room. The room was in 3rd floor with an elevator that didn't work. We were denied two keys for the room, even though we needed a key to open the front door and the door to the floor, so basically one of us could not exit the room if the other stayed in and needed light in the room, as the electrisity-key was on the same ketchain. We then would have to borrow a key from the reception, walk up 3 stairs, pick up our key while the other waited in the dark, run down to the reception and hand in the borrowed keys, and then run back up 3 stairs again. The staff was not helpful at all, we had a baby with us and needed hot water for his porridge, but some of the staff refused to help us, saying we had to wait until 9 pm, way past baby's sleeping time... When we asked for directions to a restaurant, they tried to prevent us from going there, saying this restaurant was bad and we should use another one ( which wasn't that good, in fact we found metal pieces in the food there). When we asked if Forum Romanum was open, they said no no no, there's too much rain, so we thought it might be closed because of the rain. Turned out, it was open! The bed wasn't a real bed, but to camping beds with matrasses on top. The breakfast was dissapointing. I hope there are better hotels in Rome than this hole.

Room Tip: choose another hotel ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrifoRome, Responsabile reception at Hotel Grifo, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest, thank you for writing this review thus you give us the possibility to reply.

What we read is a caricature of our hotel, as this is your first review and you might not be an experienced to travel, in order to recognise a genuine hotel bed from a camping bed.

When we suggested you not to go in the morning to the roman forum, this was because in the afternoon it was not going to Rain. Hence ours was a friendly ‎suggestion: visit the Roman Forum when it does not rain. How could you understand the Roman Forum was closed?

You were about to eat in a place where ‎the reheat with the microwave oven frozen food and we suggested you a restaurant where for cheaper you could eat something real. We usually recommend typical hystorical restaurants of our area where we go to eat ourselves. In different years we never heard of something strange like pieces of metal in the dishes of the restaurants we suggest. Of course, we do not tell you are lying, it just seems strange to us.

Responding to most of your critics is difficult as we don't understand what you are talking about.

We have never claimed to be a five stars hotel, nor to host you for free.

Our hotel is not perfect but we try to host you in a friendly way. 99% of our guests only agree on this concept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel Grifo is in a great location in Rome. Walk to the Coliseum, Forum and Palatine Hill. Right on the bus line for Vatican city.

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Ask Rosa for dinner recommendations in this delightful neighborhood.

Breakfast is included with lots of choices. A roof-top terrace is a great place for a quiet glass of wine. And, the hotel has an elevator! A definite plus. Our room was very comfortable and had everything we needed for our four day stay.

We discovered this hotel through friends who stayed there last fall. We will be recommending Hotel Grifo to anyone who is planning to visit Rome and we will definitely stay there on our next Italy trip.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrifoRome, Responsabile reception at Hotel Grifo, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Pat_Lee,

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you were completely satisfied of our Hotel and our staff.
We hope to see you again and soon and remind you and your friends or family to book on our official website to get the best offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our third stay at Hotel Grifo. That's a statement in and of itself. We have been to Rome multiple times and pick it for its location, value, neighborhood feel and lovely Staff. At this point, it feels like coming home. On our other trips it was a family affair. Our girls loved the cool vibe of the neighborhood, the close proximity to all of Rome's treasures and the fabulous terraces. This time we were with friends. The hotel has remodeled and the rooms are even more cozy, comfortable and clean. With a great custom order breakfast and some of my favorite 'cornettos' and prosciutto in Italy, every morning was a joy. Now, I have to get to the Staff. This is where the experience of staying at Hotel Grifo stands out from all the rest. Rosa, Louiegi, Fathi, Jalel..... make every interaction a pleasurable and informative experience. No task too great no question unanswerable . Always with a smile and helpful tips for getting around and which restaurants to visit. They take the guessing game out of it and make every day a pleasure. Can't wait for the next Rome visit and to come home to Hotel Grifo.

Room Tip: There are double and quadruple rooms on the 4th and 5th floors. Both have terraces. Elevator only go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrifoRome, Responsabile reception at Hotel Grifo, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Ilona G.
Thank you for your kind review and for choosing Hotel Grifo for the third time. We are happy to read that you liked our breakfast because in recent years thanks to the advices of our customers we have improved our service. Rather than run after quantity, we have chosen the quality of selected ingredients.
We hope to see you and your friends again and remind you to book on our official website to get the best offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of March, we had a family room so no comment on the small double rooms. Excellent service at reception,very helpful. There could have been more choice for us at breakfast but it was more than adequate. If you enjoy walking then walk, 10 mins to coliseum, the forums, trajans column and 15mins up into town. You can use the metro for St Peters and then walk back and enjoy Rome. Be very careful on the metro we were nearly robbed but were warned at hotel reception. The hotel is in the Monti district of Rome handy for local places to eat, gelato, irish bars and local shops. Would stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a larger room on the 4th or 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrifoRome, Responsabile reception at Hotel Grifo, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your positive review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in Rome and in our hotel. We are also happy to read that our advices have been helpful.
Yes please come back, we will be happy to see you again and remind you that on our official web-site it is easy to book your stay with special discounts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for 5 nights during our stay in Rome. The hotel is situated in a very charming area with lots of great restaurants and bars. The rooms are small, but clean and the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. the location is perfect and within walking distance from everything. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrifoRome, Responsabile reception at Hotel Grifo, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Julie A,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Rome and in our Hotel.
Looking forward to see you again we send you our best regards and remind to all the guests that they can have special discounts, booking on our website.

Hotel Grifo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you want a reasonably priced hotel for a night or two within walking distance of many of Rome's main attractions this hotel is worth considering.
Luxurious it isn't but nothing too much to complain about. Helpful English speaking staff at reception and close to good cafes and restaurants. Would I go back? Possibly.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrifoRome, Responsabile reception at Hotel Grifo, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Alex G,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you shared your experience with us, and that you enjoyed your stay in Rome and in our Hotel.
How you said we are very close to the main attractions of Rome, and you can go by foot almost everywhere.
Of course it is not a luxury Hotel . Hotel Grifo is a small hotel in an historic building in the most ancient district of Rome.
Our Staff is always ready to give to all the guests the best tips to discover the city.
Looking forward to meet you again, we send you our best regards and remind everyone to take a look to our official website to discover our SPECIAL DEALS.
We remind to all the guests that Hotel Grifo offers Free Wifi and Breakfast included in the price.

Best regards
Hotel Grifo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grifo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grifo

Address: Via del Boschetto, 144, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#167 Family Hotel in Rome
#171 Business Hotel in Rome
#200 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grifo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Grifo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifo Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grifo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.