We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location was the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grifo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grifo to your Saves list
Hotel Grifo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Boschetto, 144, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Good location was the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Basic hotel. Quite small but nice and tidy rooms. Location was absolutely the best thing in this hotel! It was near centre and you could walk everywhere. Also taxis, metro and busses were near. Breakfast wasn't very good. Staff was really friendly and helpful,they all spoke english too.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrifoRome, Direttore generale at Hotel Grifo, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest,
thank you for your feedback.

As you said, our hotel is situated in a area that is a very great starting point to visit the city.
We are near the main turistic attractions of Rome and pulic transport stations.

It is so sad that you disliked our breakfast, since a few months we are now proposing a new one that puts quality over quantity and it seems that our guests love it!
Why didn't you tell us about your disappointments before you left? We are sure that our staff, who is always careful to let your stay be as enjoyble as possible, could find the best way to help you.

We remind everyone that hotel Grifo is open 24/7.
Take a look to our official website to discover our special deals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    259
    52
    37
    14
See reviews for
154
320
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything was so close, including the main railway station. All major sights are within a reasonable walking distance. Staff were very friendly, and extremely responsive via email in the lead up to our stay when the airline changed our dates at short notice. They catered to our gluten free needs exceptionally well. For a reasonably priced hotel close to everything, Grifo is highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were in the top floor in a small four bedroom room. Water pressure wasn't perfect, but it wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrifoRome, Direttore at Hotel Grifo, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

thank you for your excellent review.


As you said, our hotel is located in one of the oldest and most magical parts of Rome, a great starting point to visit the main attractions by foot or by any public transport.

Our staff always pays a particular attention in meeting customer requirements and making sure that your stay is always enjoyable.


We remind everyone that hotel Grifo is open 24/7 and offers free wifi and breakfast included in the price. Recently, we are proposing a new kind of breakfast that puts quality over quantity. We invite you to come back to experience it yourself!


Take a look to our official website to discover our SPECIAL DEALS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A must stay in rome. Very centrally located to all the major sites, everything was a stone's throw away! Staff were very friendly and helpful and couldn't ask for much more. I would recommend booking if you were looking for a basic but good priced hotel. Breakfast was great too!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrifoRome, Direttore at Hotel Grifo, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review.

We are glad that your stay at our hotel was good.
As you said, our staff is always kind and at everone's disposal.

We invite you to come again, especially to experience our new breakfast that puts quality over quantity.
Next time, book on our official website to take advantage of our SPECIAL DEALS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

@Location: very near to colosseum and other attractions. Just walking distance.
Walking distance from metro station. All the restaurants and bars were nearby.

@staff: very friendly staff. They helped us about directions towards attractions as well as to Termini metro to catch bus back to airport.

@Hotel: Newly renovated rooms. Good breakfast. They cleaned the room every day for our long stay in hotel which is really good.

We had trouble connecting to wifi.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hello travelers. I would like to share the experience my wife Karin and I had at this wonderful gem during our vacation in Rome.

First off I would like to say to anybody that wants a true roman experience and wishes to be close to all the historical sites , MUST STAY AT THIS HOTEL. The Coliseum is around the corner, the central station for metro is a few blocks away. It is situated in a picturesque alley next to a café and front of a pizzeria.

My name is Armando Valencia and my wife and I stayed here for a week. This place is small, cozy and just has that true Italian feeling to it. The staff is outstandingly professional, all our questions and concerns were met. They recommended places to eat, shop, and what routes to take to go where ever.

The restaurants and their staff around this area are nice and courteous , unlike the restaurants near the fountain of Trevi where the hosts come out and nearly force you to eat at their restaurant.

A couple of times we had to get up extra early for group tours and they did us the favor of serving us breakfast before 7am. FYI, their breakfast croissants are fantastic.

We will be coming back to Rome again, and we will definitely stay here again.

Thank you to the staff for making our first Italy experience wonderful

Room Tip: The Wi-Fi is 802.11g so please make sure if you have 802.11n devices that they are backwards compati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrifoRome, Direttore at Hotel Grifo, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Armando,

thank you very much for your excellent review.


As you said, our hotel is located in one of the oldest and most magical parts of Rome, a great starting point to visit the main attractions by foot or by any public transport.

Our staff always pays a particular attention in meeting customer requirements and making sure that your stay is always enjoyable.

But our real strenght is our explanation on how to really visit Rome in the best way possible and not wasting money joining tour groups outside the momuments 99% illegally, or eating a frozen expensive pasta in the Navona square. We believe that everyone should pass a nice good stay, avoiding to be cheated.


We remind everyone that hotel Grifo is open 24/7 and offers free wifi and breakfast included in the price. Recently, we are proposing a new kind of breakfast that puts quality over quantity. We invite you to come back to experience it yourself!


Take a look to our official website to discover our SPECIAL DEALS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I spent three days and two nights at Hotel Grifo in November 2014. Once here I was a little apprehensive about the location; however, it turned out to be absolutely ideal. You are five minutes from the colessium and maybe ten or so to the trevi fountain & spanish steps walking. There are great ammenities nearby which made my stay even more comfortable.

My room was nice and clean, bathroom was tiny but that is to be expected in Europe. The staff was very friendly and the complimentary breakfast was amazing. Small upgrades for breakfast cost around 0,50 euro but its not to sneeze at. Their cappuccino is delicious! TRY ONE! They provided me with a small map, directions, and areas to stay away from because of it being too expensive...etc.

My room also had a small fridge which i purchased a bottle of wine around the corner and kept in the room for the evening when I didnt feel like being outside. Hope to decide to stay here !

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrifoRome, Direttore at Hotel Grifo, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Nina,

thank you very much for your kind feedback.


As you said, our hotel is located in one of the oldest and most magical parts of Rome, a great starting point to visit the main attractions by foot or by any public transport.

Our staff always pays a particular attention in meeting customer requirements making sure that your stay is always enjoyable and our chambermaids care a lot about the room cleanliness.


You had an experience of our new breakfast and we are very pleased you liked it! In fact, we are recently proposing a new kind of breakfast that puts quality over quantity and we invite everyone to come and experience it by himself!


We also remind that hotel Grifo is open 24/7 and offers free wifi and breakfast included in the price.


Take a look to our official website to discover our SPECIAL DEALS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is situated in a great area, just 5 minutes walk from the Colosseum or Piazza Venetia. We have booked a quadruple room, not that great but with enough space for 4 adults. We had a little problem with ants maybe because the room was at the 5th floor, with acces to the terrace.
Valuable information was given from the front desk, very friendly staff.
Breakfast was ok, good enough to start your day and you could order more at a very small price.
Pros: location, helpfull staff
Cons: cleanliness, ants, noisy AC

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrifoRome, Responsabile reception at Hotel Grifo, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Ecallie,
thank you for your kind feedback.

We are very sorry for the problems you found with A/C but we are glad to tell you that the system has been changed and renewed.
About the cleanliness of our rooms, we are very surprised by your opinion. As you could see in the other reviews, cleanliness is one of our strength and our chambermaids are very careful. We are very sorry that you did not tell us about these problems by the time of your stay. As we always say while checking in, we are very open to accept your advices and only in this way we can solve any problem you find.

We invite you to come back again to our hotel and enjoy another great holiday!

We also remind that we renewed our breakfast that is now composed by various regional products and a menu à la carte from which you can order to your liking without reducing the quality of the meal.
Take a look on our official website to discover our SPECIAL DEALS!

Hotel Grifo Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grifo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grifo

Address: Via del Boschetto, 144, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Business Hotel in Rome
#139 Family Hotel in Rome
#176 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grifo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grifo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifo Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grifo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.