We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grifo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grifo to your Saves list
Hotel Grifo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Boschetto, 144, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #198 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richlands, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

'Stayed here for three nights in March 2014. The hotel is centrally located and very close to the Cavour Metro station, yet within walking distance to everything really. Several restaurants are nearby as well.

Nice staff. Decent, but somewhat intermittent wifi--at least during our stay. Room was fairly spacious if a bit dated (though that is not a priority of mine). The beds were quite comfortable, and we (my college-age daughter and I) slept soundly and were not bothered by noise.

There is a terrace on the fourth floor for smokers and other patrons. It is quite close to others' rooms though, so one must be quiet. It's not a great choice for a drink and snack in the late evening. There is also a small lift, which is always nice, at least for checking in and checking out. Breakfast room is a bit small, but we always found a space, and the staff was very nice and helpful. There is an honor bar, apparently, but it was not fully explained to us. Perhaps it was self-explanatory or we should have asked. (Other places we have stayed, there has been a book for recording what has been consumed, so the final tally can be applied to the bill at check out.)

The price was quite good for the location, service, and the hotel, itself. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    280
    61
    38
    17
See reviews for
161
359
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 5 night - absolute pleasure!
The hotel is in a great location in the center of the city, just a walking distance from almost everything!
The staff is super helpful and super nice, when we first a arrived the hotel receptionist took the time and showed us what are the must places to see in the city and more importantly - where not to go! where are the tourist traps and how to skip the lines in the big attraction :)
The room was quite small but very clean with a daily room cleaning-bed making-towels changing service.
Free WiFi in the hotel and in our room was very good (good signal, good speed).
Breakfast is minimal but enough (coffee, OJ, cereals, cheese, cold cuts and bread).

The only downside was that the street was very noisy with the windows in the room open, but when closed it wasn't noticeable (good noise isolation).

For summery i will defiantly recommend staying in this hotel!!! Especially if it is your first time in the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Very helpful staff, nice location near to the city centre. Bathroom is a bit too small, but it doesn't spoil overall image of our stay. Breakfast is very good. The district near hotel is authentic, very pleasant to walk along.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Room with terrace was wonderfull. We stood in Rome a week and each day spend time on it. Breackfasts were nice. Personal very pleasure and open to guests. And of course main thing is few minutes walinks from Colesseo and Foro Romano location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My son took me to Rome for a last minute trip for 3 nights and we stayed at the Hotel Grifo! Couldn't have asked for a better location in Rome whatsoever! We landed at Fuimicino airport and got the train connection from there to the Termini station (main train station in Rome) and from there we took the metro line B, which took us to the Cavour stop which was 200m approx from the hotel, and also the first stop on the metro from Termini station so literally a minute journey, perfect for transporting to and from and also connecting as the hub for all your sightseeing journeys! We found the Hotel Grifo to be a quaint, traditional and perfect example of a small, friendly and quiet Hotel in what I would say was a prime location just off the Via Cavour, a main road that ran by the hotel leading to the coliseum. Although the hotel was basic and quaint, it was exactly what it says in the tin, a small friendly and adequate hotel for exploring Rome and being the hub of your travels. It had many local bars, restaurants, pizzerias, boutiques, vintage shops, cafes, ice cream parlours to name a few literally in the surrounding cobbled streets of the hotel, giving the area a close knit localised and warm feeling which was enjoyable to venture. The coliseum was a five minute walk from coming out of the hotel, and once being at the coliseum, you could walk down the main road running from the coliseum to the centre of Rome and all it's a bulbous attractions and monuments. The furthest thing away being the Vatican was easily accessible by the no.40 bus from the main road on Via Cavour, taking you straight to Vatican City. I couldn't complain at all at our stay at the Hotel Grifo, the complimentary breakfast provided each morning gave you a good head start for the day, consisting of croissants, breads, hams, juices and coffees, the rooms and areas of the hotel were absolutely immaculate, fresh bed linen daily and the bathroom, on the small side but shower was powerful and lovely and hot, great powerful hair dryer and strong bathroom lighting made eating ready for the day easy. We had our own terrace, although not much of a view to be had it was nice to go out on for fresh air and leave open in the night as the air com system took a while to kick in. The staff at the Hoel Grifo couldnt help you enough, and the help and advice that you needed on any aspect of your stay was given to you at request. An overall pleasurable stay at the Hotel Grifo, if you aren't bothered about uber luxury and just want a quaint small and quiet hotel in a prime perfect and unquestionably exciting part of Rome, this wont disappoint!

Room Tip: We stayed on floor one room 25 and a good choice with having the terrace for fresh air if nothing el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughton, Flintshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had a lovely stay at Hotel Grifo, Rome. The staff were so helpful, friendly and informative. The rooms were comfortable and the roof top terrace was perfect.
The hotel is ideally situated close to the parliament area and the Trevi Fountain and pleasant walking distance from the Colleseum and Roman Forum.
I would definitely stay at Hotel Grifo again and would recommend it to others.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Just got back from trip to Rome and what a trip.
This is a great hotel located in a great place in the City near to forum colosseum pantheon Trevi all within walking distance the staff were brilliant couldn't do enough and the nightlife was fantastic lots bars and nice restaurants at good prices rooms really clean and nicely furnished would definitely recommend

Room Tip: We stayed in room 54 brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Grifo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grifo

Address: Via del Boschetto, 144, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#167 Family Hotel in Rome
#171 Business Hotel in Rome
#199 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grifo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Grifo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifo Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grifo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.