We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grifo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grifo to your Saves list
Hotel Grifo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Boschetto, 144, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #186 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located close to the Colosseum and within easy walking distance of the Termini railway station. Staff were very helpful and gave us detailed map of the important areas to discover. Only downside was extensive internal improvements going on in hotel which is why I have given 4 star rating. A decent budget accommodation in a good area

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    292
    67
    39
    17
See reviews for
168
386
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Good central location, in good area. Walking distance to everything expect the Vatican. Good breakfast. Rooms bit small. Lots of restaurants around the area. Everything is about 10-20 minutes walk from here. Train station also not far.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here for 3 nights - the hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of Termini, Forum, Colloseum. In fact, for 3 days we didn't use any transportation. The hotel itself is quite small with narrow, winding stairs - but the room was quite enjoyable and spacious (we stayed in quadruple room).

The only thing can be improved a bit is the breakfast. There was no variety, and the croissants were not very good.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel for people who are looking for a clean, affordable, and central place to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel has a very good location and we were suprised by the helpfulness of the staff. We stayed for only 2 nights, but we definitely want to return. We had a spaceous room, that is not very usual for Rome, and additional advantage was a small roof terrace.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The sight of the elevator, the creaky door, the small room.....all seemed to confirm that i had made a mistake. The room looked completely different from the pictures in their website.
But Grifo had something different in store for us. The fantastic location, the helpful staff and cleanliness won our hearts. We soon realized that there was nothing missing in this place that could dampen a nice holiday experience.
Never before had i experienced a place where the staff were eager to hear about experience and how we spent the day.

A home away from home! Definitely stay here if you don't care about bell boys, fancy minibar or attendants giving you a fake welcome for a tip. More value for money !!!

Sharath Rao. March 21-26,2013

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Strategically located at Cavour Station (Metro Line b). Walking distance (5 mins) to Colosseum and safe neighborhood. Lots of ristorante, pubs and cafe around the vicinity. Comfortable rooms and fair breakfast served. Excellent staff especially the 2 young staffs (chubby with spectacle and tall with spectacle). Excellent staff

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed from 3rd March to 6th March and we really love the hotel. Strategically located at Cavour Station (Metro Line b). Walking distance (5 mins) to Colosseum and safe neighborhood. It's a bit difficult to search for the hotel and make sure you ask the direction from the hotel before you go. Lots of ristorante, pubs and cafe around the vicinity. Comfortable rooms and fair breakfast served. Excellent staff especially the 2 young staffs (chubby with spectacle and tall with spectacle). Shower room is the smallest i've ever seen in my whole entire life. You will be in trouble if you are more on the big body..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Grifo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grifo

Address: Via del Boschetto, 144, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#153 Family Hotel in Rome
#185 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#194 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grifo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Grifo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifo Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grifo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.